Open Access: Guide for Researchers

Open Access services and guidance for researchers at the University of Helsinki. #openaccess #openscience #ORCID #selfarchiving

Open Access - service at HUlib

Questions about self-archiving or Open Access Publishing?
Feedback concerning this guide?

openaccess-info@helsinki.fi


Send a message

SELF-ARCHIVING SERVICE FOR RESEARCHERS

HELDA - Digital Repository of the University of Helsinki

HELDA serves as an open full text repository for research articles and institutional series, as well as for teaching and research material produced by the departments and faculties of the University. 

The archive ensures long-term storage and provides each item with a permanent web address i. e. Helda offers availability, longevity, and functionality to your digitally stored work.

Researchers at University of Helsinki self-archive their research to Helda via TUHAT. They can also send the AAM file to deposit service.

Tools for Open Access Publishing

SHERPA/RoMEO - Publisher copyright policies & self-archiving
SHERPA/JULIET Funder’s policy on open access publishing
SHERPA/FACT: Funders & Authors Compliance Tool
Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ - Search for Scientific OA-journals
BASE - Biefield Academic Search Engine
Pubpeer - Open Peereview club
Cofactor Journal Selector - select a publisher to your article
OpenDOAR - Open Access Archives
Teomoa - Open Educational Resources Portal
• Unpaywall - A web browser extension that links you to open access full-text versions of research articles

YOU HAVE SEVERAL OPTIONS TO PUBLISH YOUR RESEARCH OPENLY:

GREEN OPEN ACCESS
Publish your work openly in an institutional or in a subject based e-archive according to the agreements of the copyrights owner.
Self-archiving
Researchers of the University of Helsinki self-archive their
research to TUHAT or send the AAM file to the library service deposit.
E-print services or e-archives
Open repositories of the discipline (i.e. ArXiv, bioRxiv, PubMed Central, RePEc or SocArxiv) are useful when you wish to disseminate your paper. Remember still self-archiving to TUHAT.
GOLD OPEN ACCESS
Publish your article in a journal that supports Open Access. 
Publish your book by using Open Access -based services.

Journals and book publishers often charge APCs or BPCs (Article Processing Charge, Book Processing Charge) fees.
You have to pay the publishing fee (APC or BPC) or find an institutional source to pay the fee.
HYBRID OPEN ACCESS
Make an article openly accessible by paying the publishing fee (APC or BPC) or find an institutional source to pay the fee. Rest of the articles of the journal still remain behind a paywall. Hybrid open access often means institutions and libraries have to pay twice for the same content.
ADDITIONAL OPEN WAYS
Open publishing for example on writer´s own www-pages. Does not meet the requirements of the research funders.

Policies and principles

The Open Access principles of University of Helsinki

The University of Helsinki requires researchers affiliated with the University to self-archive their scientific articles after they have been published in academic publications in the University’s Open Access repository HELDA. This can be done via the research information system TUHAT.

Self-archiving principles of University apply to all scientific scholarly articles. Publishers' policy and embargos to open self-archiving should be checked and actions taken accordingly. Library service deposit is also available.

Also Master´s and licentiate´s dissertations as well as Doctoral dissertations should be published openly. The theses submitted at the University of Helsinki are published in HELDA repository, instructions.

Several research funding providers require research results to be published in accordance with open access principles. You can consult the Sherpa/Juliet service to see your funder’s policy on Open Access publishing.

SHERPA/JULIET Logo

Funders´ requirements
Academy of Finland requires from the beginning of the year 2016 that Academy-funded projects are committed to open access publishing. Academy also requires projects to make their research data and methods freely available. The application of funding must include, as part of the research plan, both a publication plan and a data management plan. You can get more detailed information of the DMP from our Research Data Management -guide.
European Comission emphasizes public access to publicly-funded research results. Research projects operating under the programme of  Horizon 2020 are recommended to act openly. See also: European Commission background note on open access to publications and data in Horizon 2020. In Finland the programme is cordinated by  Tekes.
CERN requires commiting to open access publishing for all projects funded by CERN. Recommended oa-platform is  SCOAP3.
National Institutes of Health requires all peer-reviewed arcticles of NIH-funded projects to be published within 12 months in PubMed Central.

