ResearchGuides: Economics: Databases and Resources

Find a Database (Helka)

The Directory of Open Access Repositories - OpenDOAR

Cabells - a Database of Predatory Journals

Cabells is a database which lists predatory journals, not recommended as publication channels. The service is so far in test use in the University of Helsinki. UH has a license to a list of predatory journals (predatory reports). From the search result you can see a list of suspicious features of the journal (violations) which are the reasons why the journal is added to the database.

In addition to the Cabells service, predatoryreports.org claims to provide information on predator publications. Do not use predatoryreports.org. The site is not reliable and is suspected of malpractice.

Database Showcase - Find Articles Fast with Web of Science (2018, 1:18 min)

Conferences

Databasis for Economics

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 12 500 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for over 8500 of these journals.In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a total of more than 13 200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
AGRIS [open access] International information system for the agricultural sciences and technology.AGRIS was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. AGRIS is a cooperative system in which participating countries input references to the literature produced within their boundaries and, in return, draw on the information provided by the other participants.
ARTO [open access] The ARTO database is an index of articles from over 1000 Finnish journals. ARTO contains journal article references and (occasionally) references to articles in monographs. If an article is available in digital form, it is linked to the bibliographic record.
CAB Abstracts (Ovid) A database covering international issues in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences.The database contains over 3.5 million records from over 11,000 journals. books, conferences, reports, and other kinds of literature published internationally. Subjects covered include animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, plant protection, genetics, forestry engineering, economics, veterinary medicine, human nutrition, and rural development.
Econlit (ProQuest) The American Economic Association's electronic database, this is the world's foremost source of references to economic literature.EconLit adheres to the high quality standards long recognized by subscribers to the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) and is a reliable source of citations and abstracts to economic research dating back to 1969. EconLit records include abstracts of books, journal articles, and working papers published by the Cambridge University Press.
Gale - The Economist Historical Archive, 1843-2015 The Economist Historical Archive was released in 2007. It contained content from 1843 to 2003. In 2010 a further 3 years were added to the archive, extending the content coverage to 2006. This was done in order to offer the same chronological coverage as the Financial Times Historical Archive, which Gale released in 2010. Between 2011 to 2019 a year of content was added to the archive on an annual basis, bringing the content coverage to 1843-2015. A content update containing the years 2016-2020 was released for optional purchase in June 2021. Your library may or may not have access to this content. Sources The majority of the archive for the years 1842-2003 was created by scanning physical copies of the newspaper held by the original publisher, Economist Newspapers Ltd. Some of the issues were tightly bound in leather volumes and users may notice some curvature on certain pages. It was not possible to dis-bind the volumes. Microfilm was not used for this project. Occasional gaps in the publisher's holdings were filled by scanning copies held by the National Library of Scotland and the British Library. The years 2004 onwards have been created from new scanning of loose physical issues of the UK edition delivered to Gale on a regular basis.
Global Financial Data GFD has complete, accurate data ready to export into any data science application. Create the most sophisticated models and algorithms using the most unique set of historical financial content available. Out-perform any market trend and arm yourself with the complete series. GFD provides API, Excel Add-In, or other downloading methods to effectively test your best thinking, either on-premise or in a cloud environment managed by you.
Scopus (Elsevier) Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.Subject areas covered* Life Sciences -- Health Sciences (including 100% coverage of Medline titles) -- Physical Sciences -- Social SciencesWorldwide coverage; more than half of Scopus content originates from Europe, Latin America and the Asia Pacific region.References go back to 1996, abstracts go back further.
Social Science Citation Index (Web of Science) Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in over nearly 2000 leading scholarly social sciences journals.It also covers individually selected, relevant items from approximately 3,300 of the world's leading science and technology journals.
Web of Science - Core Collection WoS provides access to the following reference databases: Science Citation Expanded (SCI) 1945-, Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) 1956-, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) 1975-, Book Citation Index 2005-; Conference Proceedings Citation Index 1990-. Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching.

