Romance Studies (French, Italian, Spanish): French - Databases and Other Resources
Find Romance Studies (French, Italian and Spanish) articles, journals, books, databases and library's services. / Löydä romaanisten kielten (ranska, italia ja espanja) tutkimuksen artikkelit, lehdet, kirjat, tietokannat ja kirjaston palvelut.
Radio FranceRadio France offers seven national networks:
France Inter
France Info
France Culture (cultural programming covering the arts, history, science, philosophy, etc. together with in-depth news coverage at peak times)
France Musique
France Bleu
FIP
Mouv’
Multi-Content Databases, Text Collections and Archives
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)Multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for thousands of scholarly journals, monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. in a variety of disciplines; includes also a large amount of full texts
Belgica [open access]Digital library of the Royal Library of Belgium contains both documents from its own holdings as well as other institutions, offering a variety of sources and collections, e.g. manuscripts, rare prints, reference works, newspapers, music and maps
Bibliothèques Virtuelles Humanistes [open access]Manuscripts and early printed works by Renaissance humanists from libraries throughout France; repository maintained by CESR (Le Centre d'Études Supérieures de la Renaissance) of the University of Tours
CORE [open access]Centralised search tool containing open access publications from repositories and journal publishers from around the world
Deutsche Digitale Bibliothek [open access]German Digital Library aims to link up the digital services provided by all cultural and scientific institutions in Germany and make cultural assets freely accessible; the resources range from books and pictures through to archival documents, including music and other sound recordings, films and sheet music
E-Helvetica [open access]Digital collections of the Swiss National Library containing websites, books, periodicals, theses and official publications
Encyclopédie de L'Agora [open access]Quebec encyclopedia offering notices, articles and thematic documents, in addition to commenting on current events
Érudit [partly open access]Canadian multidisciplinary journals, books, proceedings, theses and other documents; anything predating the last two years of publication is freely available
Europeana [open access]Portal offering access to millions of books and manuscripts, photos and paintings, television and film, sculpture and crafts, diaries and maps, sheet music and recordings, from Europe's leading galleries, libraries, archives and museums
FrantextCorpus of French texts from the 16th to 20th centuries; the text is not displayed as a whole but you can get extracts as a search result
Gallica [open access]Digital library of the National Library of France provides free access to an extensive collection of digitized documents, books, maps, manuscripts, images, periodicals, newspapers and sound records
HAL SHS [open access]French open archive of scientific literature, published or unpublished, from universities or research institutions in all disciplines of human and social sciences
Internet Archive [open access]Non-profit multidisciplinary digital library offering free access to books, multimedia and archived web pages
Isidore [open access]French search engine offering free access to many kinds of resources in the humanities and social sciences
Lexicales [open access]Online bibliographic database containing more than 5800 references relating to lexicon and grammar units; maintained by the University of Antwerp
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)Reference database on the nature and use of language, covering e.g. linguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, communication, language learning, language teaching and translation
MLA International Bibliography (Ebsco)Reference database (with a large amount of full texts) which consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from 1926 to the present
OpenEdition [partly open access]French portal consisting of four publication channels: OpenEdition Books, Revues.org, Hypotheses ja Calenda; part of the material is freely accessible
Web of Science (Clarivate)Multidisciplinary index covering scholarly arts and humanities journals, books, and
proceedings
More Resources
Académie françaiseFrench learned body on matters pertaining to the French language, first established in 1635
Bibliographie Nationale FrançaiseFrench National Bibliography containing bibliographical references of works published in France from 1970 to the present
Bibliothèque et Archives CanadaLibrary and Archives Canada (LAC) is a federal institution which combines the holdings of both the former National Library of Canada and the National Archives of Canada
Datenbank-InfosystemGlobal list of databases for Romance studies, free and subscription based; the site is supported by Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft
Organisation internationale de la FrancophonieInternational organization representing countries and regions where French is the first or customary language and which also share the humanist values promoted by the French language
Romanische BibliographieAccess ONLY to vol. 127-133 - Romance Studies Bibliography has been published since 1923 as a supplement to Zeitschrift für romanische Philologie; it lists the bibliographical data for monographs, collected volumes, articles, and reviews published in the field of Romance studies (both literary studies and linguistics) with the exception of French literary studies
SUDOCSUDOC (Système Universitaire de Documentation) is a French online catalogue created by higher educational and research libraries and resource centres
