International Actors and the Formation of Laws by
This open access book addresses the discourse that creates, modifies, and reshapes the law, as well as discourse participants. The book focuses on the actors operating in legal regimes and their subtly, bluntly, or even outright aggressive impact on the formation of laws. As the book examines the intersection of domestic, European, international, and even transnational, legal regimes where new law emerges as a product of this discourse, it contributes to the understanding of the mobility of law and contemporary law’s interactive nature.
History, Politics, Law by
Historians of political thought and international lawyers have both expanded their interest in the formation of the present global order. History, Politics, Law is the first express encounter between the two disciplines, juxtaposing their perspectives on questions of method and substance. The essays throw light on their approaches to the role of politics and the political in the history of the world beyond the single polity. They discuss the contrast between practice and theory as well as the role of conceptual and contextual analyses in both fields. Specific themes raised for both disciplines include statehood, empires and the role of international institutions, as well as the roles of economics, innovation and gender. The result is a vibrant cross-section of contrasts and parallels between the methods and practices of the two disciplines, demonstrating the many ways in which both can learn from each other.
Jacobs, White, and Ovey: the European Convention on Human Rights by
The eighth edition of Jacobs, White and Ovey: The European Convention on Human Rights is a clear and concise companion to this increasingly important and extensive area of the law.The authors examine each of the Convention rights in turn, explore the pivotal cases in each area and examine the principles that underpin the Court's decisions.The focus on the European Convention itself, rather than its implementation in any one member state, makes this book essential reading for all students looking for a concise yet authoritative overview of the work of the Strasbourg Court.
Routledge Handbook of Comparative Constitutional Change by
Comparative constitutional change has recently emerged as a distinct field in the study of constitutional law. It is the study of the way constitutions change through formal and informal mechanisms, including amendment, replacement, total and partial revision, adaptation, interpretation, disuse and revolution. The shift of focus from constitution-making to constitutional change makes sense, since amendment power is the means used to refurbish constitutions in established democracies, enhance their adaptation capacity and boost their efficacy. Adversely, constitutional change is also the basic apparatus used to orchestrate constitutional backslide as the erosion of liberal democracies and democratic regression is increasingly affected through legal channels of constitutional change. The Routledge Handbook of Comparative Constitutional Changeprovides a comprehensive reference tool for all those working in the field and a thorough landscape of all theoretical and practical aspects of the topic. Coherence from this aspect does not suggest a common view, as the chapters address different topics, but reinforces the establishment of comparative constitutional change as a distinct field. The book brings together the most respected scholars working in the field, and presents a genuine contribution to comparative constitutional studies, comparative public law, political science and constitutional history.
An ever-changing union? : perspectives on the future of EU law in honour of Allan Rosas by
Allan Rosas is one of the leading European Union jurists of his generation. His impact on the legal landscape of the EU has been immense. This collection brings together colleagues from the worlds of the judiciary, academia and practice to grapple with one of the key questions underpinning his contribution: is the trajectory of EU law one of everchanging union? With essays exploring a range of topics from national identity and European construction to Brexit, this collection is a fitting tribute to an unrivalled EU law career.
Nordic Law in European Context by
Nordic law is often referred to as something different from other legal systems. At the same time, it is a common belief that the Nordic countries share more or less the same legal tradition and are very similar in their approach to the law. Considering both of these points of view, the book tells a story of how Nordic law and Nordic legal thinking differ from other legal systems, and how there are many particularities in the law of each of the Nordic countries, making them different from each other. The idea of "Nordic" law also conceals national features. The basic premise of the book is that even if, strictly speaking, there is no such thing as a Nordic common law, it still makes sense to speak of "Nordic" law, and that acquiring a more-than-basic knowledge of this law is interesting not only for comparative lawyers, but also helpful for those working with Nordic lawyers and dealing with questions involving law in the Nordic countries.
The Eu General Data Protection Regulation by
This book provides expert advice on the practical implementation of the European Union's General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) and systematically analyses its various provisions. Examples, tables, a checklist etc. showcase the practical consequences of the new legislation. The handbook examines the GDPR's scope of application, the organizational and material requirements for data protection, the rights of data subjects, the role of the Supervisory Authorities, enforcement and fines under the GDPR, and national particularities. In addition, it supplies a brief outlook on the legal consequences for seminal data processing areas, such as Cloud Computing, Big Data and the Internet of Things. Adopted in 2016, the General Data Protection Regulation will come into force in May 2018. It provides for numerous new and intensified data protection obligations, as well as a significant increase in fines (up to 20 million euros). As a result, not only companies located within the European Union will have to change their approach to data security; due to the GDPR's broad, transnational scope of application, it will affect numerous companies worldwide.
Kontraktshandboken by
Kontraktshandboken ger praktisk vägledning i avtalsrättsliga frågor. Den innehåller bl. a. en presentation av de vanligare kommersiella avtalstyperna och ett 80-tal modellavtal med kommentarer och förhandlingsråd på klausulnivå.