Journal Databases for Economics

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 12 500 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for over 8500 of these journals.In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a total of more than 13 200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format.
Emerald Journals Access to full text articles from over 140 Emerald's journals, complete with full text archives back to 1994. Subject coverage spans management disciplines including strategy, leadership, library and information management, marketing and human resource management plus a number of engineering, applied science and technology titles.
JSTOR A fulltext database containing earlier volumes of mainline journals mostly in the fields of social sciences, arts and business.There are, however, packages in the fields of biological sciences too. The collection packages which are enabled at University of Helsinki are: Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, Arts & Sciences III and Biological Sciences.
Nikkei Telecom21 (AsiaPortal) A group of comprehensive business database services. The resource contains for instance news and newspapers in Japanise and English and economic indicators as well as information on companies and their personnels.The service consists of:News: Real-Time Nikkei newswire service (Japanese and English)Full Text Article Search: Nikkei's 4 main newspapers and news (Japanese and English) Market & Economic Indicators: Stock Indices, exchange rates, bond pricing and other economic indicators.
OECDiLibrary Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It comprises Book collections by theme, periodicals and the OECD statistical databases.
ProQuest Databases Provides tens of reference databases, some fulltext databases. Its possible to make searches in all of them or in each of them or in selected databases.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) A rich electronic environment for research journals, bibliographic databases, reference works and eBooks. Only part of this literature has been subscribed.
SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCO) Contains full text for more than 860 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers. Provides indexing of thousands of sociological publications.
Springer Link Online information service for scientific, technical, and medical journals and books.SpringerLink offers electronic and printed literature from Springer-Verlag publisher. It also offers the work of other publishers, including Urban and Vogel, Steinkopff, and Birkhäuser.
Wiley Online Library Extensive database of electronic journals and books of natural sciences and medicine, also economics and social science and humanities is included.

More Resources

Economics Resources - WallStreetMojo Source for finance, accounting, and investment-related information. We are dedicated to giving our readers the very best of educational resources and online courses on Investment Banking, Financial Modeling, Private Equity, Venture Capital, Accounting, and Excel, with a strong focus on theory, application, and career prospects.
ELKA - The Central Archives for Finnish Business Records The aim of Elka’s operations is to secure the preservation of historical information and traditions related to Finnish business life. The material stored in Elka is intended to be utilised by researches in current and future academic disciplines as well as by anyone else who requires the information. For this purpose, Elka collects, processes and makes available documents generated by the activities of companies, private persons, associations and organisations. The concept of “document” also covers drawings, maps, photographs and various audio and video recordings. ELKAn toiminnan tarkoituksena on turvata suomalaista elinkeinoelämää koskevan ja sivuavan historiatiedon ja -perinteen säilyminen. Elkassa oleva materiaali on tarkoitettu nykyisten ja tulevien eri tieteenalojen tutkijoiden sekä muiden tiedon tarvitsijoiden hyödynnettäväksi. Elkan yhteydessä toimii myös suomalaisen muotoilun arkisto.
ExcelMojo ExcelMojo hosts a wealth of learning tools, video tutorials, and guides to help beginners and advanced users master MS Excel and Google Sheets while improving their knowledge and skills. We do not stop there. In addition to Excel, ExcelMojo also features articles, online certification courses, and training materials ranging from basic and advanced VBA to Power BI. Whatever level of experience you have with dashboards, data analysis, finance, marketing, or HR, you may benefit tremendously from what we offer. Everything on ExcelMojo is written step-by-step by a team of skilled writers who make it simple to use. You will eventually have the opportunity to learn and practice various Excel tools and strategies, allowing you to become an expert. Students and professionals from finance and non-finance backgrounds benefit from our self-paced online certification courses.
FEEM - Fondanzione Eni Enrico Mattei [open access] The Fondazione Eni Enrico Mattei (FEEM) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research institution established to carry out research in the field of sustainable development. One of its principal aims is to promote interaction between academic, industrial and public policy spheres in order to comprehensively address concerns about economic development and environmental degradation.
FSD - Finnish Social Science Data Archive [open access] The Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD) is a national resource centre for social science research and teaching, also including some research data on the Humanities, education and health sciences. Its primary goal is to increase the use of existing research data by disseminating them throughout Finland and also internationally.
NBER Working Papers The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) is a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization. The NBER is committed to undertaking and disseminating unbiased economic research among public policymakers, business professionals, and the academic community. NBER Working Papers have not undergone the review accorded official NBER publications.
Projectnet (Hankehaavi) [open access] Projectnet is a searchable database of research projects which focus on natural resources. The Projectnet database, launched as the Finnish Hankehaavi.fi 2008 by the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry in Finland, provides an easy access to summaries of both ongoing and completed projects performed by five prominent research organisations in Finland. The project descriptions are either in Finnish or in English.
RePEc - Research Papers in Economics [open access] RePEc (Research Papers in Economics) is a collaborative effort of hundreds of volunteers in 102 countries to enhance the dissemination of research in Economics and related sciences. The heart of the project is a decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components, all maintained by volunteers. The collected data are then used in various services that serve the collected metadata to users or enhance it. So far, over 2,000 archives from 102 countries have contributed about 3 million research pieces from 3,500 journals and 5,000 working paper series. Over 57,000 authors have registered and 75,000 email subscriptions are served every week. See below on how you can be part of this initiative.
SSRN - Social Science Research Network Offers a large selection of working papers and abstracts from different fields of social sciences and humanities, applied sciences, health sciences, life sciences and physical sciences. Some of the papers are available in fulltext in some other databases.

