ResearchGuides: Philosophy: Articles and Journals

Find Articles (Helka)

Find a Journal (Helka)

Browse Helsinki University Library’s E-Journal Collections

Journal Evaluation

Measuring Research Impact
Finnish Publication Forum (JUFO) Publication Forum is a classification of publication channels created by the Finnish scientific community to support the quality assessment of academic research.
Journal Citation Reports (Impact Factors)
more...less...
Read more
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
more...less...
Read more
Eigenfactor Metrics
more...less...
Read more
CiteScore Metrics
more...less...
Read more

Cabells - a Database of Predatory Journals

Cabells is a database which lists predatory journals, not recommended as publication channels. The service is so far in test use in the University of Helsinki. UH has a license to a list of predatory journals (predatory reports). From the search result you can see a list of suspicious features of the journal (violations) which are the reasons why the journal is added to the database.

In addition to the Cabells service, predatoryreports.org claims to provide information on predator publications. Do not use predatoryreports.org. The site is not reliable and is suspected of malpractice.

Publication Forum

Publication forum channel search
Publication forum is provided by Federation of Finnish Learned Societies.

Search for journals, series, conferences and book publishers that have a Publication Forum rating. The classification has three levels: 1 = basic; 2 = leading; 3 = top.

Other identified publication channels which have not received level 1 rating are marked with 0. If there is no marking, the publication channel in question is under evaluation, and yet without a rating.

Selection of Top General Journals in Philosophy

American Philosophical Quarterly The editorial policy is to publish work of high quality, regardless of the school of thought from which it derives.
Analysis Analysis, which was founded in 1933, is the most established and esteemed journal for short papers in philosophy. We are happy to publish excellent short papers in any area of philosophy.
Australasian Journal of Philosophy The Australasian Journal of Philosophy (AJP) is one of the world's leading philosophy journals. It is recognized as publishing the very best work in the analytic tradition, but is not narrow in what it regards as worthy of acceptance.
Canadian Journal of Philosophy The CJP aims to publish the best work in any area of philosophy in French or English.
Dialectica dialectica publishes first-rate articles predominantly in theoretical and systematic philosophy. It is edited in Switzerland and has a focus on analytical philosophy undertaken on the continent.
Ergo Ergo is an open access philosophy journal accepting submissions on all philosophical topics and from all philosophical traditions. This includes, among other things: history of philosophy, work in both the analytic and continental traditions, as well as formal and empirically informed philosophy.
Erkenntnis Erkenntnis is a philosophical journal publishing papers committed in one way or another to the philosophical attitude which is signified by the label 'scientific philosophy'.
European Journal of Philosophy European Journal of Philosophy aims to constitute a forum to which all philosophers, both inside and outside Europe, can turn to rediscover the diversity and variety of the European tradition.
Journal of Philosophy https://www.journalofphilosophy.org/generalinfo.html
Mind The journal aims to take quality to be the sole criterion of publication, with no area of philosophy, no style of philosophy, and no school of philosophy excluded. Each issue also contains a selection of book reviews that summarize and evaluate some of the most interesting recent publications in the discipline.
Monist The Monist publishes quarterly thematic issues on particular philosophical topics which are edited by leading philosophers in the corresponding fields.
Noûs Noûs, a premier philosophy journal, publishes articles that address the whole range of topics at the center of philosophical debate, as well as long critical studies of important books.
Pacific Philosophical Quarterly Pacific Philosophical Quarterly publishes original research in all core areas of analytic philosophy including philosophy of language, philosophy of mind, metaphysics, epistemology, metaethics, normative ethics, philosophy of action, philosophy of law, political philosophy, and aesthetics; as well as in history of philosophy.
Philosopher's Imprint Although the Imprint is edited by analytically trained philosophers, it is not restricted to any particular field or school of philosophy. Its target audience consists primarily of academic philosophers and philosophy students, but it also aims to attract non-academic readers to philosophy by making excellent philosophical scholarship available without license or subscription.
Philosophical Perspectives Philosophical Perspectives, an annual journal supplement to Noûs, publishes original essays by foremost thinkers in their fields, with each volume confined to a main area of philosophical research.
Philosophical Quarterly The Philosophical Quarterly is one of the most highly regarded and established academic journals in philosophy. In an age of increasing specialism, it remains committed to publishing high-quality articles from leading international scholars across the range of philosophical study.
Philosophical Review The journal aims to publish original scholarly work in all areas of analytic philosophy, with an emphasis on material of general interest to academic philosophers, and is one of the few journals in the discipline to publish book reviews.
Philosophical Studies The journal is devoted to the publication of papers in exclusively analytic philosophy, and welcomes papers applying formal techniques to philosophical problems. The principal aim is to publish articles that are models of clarity and precision in dealing with significant philosophical issues.
Philosophy and Phenomenological Research Philosophy and Phenomenological Research is open to a variety of methodologies and traditions
Philosophy Compass Unique in both range and approach, Philosophy Compass is an online-only journal publishing peer-reviewed survey articles of the most important research from and current thinking from across the entire discipline
Proceedings of the Aristotelian Society The Proceedings of the Aristotelian Society, focuses on publishing the first rate philosophy articles which are read at the Society's fortnightly meetings in London throughout the academic year. In addition to these commissioned pieces, the journal welcomes submissions of short discussion notes on these papers.
Ratio Ratio publishes work of a high quality on a wide variety of topics. It encourages articles which meet the highest standards of philosophical expertise, while at the same time remaining accessible to readers from a broad range of philosophical disciplines. The journal's main emphasis is on analytic philosophy, but it also includes work from other traditions.
Review of Metaphysics The Review of Metaphysics is devoted to the promotion of technically competent, definitive contributions to philosophical knowledge. Not associated with any school or group, not the organ of any association or institution, it is interested in persistent, resolute inquiries into root questions, regardless of the writer's affiliations.
Southern Journal of Philosophy The Southern Journal of Philosophy has long provided a forum for the expression of philosophical ideas written from all philosophical perspectives, including both the analytic and continental traditions, as well as the history of philosophy.
Synthese Synthese is a philosophy journal focusing on contemporary issues in epistemology, philosophy of science, and related fields.
General philosophy journals in Browzine (requires UH access rights)

