ResearchGuides: Law: Case Law

Scandinavian countries' case law

Finlex/ Case law The precedents of the following courts are available: The Supreme Court ((Korkein oikeus, Fi, Swe), the Supreme Administrative Court, (Korkein hallinto-oikeus), the Courts of Appeal (Hovioikeus), the Administrative Courts (Hallinto-oikeus), the Market Court (Markkinaoikeus, Fi, Swe), the Labour Court (Työtuomioistuin) and the Insurance Court (Vakuutusoikeus). The database “Case-law in Legal Literature” is available in English.
Lagrummet (Sweden) Lagrummet.se is a portal for Swedish public administration legal information. In lagrummet.se you will find legal information from The Government, The Swedish Parliament, Higher courts and Government agencies.
Lovdata (Norway) All decisions from the Supreme Court and various decisions of the Courts of Appeal . Decision is available free for about four months.
Højesterets afgørelsesdatabase (Denmark) Selected cases from September 2009
Nordisk Domssamling Journal provides access to decisions of Nordic supreme courts cases. Links to full text; cases are sorted by subject.

European Union case law

CVRIA Court of justice of the EU
References This section contains references to ‘notes de doctrine’ – annotations by legal commentators relating to the judgments delivered by the Court of Justice, the General Court and the Civil Service Tribunal since those courts were first established. The judgments are listed separately by court or tribunal according to their case number, whilst the annotations by legal commentators are listed according to the chronological order of their appearance.
Method of citing the EU case-law

International Courts

International Court of Justice (ICJ / CIJ) The ICJ acts as world court. The Court decides, in accordance with international law, disputes of legal nature that are submitted to it by States (jurisdiction in contentious cases); and it gives advisory opinions on legal questions at the request of the organs of the United Nations or specialized agencies authorized to make such request (advisory jurisdiction).
International Criminal Court (ICC) The International Criminal Court (ICC), is established to help end impunity for the perpetrators of the most serious crimes of concern to the international community.
The International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda The UNICTR was established for the prosecution of persons responsible for genocide and other serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda and Rwandan citizens responsible for genocide and other such violations of international law committed in the territory of neighbouring States, between 1 January 1994 and 31 December 1994.
The International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia The ICTY is a United Nations court of law dealing with war crimes that took place during the conflicts in the Balkans in the 1990’s
The Mechanism for International Criminal Tribunals The MICT was established by the United Nations Security Council on 22.12. 2010 to carry out a number of essential functions of the ICTR and the ICTY, after the completion of their respective mandates.
HUDOC European Court of Human Rights

Latest cases

HUDOC/ ECHR European Court of Human Rights

CURIA, Court of Justice of the European Union

Case law series

Printed case law collections are in the floor K3, self 04.2 ...

International courts and tribunals case law collections are in the K3 floor too

Printed Case law collections of Finnish courts: Supreme Court (=KKO), Supreme Administrative Court (=KHO), and certain special courts are situated in Kaisa-library, floor 4, self 04.1.

Case law collections of Finland