International Research Organizations and Institutes

Finnish Research Institutes

Economics at the Finnish Universities

Financial and Macroeconometrics (recearch group in UH) Our goal is to produce theoretical research related to econometric methods and models relevant to finance and macroeconomics, and to employ the results of this research in empirical applications in these fields. We are especially interested in models and methods that allow for the incorporation of macroeconomic variables into models for financial returns and vice versa. The fruitful border area between the two fields offers a large number of potential applications, including asset pricing, measuring and forecasting financial and macroeconomic risks, forecasting the state of the economy and modelling the effect of macroeconomic news announcements on financial markets. Apart from extending the academic literature in econometrics, macroeconomics and finance, the results of the proposed research agenda should be of great interest to practitioners.
Helsinki Graduate School of Economics Helsinki GSE organizes itself through research groups. Each research group is responsible for promoting and developing cooperation within the Helsinki GSE community in its research area. The research groups coordinate Masters and PhD level teaching in the Helsinki GSE community. The groups will also organize and run reading/study groups and student workshops.
University of Helsinki
University of Jyväskylä
University of Lappeenranta
University of Oulu
University of Tampere
University of Turku
University of Vaasa
Åbo Akademi

Thesauri and Dictionaries

AFO - Natural resource and environment ontology [open access] AFO soveltuu erityisesti luonnonvara- ja ympäristöalojen (mm. maatalous, metsäala, elintarvikeala, ympäristöala , riistanhoito, kalatalous ja biologia) aineistojen kuvailuun. AFO perustuu Agriforest-asiasanastoon, jota ylläpiti Helsingin yliopistoon kuuluva Viikin kampuskirjasto vuoteen 2014 saakka.
AGROVOC Thesaurus [open access] AGROVOC is a controlled vocabulary covering all areas of interest of the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations, including food, nutrition, agriculture, fisheries, forestry, environment etc. It is published by FAO and edited by a community of experts. It is widely used in specialized libraries as well as digital libraries and repositories to index content and for the purpose of text mining. It is also used as a specialized tagging resource for content organization by FAO and third-party stakeholders. AGROVOC consists of +37,000 concepts and +750,000 terms in up to 37 languages. Currently, AGROVOC is an SKOS-XL concept scheme, and a Linked Open Data (LOD) set edited by VocBench. AGROVOC is aligned with 18 other multilingual knowledge organization systems.
CAB Thesaurus [open access] CAB Thesaurus is the essential search tool for users of CAB Abstracts and Global Health databases and related products. It includes over 3 million descriptive terms, for the applied life sciences.
