ResearchGuides: Asian Studies (China, Japan, Korea, South Asia): South Asia : Articles and Journals

Find Articles (Helka)

Find a Journal (Helka)

Search Printed or Electronic Books (Helka)

Journals with Finnish Publication Forum (JuFo) level, full text available for University of Helsinki

Publication Forum (in Finnish often referred to as JUFO) is a rating and classification system to support the quality assessment of research output. To account for the different publication cultures characteristic of various disciplines, the classification includes academic journals, book series, conferences as well as book publishers. The three-level classification rates the major foreign and domestic publication channels of all disciplines as follows:

1 = basic level
2 = leading level
3 = highest level.

The evaluation is performed by 23 discipline-specific Expert Panels composed of some 200 distinguished Finnish or Finland-based scholars.

Publication Forum operates under the auspices of the Federation of Finnish Learned Societies (TSV).

Asian Journal of Women's Studies (L1)

CONTRIBUTIONS TO INDIAN SOCIOLOGY (L2)

CRITICAL ASIAN STUDIES (L2)

INDIAN ECONOMIC AND SOCIAL HISTORY REVIEW (L2)

INDIAN JOURNAL OF GENDER STUDIES (L1)

JOURNAL OF CONTEMPORARY ASIA (L2)

JOURNAL OF INDIAN PHILOSOPHY (L2)

SOUTH ASIA-JOURNAL OF SOUTH ASIAN STUDIES (L1)

SOUTH ASIAN POPULAR CULTURE (L1)

Journal Evaluation

Measuring Research Impact
Finnish Publication Forum (JUFO) Publication Forum is a classification of publication channels created by the Finnish scientific community to support the quality assessment of academic research.
Journal Citation Reports (Impact Factors)
more...less...
Read more
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
more...less...
Read more
Eigenfactor Metrics
more...less...
Read more
CiteScore Metrics
more...less...
Read more

Journals by title

BioScope: South Asian Screen Studies BioScope: South Asian Screen Studies is a blind peer-reviewed journal, published biannually. It encourages theoretical and empirical research both on located screen practices and wider networks, linkages, and patterns of circulation. This involves research into the historical, regional, and virtual spaces of screen cultures, including globalized and multi-sited conditions of production and circulation.
Contemporary South Asia Contemporary South Asia is a peer reviewed journal that seeks to address the issues of South Asia – Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka – by presenting research and analysis which is both cross-regional and multi-disciplinary. The journal encourages the development of new perspectives on the study of South Asia from across the arts and social sciences disciplines.
Contributions to Indian Sociology Contributions to Indian Sociology (CIS) is a peer-reviewed journal. Its features include research articles, short comments and book reviews. The journal also publishes special issues to highlight new and significant themes in the discipline.
Critical Asian Studies All Asia; contains articles on South Asia.
more...less...
Critical Asian Studies is a peer-reviewed quarterly journal that welcomes unsolicited essays, reviews, translations, interviews, photo essays, and letters about Asia and the Pacific, particularly those that challenge the accepted formulas for understanding the Asia and Pacific regions, the world, and ourselves.
Economic & Political Weekly The Economic and Political Weekly (EPW) publishes both research in social sciences (in the "Special Articles" section) and informed comment on current affairs (in the "Commentary" section). It brings together academics, researchers, policy makers, independent thinkers, members of non-governmental organisations and political activists for debates straddling economics, politics, sociology, culture, the environment and numerous other disciplines.
more...less...
Available from 2010.
History and Sociology of South Asia History and Sociology of South Asia provides a forum for scholarly interrogations of significant moments in the transformation of the social, economic and political fabric of South Asian societies. The journal presents an interdisciplinary space in which contemporary ideas compete, and critiques of existing perspectives are encouraged.
IIAS Newsletter (Leiden) [open acces] Newsletter of The International Institute for Asian Studies (Leiden) includes frequently material on South Asia.
more...less...
The International Institute for Asian Studies (IIAS) is a global humanities and social sciences institute.

