Digital South Asia Library [open access]The database provides digital materials for reference and research on South Asia including bibliographies, images, maps, statistics, dictionaries, books and journals.
Definitions of Sanskrit terms are given in three languages, in English, French, and German, while more detailed analyses of meaning and usage are written in one of these languages depending on the choice of the author.
Hindi Urdu Flagship [open access]The Hindi Urdu Flagship is an undergraduate program at the University of Texas at Austin designed for students who wish to achieve advanced professional proficiency in Hindi and Urdu.
New directions, new people: Hindi learning site [open access]Volume 1 for advanced beginners: introduces to engaging and practical situations for developing listening comprehension and communicative ability for daily use.
Volume 2 for Intermediate level learners: continues to enlarge their word-power, expand their grammatical repertoire and enhance their cultural proficiency.
Rekhta: Urdu literature site [open access]A vast collection of Urdu material:
ebooks, sections for learning to read and appreciate Urdu poetry, links to audio-visual materials in Latin, Nastaleeq and Devanagari scripts.
Asian Traditional Theatre and DanceThis online book on Asian traditional theatre and dance, published by Theatre Academy Helsinki (Finland), presents 12 country profiles and 125 theatrical genres in their own chapters.
Online Museum Resources on Asian Art (OMuRAA) [open access]OMuRAA presents online visual resources - including collections databases, digital image libraries, archived websites of special exhibitions, online presentations of focused collections, and websites for teaching with and about art. Includes material on South Asian art.
Open Government Data (OGD) Platform India [open access]This portal is intended to be used by Government of India Ministries/ Departments their organizations to publish datasets, documents, services, tools and applications collected by them for public use. It intends to increase transparency in the functioning of Government and also open avenues for many more innovative uses of Government Data to give different perspective.
Religion CompassDatabase publishes peer-reviewed surveys of the most important research and current thinking from across the entire discipline including South Asian religious traditions.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)Multi-disciplinary database. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 12 500 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for over 8500 of these journals.
ATLA with ATLASerials (EBSCO)This index with 1,4 million records is a tool for the study of religion and theology, indexing journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.
JSTORA fulltext database containing earlier volumes of mainline journals mostly in the fields of social sciences, arts and business.
Includes a subject list of Asian studies journals.
MLA Intl Bibliography (EBSCO)Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present.
ProQuestProvides tens of reference databases, some fulltext databases. Its possible to make searches in all of them or in each of them or in selected databases.
Includes e.g. Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Taylor & Francis OnlineOnline information service for T&F journals. University of Helsinki has access to over 2000 T&F journals, including 7 titles on South Asian studies.
Journals on South Asian studies in Taylor & Francis Online:
Contemporary South Asia
South Asia. Journal of South Asian Studies
South Asian Diaspora
South Asian History and Culture
South Asian Popular Culture
Cambridge Books OnlineThe University of Helsinki has licensed Cambridge Books Online e-books e.g. in the following fields of scientific research:
Language & Linguistics, Politics&International Relations and Sociology including South Asian studies.
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world.