A Dictionary of Economics (4th ed.)
Finto - Finnish Thesaurus and Ontology Service [open access] Finto is a Finnish thesaurus and ontology service, which enables both the publication and browsing of vocabularies.
Helecon vocabulary [open access] Aalto University School of Economics vocabulary. The subject headings for economics and business fields. Subject headings are both in Finnish and in English.
MOT Dictionaries Sisältää seruraavat sanakirjat ja sanastot: MOT Pro Englanti MOT Englannin tekniikka ja kauppa MOT Oxford Dictionary of English MOT Oxford Thesaurus of English MOT Pro Ruotsi MOT Ruotsin tekniikka ja kauppa MOT Saksa MOT Saksan tekniikka ja kauppa MOT Ranska MOT WSOY Suomi-ranska-suomi-sanakirja; ranska-suomi MOT WSOY Suomi-ranska-suomi-sanakirja; suomi-ranska MOT Ranskan tekniikka ja kauppa MOT Espanja MOT Kielitoimiston sanakirja MOT Asutusnimihakemisto MOT Synonyymisanakirja MOT Gummerus Englanti-suomi-idiomisanakirja MOT Norstedts stora engelska ordbok MOT Norstedts Svensk ordbok MOT Gullberg Svensk-engelsk fackordbok MOT Venäjä MOT Ruslania Suomi-venäjä-suursanakirja MOT Ruslania Talouden ja kaupan sanakirja MOT Ruslania Tekniikan sanakirja MOT Kotus Suomi-viro-suursanakirja MOT Kotus Vironkielisten vastineiden taivutussanasto MOT Gummerus Suomi-italia-suomi-perussanakirja MOT Suomi-portugali-suomi-sanakirja MOT Schildts Finlandssvensk ordbok MOT FinnLectura Tanskalais-suomalainen sanakirja MOT Suomi-hollanti-suomi-sanakirja MOT Oxford Russian Dictionary MOT Oxford Hachette French Dictionary MOT Oxford German Dictionary MOT Oxford Paravia Italian Dictionary MOT Oxford Spanish Dictionary MOT Oxford Chinese Dictionary MOT Norstedts tyska ordbok MOT Langenscheidt Handwörterbuch Französisch MOT Langenscheidt Handwörterbuch Spanisch MOT Zanichelli Dizionario Francese-Italiano MOT Langenscheidt Handwörterbuch Italienisch MOT Elektroniikan sanakirja MOT Lakikielen perussanakirja MOT Lakikielen sanakirja MOT Plataani Suuri lakikielen sanakirja MOT Pankki- ja rahoitusalan sanakirja MOT Schildts Handelsordbok MOT Sähköalan standardit MOT Teräs MOT Lääketiede 2.0a MOT Saksa-suomi-saksa-taloussanakirja MOT SFS 3215 Paperisanasto MOT SilvaTerm MOT IT-Ensyklopedia MOT Tietotekniikan liiton ATK-sanakirja MOT Fintra Ulkomaankaupan termit MOT Recallmed Kardiologian sanasto MOT Recallmed Kivun sanasto MOT Recallmed Lääketieteelliset lyhenteet MOT Recallmed Moderni lääketieteen sanasto MOT Recallmed Psykiatrian sanasto MOT Max Korkeakoulusanasto
Routledge dictionary of economics
Tieteen termipankki: Taloustiede [open access] Tieteen kansallinen termipankki (Tieteen termipankki) on suomalainen vuonna 2012 avattu wiki-muotoinen tietokanta, johon kootaan kaikkien Suomessa harjoitettavien tieteenalojen termistöjä. Termipankkia rakennetaan joukkoistamalla, eli kunkin tieteenalan asiantuntijat vastaavat oman erikoisalansa termeistä ja niiden määritelmistä.