Bland nyheterna i 2016 års utgåva märks bl.a.:
- Nytt kapitel om etik i affärsrelationer
- 2015 års avtal om användning av konkurrensklausuler på arbetsmarknaden med kommentarer
- Ny fullmakt att sälja företag
- Ny klausul om kunkurrensförbud
- Över 30 exempel på standardklausuler
- 2 nya underleveransavtal (avropsavtal och back-to-back)
Conquest and the Law in Swedish Livonia (ca. 1630–1710). A Case of Legal Pluralism in Early Modern Europe by
In Conquest and the Law in Swedish Livonia (ca. 1630-1710), Heikki Pihlajamäki offers an exciting account of the law and judiciary in seventeenth-century Livonia. Immediately after Sweden conquered the province in the 1620s, a reorganization of the Livonian judiciary began. Its legal order became largely modelled after Swedish law, which differed in important ways from its Livonian counterpart. While Livonian legal tradition was firmly anchored in the European ius commune, the conquerors’ law was, by nature, not founded in legal learning. The volume convincingly demonstrates how the differences in legal cultures decisively affected the way Livonian judicial and procedural systems were shaped. Based on archival sources, the study presents an important contribution to the comparative legal history of the early modern period.
Allmänna förutsättningar för straffansvar by
Min bok Rikosvastuun yleiset edellytykset (Tietosanoma 2016) publiceras nu på svenska.Den svenska översättningen är identisk med den version som på finska utkom 2016. Detta betyder att i föreliggande översättning inte beaktats efter 2016 gjorda lagändringar. Inte heller rättsfall och rättslitteratur har uppdaterats. Eftersom den finska versionen hör till kursfordringarna istraffrätt vid Helsingfors universitets juridiska fakultet är det ändamålsenligt att bokens språkversioner är identiska. I samband med att en ny upplaga ges ut kommer den svenska översättningen att uppdateras till att motsvara den nya finska upplagan.VH Lenita Häggblom har professionellt översatt texten från finska till svenska. RN, forskningsbiträde Janet Johansson har skött om att översättningen getts ända-målsenlig layout samt omsorgsfullt läst korrektur. Ett särskilt tack förtjänar professor Dan Frändesom vänligen på många sätt har understött utgivandet av den svenska översättningen. RN, forskningsbiträde Esko Yli-Hemminki har varit ett oersättligt stöd vid publiceringen av översättningen.Översättningen ges ut som en öppen publikation i Helsingfors universitets digitala publikationsarkiv HELDA. Avsikten är att bokens svenska översättning ska nå en möj-ligast stor läsekrets eftersom den fritt kan laddas ned i pdf-form.
Added value. Researcher’s guide to impact and winning proposals by
This book is a practical guide for researchers and PhD students on the topic of ‘impact’. Nowadays many funding bodies expect applicants to compose an ‘impact section’ in research funding applications, and this guide focuses on providing concrete tips and tools for proposal writing. The book is not intended to be an academic exploration into the concept, but the guidance provided here is based on author’s own experiences of writing winning proposals. The guiding principle for the author is to provide the best possible insights for researchers in order to write better proposals and have even more impactful research.
Zur Kriminal- und Strafrechtspolitik des 21. Jahrhunderts. Der Blickwinkel eines nordischen Wohlfahrtsstaates und dessen Strafgesetzreformen. Finnland by
Der Band umfasst 18 Aufsätze, die der Autor in der Zeit von 1985 bis 2017 veröffentlicht hat. Im Fokus der Beiträge steht vor allem die Gesamtreform des finnischen Strafgesetzbuchs, die im Jahr 2003 nach mehr als dreißig Jahren ihren Abschluss fand. Weitere Beiträge bieten einen Einblick in die gesamtskandinavische Strafrechtsentwicklung.
Law books are situated in Kaisa House's floors 4 and K3.
You can browse the printed books in shelves by subject classification number. For instance books dealing with EU competition law on the 4'th floor: "17.21"
Law e-books in BookNavigator
The Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment by
This Encyclopedia provides the most comprehensive reference for a vast number of topics relevant to crime and punishment. Offers a global perspective from an international team of leading scholars, including coverage on criminology in Europe, Asia, and other areas. Acknowledges the overlap of criminology and criminal justice with a number of disciplines such as sociology, psychology, epidemiology, history, economics, and public health, and law.
A Dictionary of Law by
This best-selling dictionary is an authoritative and comprehensive source of jargon-free legal information. It contains over 4,700 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes, and the organization of the English legal system. Entries have been fully updated for this edition to incorporate the latest legislation, including entries on foreign national offenders, Police and Crime Commissioners, corporate manslaughter, and settlement agreements, and there is a useful Writing and Citation Guide that specifically addressesproblems and established conventions for writing legal essays and reports. Now providing more information than ever before, this edition features recommended web links for many entries, which are accessed and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Law companion website.Described by leading university lecturers as "the best law dictionary" and "excellent for non-law students as well as law undergraduates", this classic dictionary is an invaluable source of legal reference for professionals, students, and anyone else needing succinct clarification of legal terms.Focusing primarily on English law, it also provides a one-stop source of information for any of the many countries that base their legal system on English law.
International Encyclopedia of Social and Behavioral Sciences by
This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. Not since the publication in 1968 of the International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, edited by David L. Sills, has there been such an ambitious project to describe the state of the art in all the fields encompassed within the social and behavioral sciences. Available in both print (26 volumes) and online editions, it comprises 4,000 articles, commissioned by 52 Section Editors, and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes.
Peer reviewed books from quality publishers
