Romance Studies (French, Italian, Spanish): Italian - Databases and Other Resources
Find Romance Studies (French, Italian and Spanish) articles, journals, books, databases and library's services. / Löydä romaanisten kielten (ranska, italia ja espanja) tutkimuksen artikkelit, lehdet, kirjat, tietokannat ja kirjaston palvelut.
Multi-Content Databases, Text Collections and Archives
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)Multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of scholarly journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. in a variety of disciplines; includes also a large amount of full texts
Digital shelves of Accademia della Crusca [open access]The digital library of Accademia della Crusca, one of the leading institutions in the field of research on the Italian language, offers free access to several databases, archives and dictionaries; registration is required for accessing the most of the material
Beic Digital Library [open access]Digital library of BEIC (Biblioteca Europea di Informazione e Cultura) offers a vast digitized complex of multidisciplinary works from major libraries and special collections in Italy and beyond, from the ancient world to the modern age
Biblioteca Italiana [open access]Digital library of books, documents, letters and other cultural and literary Italian texts from the Middle Ages to the 20th century; managed by the Sapienza University of Rome
Bibliothèques Virtuelles Humanistes [open access]Manuscripts and early printed works by Renaissance humanists from libraries throughout France; repository maintained by CESR (Le Centre d'Études Supérieures de la Renaissance) of the University of Tours
CORE [open access]Centralised search tool containing open access publications from repositories and journal publishers from around the world
Braidense in Digitale [open access]Digital heritage of the Braidense National Library; contains digitized periodicals and journals, monographs, texts in dialect or of local interest, images and photographs
Decameron Web [open access]Archive of resources dedicated to Boccaccio's Decameron, including versions in Italian and English, a concordance, directory of characters, etc.; project of Brown University
E-Helvetica [open access]Digital collections of the Swiss National Library containing websites, books, periodicals, theses and official publications
Europeana [open access]Portal offering access to millions of books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, from Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums
Gallica [open access]Digital library of the National Library of France provides free access to an extensive collection of digitized documents, books, maps, manuscripts, images, periodicals, newspapers and sound records
Internet Archive [open access]Non-profit multidisciplinary digital library offering free access to books, multimedia and archived web pages
Internet Culturale [open access]Catalogues and digital collections from Italian public libraries and important cultural institutions; provides thorough analysis of cultural issues through multimedia resources (itineraries, exhibitions, authors and works, 3D programmes) devoted to literature, science, art and music
Isidore [open access]French search engine offering free access to many kinds of resources in the humanities and social sciences
Italian Dialect Poetry [open access]Print and sometimes audio recordings of Italian dialect poetry; includes also bibliography, essays and criticism; curated by Luigi Bonaffini, professor of Italian at Brooklyn College
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)Reference database on the nature and use of language, covering e.g. linguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, communication, language learning, language teaching and translation
MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco)Reference database (with a large amount of full texts) which consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1926 to the present
Nuovo Rinascimento [open access]Works, essays, bibliographies, training and informatical aids by Italian authors, concerning history and current events of Italian literature and culture; managed by Danilo Romei, retired researcher from the University of Florence
Databases of Opera del Vocabolario Italiano [open access]Databases provided by Opera del Vocabolario Italiano, a CNR (Italian National Research Council) institute, consist of searchable historical corpora; the TLIO textual corpus is the largest database available today of the Italian language prior to 1375
Phaidra Digital Collections [open access]Phaidra (Permanent Hosting, Archiving and Indexing of Digital Resources and Assets) is a digital asset management system for the University of Padova library system; the collections contain e.g. books, manuscripts, letters and other old texts and documents, as well as pictures, from various branches of science
PLEIADI [open access]PLEIADI (Portale per la Letteratura scientifica Elettronica Italiana su Archivi aperti e Depositi Istituzional) is a national platform that offers centralized access to the scholarly literature archived in open Italian repositories
Sapienza Digital Library [open access]The project aims to gather digital versions of the past and future intellectual output of the Sapienza University of Rome; includes books, prints, academic publications, images, audio-visual material, didactic material, databases and archival material; contains also material that has been donated to the Sapienza by third parties, such as public and private entities or personal archives
Some resources specially for Dante studies:
Dante Society [partly open access]Website provided by the Dante Society of America includes a link to the American Dante Bibliography, an annotated bibliography of Dante studies from 1953-1995; annual membership fee allows access to Dante Studies (journal)
Dartmouth Dante Project [open access]Database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy; includes Dante Lab, a customizable, digital workspace that allows to compare up to four texts simultaneously; co-directed by Princeton University and Dartmouth College
Digital Dante [open access]Multimedia Dante-related resource combining traditional elements of scholarly research with new communication and presentation possibilities; special focus on the Divine Comedy and its translations; provided by Columbia University
Princeton Dante Project [open access]The project contains Dante’s writings, a new translation of the Divine Comedy (by Robert Hollander), notes and lectures on Dante's works, sound files and visual materials, and links to Dante sites worldwide; provided by Princeton University
Società Dantesca Italiana [open access]Società Dantesca Italiana provides Dante Online - a comprehensive website dedicated to Dante’s works, biographies and time; video recordings of his texts being read by notable actors; and continually updated international Bibliografia Dantesca
World of Dante [open access]Multi-media research tool for studying the Divine Comedy through a wide range of offerings including an encoded Italian text, an English translation, interactive maps, diagrams, music, a database, timeline and a gallery of illustrations; created by the University of Virginia
More Resources
Associazione degli ItalianistiAssociation of Italianists which promotes research and strengthen links between scholars working on all aspects of Italian culture, language, and history
Associazione Italiana BibliotecheAssociation of Italian libraries which provides information about Italian libraries and links to catalogues
Datenbank-InfosystemGlobal list of databases for Romance studies, free and subscription based; the site is supported by Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Istituto Italiano di Cultura in FinlandiaThe Italian Cultural Institute of Finland (Italian kulttuuri-instituutti) is the official body of the Italian Government for the promotion of Italian language and culture; the institute has also a library
Italianistica OnlinePortal site for the study of Italian language and culture on the web - not updated after 2010 but the archive is available
OPAC SBNCollective catalogue of libraries that take part in the National Library Service; managed by ICCU (the Central Institute for the Union Catalogue of Italian Libraries and Bibliographic Information)
Romanische BibliographieAccess only to vol. 127-132 - Romance Studies Bibliography has been published since 1923 as a supplement to Zeitschrift für romanische Philologie; it lists the bibliographical data for monographs, collected volumes, articles, and reviews published in the field of Romance studies (both literary studies and linguistics) with the exception of French literary studies
Sistema Archivistico Nazionale [open access]Italian national archival system, based on the cooperation between the Ministry of Cultural Heritage and Activities and Tourism, regions, provinces, municipalities and private institutions