The Institute encouragess the multidisciplinary and comparative study of Asia, and actively promotes national and international co-operation.
Indian Economic and Social History Review Indian Economic and Social History Review is the foremost journal devoted to the study of the social and economic history of India, and South Asia more generally. It publishes articles with a wider coverage, referring to other Asian countries but of interest to those working on Indian history.
India Review India Review publishes social science research across disciplines on Indian politics, economics, society and international relations. All articles are referred. The journal also carries review essays and occasionally, round tables or research notes discussing various topical issues.
Indo-Iranian Journal Founded in 1957, the Indo-Iranian Journal publishes peer-reviewed papers on ancient and medieval Indian languages, literature, philosophy, and religion; ancient and medieval Iran; and papers on Tibet.
more...less...
Recent issues have included linguistic articles on Sanskrit, Middel Indian (Prakrit), New-Indo-Aryan, on Munda linguistics (including the results of field-work), old and modern Dravidian languages (including new material on little-known Central Dravidian languages). The Indo-Iranian Journal also presents numerous reviews of new publications.
International Journal of Hindu Studies International Journal of Hindu Studies is a peer reviewed journal that is committed to publishing excellent scholarship on well-established topics in Hindu Studies, to fostering new work in neglected areas, and to stimulating alternative perspectives as well as exchange of information on a wide range of issues.
more...less...
The Journal supports critical inquiry, hermeneutical interpretive proposals, and historical investigation into all aspects of Hindu traditions.
While committed to publishing articles that will advance scholarship in any discipline relevant to Hindu Studies, the Journal is especially interested in areas of research that have cross-disciplinary relevance or new implications for this emerging field of scholarly interest.
Journal of Contemporary Asia All Asia; contains articles on South Asia
Journal of South Asian Development The Journal of South Asian Development, a refereed publication, publishes articles, reviews and scholarly comment relating to all facets of development in South Asia. It includes theoretical and conceptual articles as well as more empirical studies covering both historical and contemporary issues/events.
Journal of the American Oriental Society Journal of the American Oriental Society presents the results of the advanced researches of the most distinguished specialists in the literatures and civilizations of North Africa, the Near East, South and Southeast Asia, Inner Asia, and the Far East.
Language in India [open access] Language in India www.languageinindia.com is an international online monthly research journal. Articles published in Language in India are peer-reviewed by one or more members of the Board of Editors or an outside scholar who is a specialist in the related field.
Modern Asian Studies Modern Asian Studies promotes original, innovative and rigorous research on the history, sociology, economics and culture of modern Asia. Covering South Asia, South-East Asia, China, Japan and Korea.
more...less...
Most recent 1 year not available.
OECD Economic Surveys: India OECD’s periodic surveys of the Indian economy. Each edition surveys the major challenges faced by the country, evaluates the short-term outlook, and makes specific policy recommendations. Special chapters take a more detailed look at specific challenges. Extensive statistical information is included in charts and graphs.
Society and Culture in South Asia Society and Culture in South Asia is a peer-reviewed journal publishing articles in the fields of sociology, social anthropology in the main, and sociology of education, sociology of medicine, arts and aesthetics, cultural studies, sociology of mass media, sociology of law, urban studies inter alia.
South Asia Multidisciplinary Academic Journal (SAMAJ) The South Asia Multidisciplinary Academic Journal (SAMAJ) is a double-blind, peer-reviewed journal devoted to social science research on South Asia. It specializes in the publication of comparative thematic issues as well as individual research articles, review essays, and book reviews.
South Asian History and Culture [open access] South Asian History and Culture (SAHC) is a multidisciplinary journal that provides an integrated perspective on the field of South Asian studies.
more...less...
SAHC brings together established areas of study (eg. nationalism, communalism, gender, language and literature) and more recent frameworks (e.g. minority rights, sexuality studies, terrorism).
South Asian Studies South Asian Studies is the journal of the British Association of South Asian Studies (BASAS).
more...less...
The methodological remit of South Asian Studies encompasses historical, archaeological, art historical, literary, musicological, cinematic, heritage, and media studies. The geographical focus of the journal is: India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives, and the South Asian Diaspora.
South Asian Studies: A research journal of South Asian Studies This journal is published by The Centre for South Asian Studies, University of the Punjab (Lahore, Pakistan).
more...less...
This Journal is a double-blind refereed scholarly journal, committed to consider original and unpublished scholarly critiques, theoretical, conceptual and research articles that contribute to the understanding of issues and problems of South Asia at local, national and international levels.
Studia Orientalia Electronica [open access] Studia Orientalia Electronica (StOrE) is a peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal publishing original research articles and reviews in all fields of Asian and African studies including South Asian studies.
more...less...
All volumes from vol. 1 (1925) available in PDF.

Journal databases

Project Muse Standard Collection Standard Collection contains full text journals in the humanities and social sciences including South Asian studies. Nearly 250 journals from over 40 publishers.
more...less...
Click "Only content I have full access to" to get full text articles.
Taylor & Francis Online Online information service for T&F journals. University of Helsinki has access to over 2000 T&F journals, including 7 titles on South Asian studies.
more...less...
Journals on South Asian studies in Taylor & Francis Online:

Contemporary South Asia
India Review
South Asia. Journal of South Asian Studies
South Asian Diaspora
South Asian History and Culture
South Asian Popular Culture
South Asian Studies

South Asian newspapers and magazines

Frontiline [open access] Frontline, the fortnightly English magazine, contains current issues in politics and economy both all-India & global.
Indiapress [open access] Free online newspapers in several Indian languages including Hindi, Urdu, English and Tamil.
Pakistani newspapers in Urdu [open access]
South Asian newspapers [open access] Numerous Indian newspapers in English, Hindi, Urdu, Bengali, Tamil, etc.

Google

Directory of Open Access Journals

DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access, peer-reviewed journals.

FeedNavigator - Newest Articles from Top Journals to Your virtual desk?

FeedNavigator help page

Asian Studies (China, Japan, Korea, South Asia): South Asia : Articles and Journals