Altmetrics services:

Electronic resources are available in the network of University of Helsinki or through remote access. Accessing the electronic resources from outside the library locations via a remote connection requires a University user account.

Studia Orientalia Electronica (StOrE) is a a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal publishing original research article and reviews in all fields of Asian and African studies. It is an offshoot of Studia Orientalia, an internationally recognized publication series published by the Finnish Oriental Society (Societas Orientalis Fennica).

Asian databases now through CrossAsia
Theese former AsiaPortal databases are now available through CrossAsia Nordic and Baltic Libraries Page

(situation Feb 5 2024: works on-campus, or off-campus with VPN, but not yet off-campus without VPN)

Chinese Studies databases:
•    ChinaLawInfo
•    China Academic journals (sections F, G, H, I, J)
•    China Core Newspapers
•    China Statistical Yearbooks Database/China Data Insights (situation Feb 5 2024: not yet in use!)
•    People's Daily (Renmin Ribao)
•    Airiti Library (Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)
•    Chinese Electronic Theses and Dissertations (CETD))

Korean Studies databases:
•    DBpia & KRpia
•    NK News & NK Pro

Japanese Studies databases 
•    Japan Times Archives 
•    Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search
•    Yomidasu Rekishikan (Yomiuri Shimbun) 

These databases will not be in use any more:
•    Academic Conferences in China - Wanfang.
•    Asian Newspapers (AsiaPortal).
•    China Online Journals (COJ) - Wanfang.
•    Dissertations of China (DOC) - Wanfang Data.
•    JapanKnowledge.
•    KISS - Korean Information Service System
•    Nikkei Telecom21 (AsiaPortal).

This guide helps you find the most relevant information in Asian Studies

Sub-pages on area tabs include for instance:

Articles and journals: Article search (all disciplines), new articles from top journals, lists of quality journals

Books: Book search (University of Helsinki,) new e-books in library, new printed books in library

Databases: links to various databases and other resources

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions to improve the guide, please let us know (contact information on this page).

Keenious is an AI-based tool that allows you to search for similar or related articles based on either an article or written text. The AI analyses the downloaded article, a link to the article, a selected passage from the article or a written text and recommends similar or related content. Keenious runs in either a web browser or Word application. Get to know Keenious better with our guide!

Asianet - Finnish University Network for Asian Studies

Established in 1996 and it has provided e-learning courses on Asia since 1999.

• Catalogue on Academic Asian Research in Finland

Annually published catalogue aiming to enhance academic networking and to promote partnerships with public and private institutions.

ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher. Include your ORCID identifier in any research workflow to ensure you get credit for your work. In the future, using ORCID will reduce the need to enter data into a variety of different systems.

The University hopes that every researcher registers for an ORCID ID for publications, datasets, and other research outputs.

Create an ORCID id or add an existing ORCID id in your TUHAT profile, see instructions .

ORCID and other IDs

• Web of Science ResearchID & ORCID Integration
• Scopus | ORCID

Open Access guide for Researchers

• Self-archiving (Green OA)
• Gold OA
• Article/Book Processing Charge
• Open Access HUB Project

Research Data Management

• Data policy and support services
• Data management plan
• 1. Research data
• 2. Ethical and Legal Compliance
• 3. Documentation and metadata
• 4. Storing data and access control
• 5. Opening data and long-term preservation after the research project
• 6. Data management responsibilities and resources

Research Information Management (Tuhat)

• Add and edit content
• Use content (researchers)
• General info

Cabells is a database which lists predatory journals, not recommended as publication channels. The service is so far in test use in the University of Helsinki. UH has a license to a list of predatory journals (predatory reports). From the search result you can see a list of suspicious features of the journal (violations) which are the reasons why the journal is added to the database.

In addition to the Cabells service, predatoryreports.org claims to provide information on predator publications. Do not use predatoryreports.org. The site is not reliable and is suspected of malpractice.

Fabianinkatu 30 (P.O. Box 53)
FIN-00014 University of Helsinki

Opening hours

tel. +358-2941 23920
library@helsinki.fi

Keenious is an AI-based tool that allows you to search for similar or related articles based on either an article or written text. The AI analyses the downloaded article, a link to the article, a selected passage from the article or a written text and recommends similar or related content. Keenious runs in either a web browser or Word application. Get to know Keenious better with our guide!