Computer science collections are on the first floor in the Kumpula Campus Library, right after the textbooks collection. The classification system is based on ACM standards. A full list can be found on our main website.
Book Showcase (Electronic)
Genome-Scale Algorithm Design by Veli Mäkinen; Djamal Belazzougui; Fabio Cunial; Alexandru I. TomescuHigh-throughput sequencing has revolutionised the field of biological sequence analysis. Its application has enabled researchers to address important biological questions, often for the first time. This book provides an integrated presentation of the fundamental algorithms and data structures that power modern sequence analysis workflows. The topics covered range from the foundations of biological sequence analysis (alignments and hidden Markov models), to classical index structures (k-mer indexes, suffix arrays and suffix trees), Burrows–Wheeler indexes, graph algorithms and a number of advanced omics applications. The chapters feature numerous examples, algorithm visualisations, exercises and problems, each chosen to reflect the steps of large-scale sequencing projects, including read alignment, variant calling, haplotyping, fragment assembly, alignment-free genome comparison, transcript prediction and analysis of metagenomic samples. Each biological problem is accompanied by precise formulations, providing graduate students and researchers in bioinformatics and computer science with a powerful toolkit for the emerging applications of high-throughput sequencing.
Publication Date: 2015-04-30
Operating Systems (Electronic) by William StallingsOperating Systems: Internals and Design Principles is intended for use in a one- or two-semester undergraduate course in operating systems for computer science, computer engineering, and electrical engineering majors. It also serves as a useful reference for programmers, systems engineers, network designers and others involved in the design of computer products, information system and computer system personnel. Operating Systems provides a comprehensive and unified introduction to operating systems topics. Stallings emphasizes both design issues and fundamental principles in contemporary systems and gives readers a solid understanding of the key structures and mechanisms of operating systems. He discusses design trade-offs and the practical decisions affecting design, performance and security. The book illustrates and reinforces design concepts and ties them to real-world design choices through the use of case studies in Linux, UNIX, Android, and Windows 8. Teaching and Learning Experience This program presents a better teaching and learning experience-for you and your students. It will help: Illustrate Concepts with Running Case Studies: To illustrate the concepts and to tie them to real-world design choices that must be made, four operating systems serve as running examples. Easily Integrate Projects in your Course: This book provides an unparalleled degree of support for including a projects component in the course. Keep Your Course Current with Updated Technical Content: This edition covers the latest trends and developments in operating systems. Provide Extensive Support Material to Instructors and Students: Student and instructor resources are available to expand on the topics presented in the text.