Philosophy Open Access Journals

____________________________________

Open Access
Directory of Open Access Journals
List of predatory OA journals
Sherpa Juliet - Research funders' open access policies
Sherpa Romeo - Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving

Recommended Open Access Journals in Philosophy

Ajatus
Aperio - Journal of Modern Philosophy
An open access journal of Early Modern philosophy.
Australasian Journal of Logic
Ergo
Journal of Ethics and Social Policy
Nordic Wittgenstein Review
Open Philosophy
Philosopher's Imprint

Some new open access articles from the journals above

New articles from PhilPapers

New and revised articles from Stanford Encylopedia of Philosophy

Some other Article-Databases

Base search
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 100 million documents from more than 5,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free (Open Access). BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Core
Millions of open access papers, including philosophy.
Pascal Francis
The site Free Access to Pascal and Francis is an archive of the PASCAL and FRANCIS bibliographic databases in exact, human and social sciences, produced by the Inist-CNRS since 1972 and hitherto accessible with a subscription.
PhilArchive
Huge collection of open access articles archived in PhilPapers. Below are few selected recent additions.

Open Access Journals, Preprint Archives and Article Collections

Ajatus (Yearbook of Finnish Association of Philosophy)
Ajatus arkistot
Analytic Epistemology paper collection (Keith Korzc)
Core
Klesis - Revue philosophique
Lire - Le magazine litteraire
Lots of free material in archives.
Logic papers from ArXiv
Open content in JStor
Paidea-project
Nearly 1000 papers presented at the Twentieth World Congress of Philosophy,
Papers on Philosophy of Language
PhilArchive
PhilArchive includes the 27,000 works already in the PhilPapers archive, making it by far the largest open access archive in philosophy. All works are open access.
Philosopher's Magazine
Some online material
Philosophy commons
OA-articles provided by philosophy institutions, categorized according to topics
Philosophy Now
Some free material
PhilSci
Philosophy of science preprints
Radical Philosophy
Some online material
SSRN eLibrary Philosophy Network Collection
Tanner Lectures on Human Values

Google Scholar

Book or Journal Not in Library Yet?

Philosophy of Science Journals

British Journal for the Philosophy of Science One of the leading international journals in the field, it publishes outstanding new work on a variety of traditional and 'cutting edge' topics, from issues of explanation and realism to the applicability of mathematics, from the metaphysics of science to the nature of models and simulations, as well as foundational issues in the physical, life, and social sciences.
Philosophy of Science Since its inception in 1934, Philosophy of Science, along with its sponsoring society, the Philosophy of Science Association, has been dedicated to the furthering of studies and free discussion from diverse standpoints in the philosophy of science.
Philosophy of Science Journals in Browzine (requires UH access rights)

Last updated 20. 4. 2023

Ethics and Social Philosophy Journals

Ethics Founded in 1890, Ethics publishes scholarly work in moral, political, and legal philosophy from a variety of intellectual perspectives, including social and political theory, law, and economics. In addition to major articles, Ethics also publishes review essays, discussion articles, and book reviews.
Journal of Value Inquiry The Journal of Value Inquiry is an international, peer-reviewed, philosophical quarterly devoted to the stimulation and communication of research in value studies.
Philosophy and Public Affairs Issues of public concern often have an important philosophical dimension. Philosophy & Public Affairs is published in the belief that a philosophical examination of these issues can contribute to their clarification and to their resolution.
Theory and Decision Theory and Decision is devoted to all aspects of decision-making, exploring research in psychology, management science, economics, the theory of games, statistics, operations research, artificial intelligence, cognitive science, and analytical philosophy.
Ethics journals in Browzine (requires UH access rights)
Social Philosophy journals in Browzine
Political Philosophy Journals in Browzine

