ResearchGuides: Law: Databases & Other Resources

Dissertations, theses

HELDA Theses Helsinki Univ. law master's theses. Only few have full text in web, but in the library you can read those too.
NDLTD The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) offers links to databases from many countries. Global search too.
Opena Access Theses and Dissertations OATD.org offers a resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions.

Research Guides

Foreign Legal Research Univ. of Minnesota Law Library RG

Open access Databases & Resources

The Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy Documents from 4000bce to 21st century.
BAILII BAILII provides access to the most comprehensive set of British and Irish primary legal materials that are available for free and in one place on the internet.
DagDok DagDok is a web guide to UN documentation created by the Dag Hammarskjöld Library at Uppsala University, Sweden. It is designed to help you to find UN documents and reports as well as background information about the major areas of UN activity.
EISIL Electronic Information System for International Law. EISIL has been developed, with the support of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, by the American Society of International Law (ASIL), a scholarly association that has been a leader in the analysis, dissemination and development of international law since 1906.
ECOLEX ECOLEX is a database providing comprehensive, global source of information on environmental law. It includes information on treaties, international soft-law and other non-binding policy and technical guidance documents, national legislation, judicial decisions, and law and policy literature.
EurLex EUR-Lex provides free access, in the 24 official EU languages, to: the Official Journal of the European Union EU law (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation, etc.) preparatory acts (legislative proposals, reports, green and white papers, etc.) EU case-law (judgements, orders, etc.) international agreements EFTA documents other public documents.It also allows you to follow legislative procedures.
Europa portal Allows you to browse subject list and choose the relevant database.
Departments (DGs) of the EU commission
Finlex Finlex is an online database of up-to-date legislative and other judicial information of Finland. Finlex is owned by Finland's Ministry of Justice. Most of the databases are only available in Finnish and Swedish. Some translations of Finnish acts and decrees are also available in English and other languages. Case-Law in legal literature database is also available in English.
FLARE The FLARE Index to Treaties is a searchable database of basic information on over 2,000 of the most significant multilateral treaties and some bilateral treaties concluded between 1353 and the present, with details of where the full text of each treaty may be obtained in paper and, if available, electronic form on the internet.
Global Lex
HUDOC European Court of Human Rights: The HUDOC database contains case-law of the Court, the European Commission of Human Rights (decisions and reports) and the Committee of Ministers (resolutions). The database also includes press releases (English, French) since January 1999, which contain summaries of judgments and decisions and information about cases pending and about the Court’s activities in general.
International Justice Resource Center The International Justice Resource Center (IJRC) informs, trains, and advises advocates and individual victims on using international and regional human rights protections to advance justice and accountability in their communities
Library of Congress: Guide to Law Online Vast network of links to content-based Web sites of primary and secondary legal and legislative information services from 143 nations and all U.S. federal, state and territorial government entities.
LERU Law Portal Law publications from 12 of Europe's leading universities.
N-Lex An interface to databases on national legislation. A common search form enabling you to make searches in your own language. Search results are coming directly from national databases.
NATLEX Database of national labour, social security and related human rights legislation.
OEIL -The Legislative Observatory Database is an information and research tool for EU legislative and non-legislative procedures involving the European Parliament. It contains all procedures still ongoing, irrespective of when they began, and all procedures concluded since July 1994. It contains all documents (full text) forwarded for information from the Commission to the European Parliament during the last nine months, starting from the date they were received.
Oxford University Lib Guides
Social Science Research Network Offers a large selection of mainly American working papers and abstracts from different fields of social sciences. Nearly 400 000 abstracts and over 300 000 downloadable full text documents. Some of the papers are available in fulltext in the NELLI portal (Find e-Journal) or in some other database.
United Nations Treaty Collection Collection of databases contains more than 40000 treaties registered in 1946-1998 and all the treaties after 1998.

Subscribed and free law databases

This is an alphabetical list of all databases. If you are looking for articles, go to "Journals and articles" page.

Finding research data

Aila Aila Data Service Aila provides access to datasets archived at the Finnish Social Science Data Archive and their study descriptions in Finnish and English. All users can browse and search data, read study descriptions and download open access data. By registering, users can download data which have access conditions. Services are free of charge. Students and staff from Finnish universities can register with Aila using the username and password issued by their institution (HAKA authentication). Other users apply for a username from FSD User Services.

Finnish China Law Center

The overall objective of the Center is to develop and coordinate research and education on Chinese law and legal culture in Finland.

China Law Center Homepages of the Center

The Center is establishing a collection of Chinese law which is situated in the Kaisa-library's 4'th floor. The most of books are reference material, not for home-loan.

Catalogue of Collection

Chinalawinfo - pkulaw.com

Database contains Chinese legislation, case law, treaties and articles and table of contents of Chinese legal journals. Material is mainly in Chinese. English tab provides search possibility in English, result headlines are usually in English. Some full text material is also available in English.

Database contains mainly subscribed material which can be used only from one designated computer in the Helsinki University Library, 4th floor. User must have valid user account for the Helsinki University network.