Statistics

BIS Statistics BIS statistics, compiled in cooperation with central banks and other national authorities, are designed to inform analysis of financial stability, international monetary spillovers and global liquidity.
Environment.fi [open access] Statistics by Finland's envirnonmental administration.
EUROSTAT [open access] Statistics gathered by by the statistical office of EU from the National Statistical Institutes of the member states.Eurostat webpage contains statistics (partly as pdf), statistical bulletins and information about statistical publications. Updated continuously.
Finnish Forest Industries - Statistics [open access] Forest industries statistics contains powerpoint-figures, tables and reports about Finnish forest industry and it's operational environment.
Finnish institute for health and welfare (THL) - Statistics [open access] THL produces a range of statistics in the field of social welfare and health care to support decision-making, development and research. As a statistical authority THL is responsible for the maintenance and development of statistical and register resources.
International trade statistics [open access] Statistical publications published by the Customs
Kotimaisen tilastotiedon opas Kokoaa aiheittain ryhmiteltynä tietoa kotimaisista tilastoista. Erinomainen tiedonlähde kaikille, jotka etsivät luotettavaa tilastotietoa.
Luke's statistical resources [open access] LUKE's statistics lay the groundwork for the growth of the bioeconomy and digitalisation. LUKE generates food and natural resources statistics in support of sustainable decision-making.
OECDiLibrary - Statistics [open access] Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It comprises Book collections by theme, periodicals and the OECD statistical databases.
Sotkanet.fi [open access] Statistical information on welfare and health in Finland
Suomen tilastollinen vuosikirja [open access] Statistical data about Finland.
Tilasto-oppaat (Tilastokeskus) [open access] Tilastokeskuksen tilasto-oppaat ohjaavat tilastotiedon etsijän olennaisten lähteiden äärelle. Oppaissa annetaan myös vinkkejä tilastotiedon hakemiseen. Kotimaisen tilastotiedon opas tarjoaa kattavasti kotimaiset tilastotiedonlähteet aiheittain ryhmiteltyinä. Mukana on Suomen virallisen tilaston tuottajien sekä muiden tilastotoimijoiden tilastoja. Viranomaisten lisäksi esitellään myös muiden organisaatioiden ja järjestöjen tilastotietoja. Kansainvälisen tilastotiedon oppaassa esittelemme tärkeimmät ja luotettavimmat kansainvälisen tilastotiedon lähteet. Löydät oppaasta myös linkit muiden maiden tilastovirastojen sivuille. Historiallisen tilastotiedon opas auttaa sinua löytämään väestö-, teollisuus- ja vaalitilastoja Suomen historian varhaisilta vuosilta alkaen. Aikasarjojen pituus vaihtelee tilastokohtaisesti. Saat apua etenkin digitoitujen tilastojulkaisujen ja julkaisemattomien aineistojen paikantamiseen.
UNESCO - Statistics [open access] Educational statistical data, tools and resources produced by UNESCO.
Vipunen [open access] Vipunen - Education Statistics Finland Vipunen is the education administration's reporting portal. The Ministry of Education and Culture and the Finnish National Agency for Education are jointly responsible for its content. Vipunen's statistics are based on data and registers collected by the Statistics Finland, the Ministry of Culture and Education and the Finnish National Agency for Education. You can use this service to access statistics and indicators for education in a number of educational sectors, placement of students after completion, research conducted in higher education institutions, the population's educational structure and the socio-economic background of students.

Finding Research Data

American Economic Association - Data Sources [open access] Some of the most useful and popular economics data sources, categorized by data type.
Data from Developing Countries There has been a spectacular increase in the availability and quality of data from developing countries in recent years. Many of these datasets are either in the public domain or can be obtained at modest cost from the data collection agency. This page is intended as a resource to help locate those data. The International Household Survey Network provides links to documentation to many of these and other data. Some of the data are available at ICPSR, the World Bank Microdata Catalog and the Harvard Dataverse Network which houses data produced by JPAL. We provide links to some of the data that are on-line and explanations of how to obtain others.
ESB - Statistical Data Warehouse Service of statistical data produced by European Central Bank.
EU Open Data Portal [open access] The official portal for European data.
FRED Economic Data [open access] Economic data produced by Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis. 766,000 US and international time series from 102 sources.
FSD Links to Data Archives (in Finnish)
ICPSR Data [open access] An international consortium of more than 750 academic institutions and research organizations, Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
IMF Data [open access] The IMF (International Monetary Fund) has released end-2019 results of the Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS). The new data show that the US holds both the largest inward direct investment position with $4.5 trillion and the largest outward direct investment position with $6.0 trillion. The CDIS is a global survey of cross-border direct investment holdings with immediate counterpart country information.
IPUMS [open access] IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge.
Searching Data at Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD)
UN Data [open access] United Nations Data Retrieval System.
World Bank Open Data [open access] Database of global development data. Service produced by The World Bank.