Continental Philosophy Journals

Continental Philosophy Review Without advocating any trend or school in philosophy, the journal keeps abreast of developments in phenomenology and contemporary continental philosophy, and is interested in investigations that probe possible points of intersection between the continental European and the Anglo-American traditions.
Husserl Studies Husserl Studies is an international forum for the presentation, discussion, criticism, and development of Husserl's philosophy.
Journal of French and Francophone Philosophy Journal of French and Francophone Philosophy is an electronic, open access, peer-reviewed academic journal devoted to the study of French and Francophone thought.
Journal of the British Society for Phenomenology The JBSP publishes papers on phenomenology and existential philosophy as well as contributions from other fields of philosophy engaging with topics in the tradition of Phenomenology.
Research in Phenomenology Research in Phenomenology is an international peer-reviewed journal for current research in phenomenology and contemporary continental philosophy as practiced in its global setting.
Comparative and Continental Philosophy
Philosophy Today
Continental Philosophy journals in Browzine (requires UH access rights)
Phenomenology Journals in Browzine

History of Philosophy Journals

British Journal for the History of Philosophy
Journal of the History of Ideas JHI defines intellectual history expansively and ecumenically, including the histories of philosophy, of literature and the arts, of the natural and social sciences, of religion, and of political thought.
Journal of the History of Philosophy Journal of the History of Philosophy (JHP) is an international journal that publishes articles, notes, discussions, and reviews about the history of Western philosophy, broadly conceived.
Phronesis Founded in 1955, Phronesis is the leading international journal dealing specifically with the study of ancient Greek and Roman thought (ancient philosophy, metaphysics, epistemology, logic and the philosophy of science and medicine) from its origins down to the end of the sixth century A.D.
Vivarium Vivarium (VIV) is an international journal dedicated to the history of philosophy and intellectual life from the early Middle Ages to the early-modern era.
History of Philosophy Journals in Browzine (requires UH access rights)

Logic Journals

Journal of Philosophical Logic The Journal of Philosophical Logic aims to provide a forum for work at the crossroads of philosophy and logic, old and new, with contributions ranging from conceptual to technical.
Journal of Symbolic Logic The Journal of Symbolic Logic publishes research in mathematical logic and its applications of the highest quality. Papers are expected to exhibit innovation and not merely be minor variations on established work.
Notre Dame Journal of Formal Logic The Notre Dame Journal of Formal Logic publishes original work in all areas of logic and the foundations of mathematics.
Review of Symbolic Logic The Review of Symbolic Logic is designed to cultivate research on the borders of logic, philosophy, and the sciences, and to support substantive interactions between these disciplines.
Logic Journals in Browzine (requires UH access rights)

Some Specialist Journals

Biology and Philosophy Biology & Philosophy aims to publish the best original work in philosophy of biology, broadly understood to span conceptual, theoretical, and methodological issues in the biological sciences.
Economics and Philosophy The disciplines of economics and philosophy each possess their own special analytical methods, whose combination is powerful and fruitful. Each discipline can be enriched by the other. Economics and Philosophy aims to promote their mutual enrichment by publishing articles and book reviews in all areas linking these subjects.
Hypatia Hypatia is a forum for cutting edge work in feminist philosophy. Since its inception in the mid-1980s, Hypatia has been a catalyst for broadening and refining feminist philosophy as well as an invaluable resource for those who teach in this area.
Journal of Consciousness Studies How does the mind relate to the brain? Can computers ever be conscious? What do we mean by subjectivity and the self? These questions are being keenly debated in fields as diverse as cognitive science, neurophysiology and philosophy. JCS is a peer-reviewed journal which examines these issues in plain English.
Linguistics and Philosophy Linguistics and Philosophy focuses on issues related to structure and meaning in natural language, as addressed in the semantics, philosophy of language, pragmatics and related disciplines.
Mind and Language The phenomena of mind and language are currently studied by researchers in linguistics, philosophy, psychology, artificial intelligence, cognitive anthropology and cognitive archaeology. Mind & Language brings this work together in a genuinely interdisciplinary way.
Philosophia Mathematica Philosophia Mathematica is the only journal in the world devoted specifically to philosophy of mathematics.
Philosophy East and West Promoting academic literacy on non-Western traditions of philosophy, Philosophy East and West has for over half a century published the highest-quality scholarship that locates these cultures in their relationship to Anglo-American philosophy.