Philosophy: Writing Guides and other Research Resources

Find articles, ebooks and databases on philosophy. Browse resources on central philosophers, find internet philosophy treasures and learn about writing philosophy.

RefWorks - Reference management software

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Other Reference Management Tools

EndNote
EndNote has been purchased for the use of staff and students on the university's computers. Staff may also use EndNote on their computers at home. The installation media for the program can be found in the software distribution service in the software portal in the university network.
EndNote Guides

Mendeley
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research. More info at Mendeley website.

Mendeley-opas (in Finnish / Tampere University Library)
Mendeley LibGuide (Elsevier)
Mendeley Help Guides

Zotero
Zotero 5.0 is a free of charge program that anyone can download on their computer. Zotero Connector is a browser extension allowing you to save content to Zotero. More info at Zotero website and Zotero Quick Start Guide.

Article Impact

Citations

Databases for Citation analysis

Article Level Metrics - Altmetrics

Traditional metric tools disregard new types of scholarly communication. Altmetrics can be used to measure how scholarly articles are being shared, used and discussed in the social media and publisher sites.

PlumX
PlumX / University of Helsinki is an altmetric service that makes visible the impact of the publications by Helsinki University researchers. PlumX gathers the different kinds of metrics that are created when people interact with research output.
If you want to add your outputs to PlumX, contact altmetrics-info@helsinki.fi

Altmetric Bookmarklet
Install the Altmetric Bookmarklet and get article level metrics of the papers you are reading.

Altmetric Explorer
The Altmetric Explorer / University of Helsinki gathers data related to journal articles from news stories, blog posts, tweets, and postings related to scholarly articles and creates a score based on information from each of the data sources examined.

Databases
Examples of databases and publishers who offer altmetric services:

ORCID Author Identifier

ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher. Include your ORCID identifier in any research workflow to ensure you get credit for your work. In the future, using ORCID will reduce the need to enter data into a variety of different systems.

The University hopes that every researcher registers for an ORCID ID for publications, datasets, and other research outputs.

Create an ORCID id or add an existing ORCID id in your TUHAT profile, see instructions here.

ORCID and other IDs

Open Access archiving / University of Helsinki

Self-archiving to TUHAT

Researchers affiliated with the University to self-archive their scientific articles in the University’s Open Access repository HELDA via the research information system TUHAT.

  • The version to upload is, if possible (taking notice of publisher´s conditions), the final accepted manuscript (after peer-review, before the publisher’s typesetting).
  • Our instructions take notice of alignments for Open Science defined by Finnish Ministry of Education and Culture.
  • More information on researchers' information use on TUHAT-guide.

Library Databases

Philosophy Dictionaries Online

Keep Current

Use Feeds
Select your favorite journals and search terms to create a personal 'river of science' front page loaded with latest articles and freshest information about the subjects you are interested in.

Socialise
Social networks for researchers make your research visible and help you to discover the latest research while collaborating with others.


Remote Access

Electronic resources are available in the network of University of Helsinki or through remote access. Remote access requires University user ID and password.

Find a Journal for your Manuscript

Publication Forum

It takes only HUPS and library material is on researcher's desk!

Click logo to make an order

Find out more about the service.

Philosophy Events in University of Helsinki

SELF-ARCHIVING GUARANTEES OPENNESS

DEPOSIT SERVICE

Researcher, send author´s accepted manuscript file to be deposited in the library:
openaccess-info@helsinki.fi

Please, attach also publication information (title / number) to come.


If you are unsure of article version you are entitled to self-archive, send all versions to us. We will find out publishing policy and conditions. Additional information: different versions