Romance Studies (French, Italian, Spanish): Italian - Books
Find Romance Studies (French, Italian and Spanish) articles, journals, books, databases and library's services. / Löydä romaanisten kielten (ranska, italia ja espanja) tutkimuksen artikkelit, lehdet, kirjat, tietokannat ja kirjaston palvelut.
Some New Italian Studies Books in the Library (printed or e-book)
Dante-Studien (print) by Stierle, KarlheinzDie hier vorgelegten Dante-Studien sind hervorgegangen aus einer uber Jahrzehnte verfolgten Beschaftigung mit Dantes 'Commedia'. Der erste Teil fragt nach den Voraussetzungen fur einen hermeneutischen Zugang zu Dantes Werk. Der zweite Teil wendet sich Einzelaspekten des Werks zu: Ist der Eingang der 'Commedia' eine verschlusselte Selbstmordsituation? Ist Dantes Weg zum Werk das Werk selbst? Was begrundet Dantes komplexes Verhaltnis zu seinem Begleiter Vergil? Was unterscheidet die sinnliche Erfahrbarkeit von Purgatorio und Paradiso? Der dritte Teil schliesslich offnet den Blick auf den Bezug zum altfranzosischen Artusroman und verfolgt Aspekte von Dantes Wirkungsgeschichte: Ein Vergleich zeigt die Differenz der Ich-Konstitution bei Dante und Petrarca, Dantes neue Odysseus-Gestalt wird als Mitte eines neuzeitlichen Odysseus-Palimpsests erfasst, Prousts 'A la recherche du temps perdu' erweist sich als gepragt von einer diskreten Dante-Prasenz und Rudolf Borchard versteht Dante als den tragisch gescheiterten Dichter des Reichs.
Publication Date: 2021
Interpretazioni : Italian language and culture through film (e-book) by Pausini, Cristina; Merolla, CarmenInterpretazioni is an intermediate- to advanced-level Italian textbook that aims to teach language through film, focusing on Italian movies from 2010 to 2017. Teaching language through cinema is a widespread and proven practice that engages all four main language skills (speaking, listening, reading, writing), and Interpretazioni does so via the proven format and pedagogy of Pausini and Antonello Borra's previous book, Italian Through Film (Yale UP, 2003).
Publication Date: 2019
Italian Dialectology at the Interfaces (e-book) by Cruschina, Silvio; Ledgeway, Adam; Remberger, Eva-Maria (eds.)Recent years have seen a growing interest in linguistic phenomena whose formal manifestation and underlying licensing conditions represent the convergence of two or more areas of the grammar, an area of investigation particularly invigorated in recent generative research by developments such as phase theory (cf. Chomsky 2001; 2008) and the cartographic enterprise (cf. Rizzi 1997; Cinque 1999). In this respect, the dialects of Italy are no exception, in that they present comparative Romance linguists and theoretical linguists alike with many valuable opportunities to study the linguistic interfaces, as highlighted by the many case studies presented in this volume which provide a series of original insights into how different components of the linguistic system - syntactic, phonetic, phonological, morphological, semantic and pragmatic - do not necessarily operate in isolation but, rather, interact to license phenomena whose nature and distribution can only be fully understood in terms of the formal mapping between the interfaces.
Repertorio italiano di famiglie di parole : dagli etimi ai significati per arricchire il lessico (print) by Colombo, Michele; D'Achille, Paolo (eds.)Il Repertorio Italiano di Famiglie di parole (RIF) è uno strumento per insegnare e arricchire il lessico: è organizzato attorno a 366 etimi, per lo più latini, sotto cui sono riunite le famiglie di parole italiane. Ogni famiglia si basa sui vincoli di parentela morfologica e semantica tra le parole, ordinate alfabeticamente e raggruppate in sottofamiglie di «discendenti». Di ciascuna parola si forniscono la qualifica grammaticale, una o più definizioni corredate di eventuali marche d'uso e l'etimologia, quando offre informazioni utili a ricostruire i legami con il capostipite o con la parola italiana di discendenza.
Publication Date: 2019
Righteous Anger in Contemporary Italian Literary and Cinematic Narratives (e-book) by Lucamante, StefaniaNoting how art often holds the power to shed light on issues surrounding inequity, inequality, and injustice, the book explores the ethical function of art as a tool in resistance and sociopolitical protest, thereby validating the axiom that ethics and aesthetics can still collaborate in the creation of meaning. Drawing on a range of Italian novels and films and examining the works of artists such as Tiziano Scarpa, Simona Vinci, Paolo Sorrentino, and Monica Stambrini, the author shows that anger can be used constructively as a weapon of resistance against negative and oppressive forces.
