ResearchGuides: Linguistic Studies: Linguistic Studies Library Guide

SELF-ARCHIVING GUARANTEES OPENNESS

DEPOSIT SERVICE

UH researcher, send author´s accepted manuscript file to be deposited in the library:
openaccess@helsinki.fi
Please, attach also publication information (title / number) to come.

NB! If you have research funding from the Research Council of Finland (from 2021 onward), please include this information in to your message.

SEND NOW

We will find out publishing policy and conditions. Additional information: article versions.
If you are unsure which version of your publication you are entitled to self-archive, send all versions to us.Versi

Self-archiving service - details and info More info on self-archiving service
more...less...
This self-archiving service is for full-texts of publications from the year 2022 onward. We also accept full-texts of publications from the years 2010-2021, but unfortunately there will be a delay in archiving them. This service is for staff and students who have a TUHAT profile.

Services for Researchers

Open Access
Open Access (in Finnish)
Research Data Management
University of Helsinki Research Portal University of Helsinki Research Portal (Portal of Research Information System TUHAT)
University of Helsinki Research Information System (TUHAT) Login
TUHAT Help Pages
Measuring Research Impact
Research Visibility & Altmetrics

Altmetrics services:

Altmetric Explorer / University of Helsinki The altmetric explorer gathers data related to journal articles from news stories, blog posts, tweets, and postings related to scholarly articles and creates a score based on information from each of the data sources examined.
Kudos Kudos is a service that helps you increase the visibility and impact of your published work and allows you to track which actions you take are most effective.
more...less...
HU researchers: register for Kudos at
https://www.growkudos.com/go/hels

Search Library Resources (Helka)

Book or Journal Not in Library Yet?

ORCID Author Identifier

ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher. Include your ORCID identifier in any research workflow to ensure you get credit for your work. In the future, using ORCID will reduce the need to enter data into a variety of different systems.

The University hopes that every researcher registers for an ORCID ID for publications, datasets, and other research outputs.

Create an ORCID id or add an existing ORCID id in your TUHAT profile, see instructions .

ORCID and other IDs

Linguistics Studies Subject Guide

This guide is designed to Helsinki University researchers by Helsinki University librarians and subject specialists to help you find the most relevant information in general linguistics. The guide provides resources that are useful for all language studies. In order to find material related to specific languages, open the relevant language subject guide. There is also a separate guide for translation and interpretation studies.

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions to improve the guide, please let us know (contact information on this page).

Keenious

Keenious is an AI-based tool that allows you to search for similar or related articles based on either an article or written text. The AI analyses the downloaded article, a link to the article, a selected passage from the article or a written text and recommends similar or related content. Keenious runs in either a web browser or Word application. Get to know Keenious better with our guide!

News from the Helsinki University Library

Follow the News from the Helsinki University Library

Online Resources

APiCS Online APiCS Online contains information on pidgin and creole languages.
Association for Linguistic Typology The purpose of the Association for Linguistic Typology (ALT) is to advance the scientific study of typology, that is, of cross-linguistic diversity and the patterns underlying it.
Bank of Finnish Terminology in Arts and Sciences The Bank of Finnish Terminology in Arts and Sciences is a multidisciplinary project which aims to gather a permanent terminological database for all fields of research in Finland.
European Observatory of Plurilingualiam The OEP is an information body with a vocation to publish widely in the fields of plurilingualism and linguistic diversity. Almost 10,000 articles have been published on the OEP website.
FIN-CLARIN The FIN-CLARIN consortium is part of the international CLARIN infrastructure. It aims to ensure that all the researchers in Finland are able to easily find and access all the European CLARIN-compatible language resources. For resources and tools, see Kielipankki in the list.
Glottolog Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.
Glottopedia Glottopedia is a freely editable encyclopedia for linguists by linguists that is currently being built up.
Helsinki Area & Language Studies (HALS) HALS intends to serve as an intellectual and also a very practical support structure at the University of Helsinki for language studies that take into account linguistic diversity, language contact and historical linguistics.
iLoveLanguages iLoveLanguages is a comprehensive catalog of language-related Internet resources.
Kielipankki In Kielipankki (Language Bank of Finland) researchers can find, use and share various language resources and tools.
Language Log Blog posts of internationally known linguists.
LingOA A linguistic organization that promotes open access publishing.
Linguistic Society of America
Linguist List Web-accessible linguistic sources, departments, and information.
Numeral Systems of the World's Languages The principal purpose of this web site is to document the various numeral systems used by the currently spoken 7,105 human languages, focusing especially on little-known, undescribed and endangered languages.
Statistical natural language processing & corpus-based computational linguistics: an annotated list of resources
The World Atlas of Language Structures WALS is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars).
The World Factbook Countries and languages.
World Loanword Database The World Loanword Database provides vocabularies of 41 languages from around the world, with comprehensive information about the loanword status of each word.

Linguistic Societies (Finnish)

Langnet Langnet is a network for doctoral programmes which aims to connect all Finnish universities and their language units.
Puheen ja kielen tutkimuksen yhdistys Finnish Association of Speech and Language Research
Suomen kielitieteellinen yhdistys The Linguistic Association of Finland.
Suomen kääntäjien ja tulkkien liitto The Finnish Association of Translators and Interpreters.
Suomen soveltavan kielitieteen yhdistys AFinLa The Finnish association of applied linguistics.
Uusfilologinen yhdistys Modern language society in Finland.

Subject Librarian (Research Services)

Tuija Korhonen

Email Me

Contact:

Main Library (Kaisa House)
Fabianinkatu 30
P.B. 53
FIN-00014 University of Helsinki

tel. +358 503116329

Subject Librarian (Access Services)

Heli Heinämäki

Email Me

Contact:

Helsinki University Main Library (Kaisa House)
6th floor, room 6058
P.O.Box 53 (Fabianinkatu 30)
FIN-00014 UNIVERSITY OF HELSINKI

Remote Access

Electronic resources are available in the network of University of Helsinki or through remote access. Remote access requires University user ID and password.

Other Language Guides

Courses in Information Seeking

City Centre Campus Library

Fabianinkatu 30 (P.O. Box 53), FIN-00014 University of Helsinki

Opening hours

tel. +358 (0) 2941 23920

kirjasto-keskusta [at] helsinki.fi