THINK OPEN

Think Open

The blog provides information on issues related to open science. The aim of the blog is also to inform University of Helsinki researchers about the digital research services either available or under development. The working group behind the blog is cross-organisational, including representatives from Research Administration, the IT Centre, the Helsinki University Library, the National Library and Communications and Community Relations.

OpenAIRE - services and infrastructure for Open Science

OpenAIRE

OpenAIRE is an EC-funded network of more than 700 repositories and OA journals, integrating more than 14 million OA publications and 17000 datasets with 18000 organizations. The portal offers literature-data integration services. The initiative brings together professionals from research libraries, open scholarship organisations, national e-Infrastructure and data experts, IT and legal researchers, showcasing the truly collaborative nature of this pan-European endeavor.

Why publish open access?

Open Science supporters and declarations

COAlition S Science Europe and European Commission

Open Science and Research Initiative

RECODE Policy Recommendations for Open Access to Research Data in Europe

FinnOA A network of people promoting Open Access

Open Knowledge Finland Global community's Finnish branch

FOSTER Facilitate Open Science Training for European Research

The Hague Declaration

OASPA Open Access Scholarly Publishers Association

SPARC Europe Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition

OA2020 Initiative

Initiative for Open Citations

Budapest Open Access Initiative

Lingoa Linguistics in Open Access (Fair Open Access Network)

PsyOA Psychology and Fair Open Access

Oder guidance on Open Access

Make your research sustainable greener

Researchers and teachers at the University of Helsinki can order personal librarian to help with questions concerning Open Access. Meeting can cover things like:

  • ORCID-identifier and  linking to TUHAT
  • Open Access self-archiving to the institutional repository TUHAT / HELDA
  • Article Processing Charges
  • Additional Open Access matters

Please, fill out the form and make an order. If you wish your guidance in Finnish, order here (log in with your UH username and password).

Time will be confirmed later according to your wishes.

General Information and terminology

Green Open Access: depositing an article or a version of it into the institutional repository. Usually free of charge.

Gold Open Access: publication is immediately provided in oa mode through a high-quality open access publication.The publisher of the oa journal may charge an open access fee (article processing charge).

Hybrid open access: Research articles can be made openly accessible by paying an extra fee in a journal. Journal´s other articles still remain behind a paywall.

Article processing charge (APC) and Book processing charge (BPC) are payments charged by the OA publisher from the author or her/his institution to cover various publishing costs. Both Gold and Hybrid OA based journals can charge APCs.

Embargo: A period of time defined by the publisher,  during which the author has no permission to self-archive. Calculated from the publishing date of the original publication.

Double dipping: Institutions (libraries, universities) often have to pay twice for the same content when publishing in hybrid Open Access Journals.

♦ The scientific level of journals can be assessed for instance through Impact factors and through Publication Forum rating.

Impact factors: The journal impact factors are updated annually and can be found from the Clarivate Analytics Journal Citation Reports database. Most of the OA-journals have also an impact factor. You can get more information about impact factors and evaluation in general from Metrics Guide.

The Publication Forum – The classifications of scientific publication channels maintained by the Federation of Finnish Learned Societies.


JuFo Search Form - Search journals, conferences and publishers. The search can be targeted at specific fields of research.

Research on Open Access

Blogs about OA-Publishing

Think Open
About digital research services and open science / University of Helsinki blog

Open and Shut?
What’s new in Open Access?

The Scholarly Kitchen  
Blog of the Society for Scholarly Publishing.

Peter Suber: Writings on Open Access
Peter Suber is one of the leading authorities on the Open Access movement.

Peter Suber´s Knowledge Unbound: Selected Writings on Open Access, 2002–2011

ACRL TechConnect Blog: Open Access
A moderated blog produced by a group of academic librarians covering innovative projects, emerging tech tools and more.

Academy of Finland

Academy of Finland calls

Open Science:

Specific Guidelines concerning publishing Open Access:

  • All peer reviewed articles must be published openly.
  • Academy permits both Green and Golden models in oa-publishing.
  • Also hybrid open access model can by used temporarily.
  • You can reserve and apply funding both in Green or Golden oa-publishing.
  • Embargo times accepted: 6 or 12 months (only SSH-diciplines).

Publication plan - Example sentences:

Copyrights of this guide