ResearchGuides: Philosophy: Databases and other Resources

Find a Database (Helka)

Digital Scholar Lab

Digital Scholar Lab is a tool for Digital humanities studying and research by Gale. It is designed to facilitate learnining and researching Gale's digital resources licensed by the University of Helsinki. The Digital Scholar Lab is a cloud-based platform that enables students and researchers with UH credentials to access content and OCR data from Gale Primary Sources as well as one's own plain text files and analyse these with text and data mining tools. See our guide to Digital Scholar Lab!

Philosophical Links

African philosophy resources (Bruce Janz)
Alan Turing Net
The Thuring Archive for the History of Computing
Art and Letters Daily
From Chronicle of Higher Education
Ask philosophers
Center for environmental philosophy
Continental philosophy (Bruce Janz)
Epistemology Research Guide (Keith Corz)
Essential Readings on Chinese Philosophy (Bryan Van Norden)
Fallacy files
A guide to logical fallacies
Guide to the Philosophy of Mind (David Chalmers)
Heap of Links from Daily Nous
Information Philosophie
German philosophy resources (In German)
The InPho-project
Philosophy big data-project
Islamic Philosophy Online
Marxist Internet Archive
Philosophengalerie
Pictures of philosophers (In German)
Philosophinnen.de
Lexicon of female philosophers
Philosophy-L
Discussion email-list server
Philosophy of science resources (Bruce Janz)
Philosophy pages (Garth Kemerling)
Philosophy Quotes
Philosophy Reseources (Peter King)
Pragmatism Cybrary
Scholarship in Early Modern Philosophy
Sens public
Theory and history of ontology (Raul Corazzon)
UpDirectory -
Directory of Philosophers from Underrepresented Groups in Philosophy
Voice of the Shuttle

Free Philosophy Courses Online

Philosophy Blogs

Being Philosopher of Color
The Brains Blog
Philosophy and Science of Mind
Certain doubts
Epistemology blog
Daily Nous
Early Modern Experimental Philosophy
Erratic Wisdom
Medical ethics blog
The Ethical War Blog
Expert discussion of the ethics of war
Feminist philosophers
The Indian Philosophy Blog
A group blog of scholars exploring Indian philosophy
It's Only A Theory
Philosophy of science blog
Leiter Reports
The Neuroethics Blog
New APPS
Philosopher's Cocoon
Philosophical blog posts
Philosophy of Sport
Practical Ethics
Race Files
Selected Philosophy Blogs (University of Michigan library)
Thoughts, Arguments and Rants
What is it like to be a woman in philosophy?
What there is and Why is There Anything
A blog on the philosophical foundations of cosmology

Philosophy Events

Philosophical Humour

Resources for History of Philosophy

Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Brill's Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages Online offers an accessible yet engaging coverage of medieval European history and culture, c. 500-c. 1500, in a series of themed articles, taking an interdisciplinary and comparative approach.
The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek
The Brill Dictionary of Ancient Greek is the English translation of Franco Montanari’s Vocabolario della Lingua Greca. With 140,000 entries this is the most important modern dictionary for Ancient Greek and an invaluable tool for students and advanced scholars alike.
Classics in the History of Psychology (Christopher D. Green)
Das Verzeichnis der im deutschen Sprachraum erschienenen Drucke des 17. Jahrhunderts (VD 17)
Digitized Old Books (Hulib research guide)
Early European Books - Printed Sources to 1700
Early Modern Letters Online
Early Modern Letters Online — EMLO — is a combined finding aid and editorial interface for basic descriptions of early modern correspondence.
Early Modern Texts
On this site you will find versions of some classics of early modern philosophy, and a few from the 19th century, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought.
Electronic Enlightenment
Electronic Enlightenment is the most wide-ranging online collection of edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century — reconstructing one of the world's great historical “conversations”.
English Short Title Catalogue
The Forest of Rhetoric
Gallica
Gatewaye Bayern
Greek Philosophy Archive (David Knox)
H-ideas
Network on intellectual history
Hathi Trust
Internet Archive
Manuscript Catalogues (Hulib research guide)
Medieval and Renaissance Psychological Sources on the Internet (Pekka Kärkkäinen)
National Databases (HuLib Resource guide)
Project Gutenberg Philosophy Texts by category
Project Vox
Giving voice to Early Modern Women philosophers; features images, texts, sample syllabi for teaching and research.
Reassembling the Republic of Letters
Digital humanities project of reassembling the Early Modern intellectual network
Renaissance economics and politics commentaries (Pekka Kärkkäinen)
Renaissance Ethics Commentaries (Pekka Kärkkäinen)
Who's Who in the Classical World (Oxford Reference)
Wikisource

Philosophy Databases

Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 12 500 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for over 8500 of these journals.
In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a total of more than 13 200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1400 journals.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (ISI)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (one of Web of Science databases) is a multidisciplinary index covering over 1,700 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals. In all, the multidisciplinary content of WoS Core Collection covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide.
Google Scholar
A simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. Search across a wide variety of disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books etc.
IMB - International Medieval Bibliography
Reference database covers books, articles, book reviews, and more, dealing with late-antique and medieval (date range 400-1500 AD) Europe and the Mediterranean World, the Middle East and North Africa. All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included. Database contains over 300,000 citations.
International Philosophical Bibliography
The bibliography includes references to articles and books as well as book reviews. IPB Full edition covers the years from 1997 onwards and IPB Retrospective the years 1985-1996.
JSTOR
A fulltext database containing earlier volumes of mainline journals mostly in the fields of social sciences, arts and business.
Open Commons in Phenomenology
Oxford Handbooks Online
Handbooks for social scientists and humanists.
Oxford Reference Online
Provides a couple hundred reference works in the following fields: humanities, arts, religion, biological and environmental sciences, natural sciences and medicine
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index of philosophy books and articles. PhilPapers offers unique features such as real-time indexing of pre-prints, fine-grained classification by topic, email alerts, reading lists, advanced search functionality, and discussion forums.
Project Muse
Standard Collection contains full text journals in the humanities and social sciences. Nearly 250 journals from over 40 publishers.
Tutorials for ELib-databases