Romance Studies (French, Italian, Spanish): Spanish - Databases and Other Resources
Find Romance Studies (French, Italian and Spanish) articles, journals, books, databases and library's services. / Löydä romaanisten kielten (ranska, italia ja espanja) tutkimuksen artikkelit, lehdet, kirjat, tietokannat ja kirjaston palvelut.
Cadena SERCadena Sociedad Española de Radiodifusión - Spanish Broadcasting Company - a commercial radio network
rtveCorporación de Radio y Televisión Española - Spanish Radio and Television Corporation - a state-owned public corporation
Multi-Content Databases, Text Collections and Archives
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)Multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of scholarly journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. in a variety of disciplines; includes also a large amount of full texts
Biblioteca Digital Hispánica [open access]The Spanish Digital Library of the National Library of Spain offers online access to books, manuscripts, drawings, prints, brochures, posters, photographs, maps and other materials, from the 15th to the 19th centuries
Biblioteca Nacional Digital de México [open access]The digital collection of the National Library of Mexico offers free access to part of the collections of the library; contains e.g. digitized manuscripts, archives and other documents
Biblioteca Virtual de Patrimonio Bibliográfico [open access]The Virtual Library of Bibliographical Heritage includes digitized manuscripts, early books and other material that make up Spanish bibliographical heritage; cooperative project of the Ministry of Culture and the Autonomous Regions
Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes [open access]Miguel de Cervantes Digital Library is a large-scale digital library project comprising the largest open-access repository of digitized Spanish-language historical texts and literature from the Ibero-American world; maintained by the University of Alicante
CORE [open access]Centralised search tool containing open access publications from repositories and journal publishers from around the world
Dialnet [open access]Virtual library of academic journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, published in Spain and Latin America; primarily a bibliographic index with tables of contents but there are a growing number of full-text articles available; includes also theses, congress papers and other documents; hosted by the University of La Rioja
DIGITAL.CSIC [open access]Multidisciplinary institutional open access repository of the Spanish National Research Council
Europeana [open access]Portal offering access to millions of books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, from Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums
Gallica [open access]Digital library of the National Library of France provides free access to an extensive collection of digitized documents, books, maps, manuscripts, images, periodicals, newspapers and sound records
Hispana [open access]Portal providing access to over 100 digital collections of archives, libraries, and museums in Spain; the Spanish partner of Europeana; coordinated by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport
Internet Archive [open access]Non-profit multidisciplinary digital library offering free access to books, multimedia and archived web pages
Isidore [open access]French search engine offering free access to many kinds of resources in the humanities and social sciences
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)Reference database on the nature and use of language, covering e.g. linguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, communication, language learning, language teaching and translation
MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco)Reference database (with a large amount of full texts) which consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1926 to the present
Palabra Virtual [open access]Palabra Virtual - Antología de Poesia Iberoamericana - is a large collection of works from some of the most noteworthy poets from Latin American and Spain; some poems also have audio and video recordings; the portal is maintained by a Mexican poet, Blanca Orozco de Mateos
PARES [open access]Portal de Archivos Españoles, project of the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport of Spain, contains millions of documents and digital images from the principal Spanish archives, including the Archive of the Indies and Archive of the Spanish Civil War
Parnaseo [open access]Site of the University of Valencia dealing with Spanish - especially medieval - literature; contains databases, periodicals and texts
Proyecto Cervantes [open access]The Cervantes Project is a comprehensive reference and research site dedicated to the study of Cervantes' works and life; includes image galleries of Cervantes' paintings, the Cervantes International Bibliography, and full-text searchable versions of his complete works including Spanish and English language versions of Don Quixote; hosted by Texas A & M University
More Resources
Asociación de Academias de la Lengua EspañolaThe Association of Spanish Language Academies is the entity which regulates the Spanish language; it represents the union of all the separate academies in the Spanish-speaking world
Asociación de Lingüística y Filología de América LatinaAssociation of Linguistics and Philology of Latin America fosters research especially in general linguistics, Amerindian linguistics, Spanish and Portuguese linguistics and philology, as well as literary theory and criticism of Latin-American literature
Catálogo Colectivo del Patrimonio BibliográficoThe Bibliographical Heritage Union Catalogue contains bibliographic resources in public and private Spanish libraries and institutions that, as a result of their age, uniqueness or richness, form a part of Spain's historical heritage; a joint programme between the Ministry of Culture and the Autonomous Communities
Centro Virtual CervantesVirtual cultural center providing extensive information about Spanish language and culture; includes thousands of pages of cultural interest, material for learning Spanish, discussion forums, databases, reference works, dictionaries, and links to digitized Spanish literary classics and full-text resources; maintained by the The Cervantes Institute
Datenbank-InfosystemGlobal list of databases for Romance studies, free and subscription based; the site is supported by Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Instituto Iberoamericano de FinlandiaThe Ibero-American Institute of Finland (Suomen Madridin-instituutti) promotes Finnish culture in the Ibero-American world and creates cultural links between Finland and Spanish- and Portuguese-speaking countries, especially Spain, Portugal and Latin America; the institute collaborates with the Complutense University of Madrid, where it also has an office
PhilobiblonBio-bibliographical database of texts written in the various Romance vernaculars of the Iberian Peninsula during the Middle Ages and the early Renaissance; three separate bibliographies: texts in Spanish (BETA); texts in Catalan (BITECA); texts in Portuguese or Galician (BITAGAP); maintained by the University of California Berkeley Library
Portal de Lingüística HispánicaPortal de Lingüística Hispánica / Hispanic Linguistics is a Digital Humanities project devoted to promoting and disseminating research in Spanish Language and Hispanic Linguistics; supported by a HISPANEX grant for the promotion of Spanish language and culture from the Spanish Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport
Portal del hispanismoPortal providing information on Hispanic studies worldwide; developed by the Cervantes Institute
Real Academia EspañolaThe Royal Spanish Academy is the official royal institution responsible for regulating the Spanish language
Romanische BibliographieAccess only to vol. 127-132 - Romance Studies Bibliography has been published since 1923 as a supplement to Zeitschrift für romanische Philologie; it lists the bibliographical data for monographs, collected volumes, articles, and reviews published in the field of Romance studies (both literary studies and linguistics) with the exception of French literary studies
Universia - EspañaUniversia is a network that consists of more than thousand universities in 15 countries: Andorra, Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Dominican Republic, Uruguay and Venezuela; the site of Spain includes e.g. links to digital libraries