Publication Date: 2020
Large E-book Collections
Ebook Central (ProQuest)Former Ebrary eBooks; platform includes electronic books on various subjects from humanities to medical books
Biblioteca Italiana [open access]Digital library of books, documents, letters and other cultural and literary Italian texts from the Middle Ages to the 20th century; managed by the Sapienza University of Rome
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek [open access]German Digital Library aims to link up the digital services provided by all cultural and scientific institutions in Germany and make cultural assets freely accessible; the resources range from books and pictures through to archival documents, including music and other sound recordings, films and sheet music
Edit16 [open access]Census of Italian 16th Century Editions (Censimento nazionale delle edizioni italiane del XVI secolo) aims at documenting Italian books printed during the 16th century in Italy, in any language, and editions printed abroad in Italian; contains information about authors, publishers, uniform titles, printers' devices and a related bibliographic sources archive; managed by ICCU (The Central Institute for the Union Catalogue of Italian Libraries and Bibliographic Information)
E-Helvetica [open access]Digital collections of the Swiss National Library containing websites, books, periodicals, theses and official publications
Europeana [open access]Portal offering access to millions of books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, from Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums
Firenze University Press [open access]Firenze University Press publishes the results of academic research, primarily conducted by the university but also by the national scientific community; the open access collection contains publications from various branches of science
Gallica [open access]Digital library of the National Library of France provides free access to an extensive collection of digitized documents, books, maps, manuscripts, images, periodicals, newspapers and sound records
Cambridge History of Italian LiteratureThis history of Italian literature provides a comprehensive survey of Italian writing from its earliest origins up to the present day. Leading scholars describe and assess the work of writers who have contributed to the Italian literary tradition, including Dante, Petrarch and Boccaccio, the Renaissance humanists, Machiavelli, Ariosto and Tasso, pioneers and practitioners of commedia dell'arte and opera, and the contemporary novelists Calvino and Eco.
Cambridge History of the Romance Languages, Vol 1This survey of the history of the Romance languages engages with new and original topics that reflect wider-ranging comparative concerns, such as the relation between diachrony and synchrony, morphosyntactic typology, pragmatic change, the structure of written Romance, and lexical stability. Volume I is organized around the two key recurrent themes of persistence (structural inheritance and continuity from Latin) and innovation (structural change and loss in Romance).
Cambridge History of the Romance Languages, Vol 2Volume 2 of The Cambridge History of the Romance Languages offers fresh and original reflections on the principal questions and issues in the comparative external histories of the Romance languages. It is organised around the two key themes of influences and institutions, exploring the fundamental influence, of contact with and borrowing from, other languages (including Latin), and the cultural and institutional forces at work in the establishment of standard languages and norms of correctness.
Encyclopedia of Applied LinguisticsComprehensive encyclopedia covering 27 key areas of the field of applied linguistics, including Language Learning and Teaching, Bilingual and Multilingual Education, Assessment and Testing, Corpus Linguistics, Conversation Analysis, Discourse, Cognitive Second Language Acquisition, Language Policy and Planning, Literacy, and Technology and Language
Feminist Encyclopedia of Italian LiteratureReference book discussing how the authors, both major canonical male authors and female writers such as Lucrezia Marinella and Gianna Manzini,
have shaped the image of women in Italian literature and how feminist criticism has responded to their works; the entries cover eight centuries of Italian literature, from the Middle Ages to the present
Manual of Romance Languages in the MediaThis manual provides an extensive overview of the importance and use of Romance languages in the media, both in a diachronic and synchronic perspective. Its chapters discuss language in television and the new media, the language of advertising, or special cases such as translation platforms or subtitling. Separate chapters are dedicated to minority languages and smaller varieties such as Galician and Picard, and to methodological approaches such as linguistic discourse analysis and writing process research.
Manuale di linguistica italianaThis manual aims to provide a systematic and up-to-date overview of Italian linguistics taking into account new research topics such as Italian outside of Italy, historical varieties, or the syntactic properties of early Italian. Particular focus will be placed on linguistic subfields that have grown more important and relevant in the past years and decades, such as pragmatics, textual linguistics, corpus linguistics, or language acquisition.
Manuel de TraductologieThis manual aims to present an overview of the research on translation studies carried out in Romance-speaking countries. It mainly focuses on the Romance languages, but also takes into account other languages as well as general aspects, e.g., theoretical (models and theories of translation), linguistic (vocabulary, syntax, prosody), discursive (cohesion, coherence, genres), historical (the role of Latin), or practical questions (dubbing).
Manuel des Langues RomanesDetailed overview of the fundamentals of Romance linguistics; deals with the history of Romance linguistics, lexicography and grammaticography, historical sources and text corpora, the history of the Romance languages and the Romana submersa as well as with Romance idioms of the Middle Ages and the state of the Romance languages today in a comparative perspective, and also takes into account Romance-based creoles.
Lessicografia della Crusca [open access]With the Lexicography of the Crusca Online, the Accademia della Crusca publishes the content of the five editions (1612, 1623, 1691, 1729-1738, and 1863-1923) of the Vocabolario della Crusca on the web
E-thesisDoctoral dissertations and theses from the University of Helsinki
PLEIADIPLEIADI (Portale per la Letteratura scientifica Elettronica Italiana su Archivi aperti e Depositi Istituzional) is a national platform that offers centralized access to the scholarly literature archived in open Italian repositories, including dissertations and thesis