Article/Book Processing Charge: Article Processing Charges and discounts

Information about OA publishing fees and discounts for researchers at the University of Helsinki

Table of publishers/publications

Publisher or Publication Journals Included Author receives % discount on APC Discount Based On Notes N.B.
American Chemical Society (ACS) ACS journals HULib agreement covers APC HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address

See below

New set of free credits will be available for articles with acceptance date in 2019
BioMed Central & Springer Open BioMed Centralin and SpringerOpen journals 15%  

Submission must be made through UH network. Outside the university it is possible to use remote connection.

 
BMJ Any full OA BMJ journal 25% BMJ Open Access Membership Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address Agreement is valid until 31.12.2019
Cogitatio Press Cogitatio journals HULib agreement covers APC Institutional Membership Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
Agreement is valid until 31.12.2020
Copernicus Publications Copernicus journals HULib agreement covers APC HULib agreement Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
Articles accepted 1.12.2018-
Elsevier

Journal list

incl. iScience

UH funding covers APC HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address if possible
Article is accepted for publishing 1.1.2018-31.12.2020

See below

Regarding new journals added to the list: to be eligible for the discount it is required that the article was submitted after the journal was added to the list.
Emerald Emerald Premier Journals and International Journal of Climate Change Strategies and Management (HULib agreement covers APC) HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address if possible
Article is accepted for publishing 1.1.2018-31.12.2020

See below

Vouchers for the year 2019 are available
Frontiers Frontiers journals 7,5% / HULib funding covers APC HULib agreement Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
NB! this membership includes submissions from HUSLAB and Helsinki University Hospital.

Articles accepted 1.10.2018-

NB!
Due to high demand the APC-deposit account of the library is used up at the moment. Please, be prepared to pay the APC invoice with 7,5% discount applied if you submit your article after 1.3.2019.

Hindawi Hindawi journals 10% Associate Membership Programme

NB! this membership includes submissions from HUSLAB and Helsinki University Hospital. 

Article APCs are waived on the basis first come first serve.   

 
LWW - Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Wolters Kluwer hybrid and full OA journals in medicin HULib agreement covers APC HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium See below Contract validity period: 1.1.2018-31.12.2022
MDPI - Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute MDPI journals HULib funding covers APC MDPI Membership Programme

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address

Articles submitted 1.10.2018-
Microbiology Society

Microbiology,
Journal of General Virology,
International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology

15%  

The OpenMicrobiology option should be selected when you submit your article (both originally and for any revised versions) on Editorial Manager. More information at publishers webpage

 
PeerJ   HULib agreement covers APC HULib agreement Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address  
Pensoft Publishers Pensoft journals 15% HULib agreement Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address  
Royal Society See below 25% HULib agreement Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
 
Discount is valid 1.12.2017-30.11.2019
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) RSC hybrid journals 100% HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
Article has been accepted during 1.1.–31.12.2019

See below

 
SAGE Premier Sage hybrid journals (Sage Choice Titles) 87,5 / 100% HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium See below HULib will cover the discounted APC. See below
Science Advances (AAAS) AAAS Science Advances Journal 15% UH Science Collection -subscription Corresponding Author
Article has been accepted during 1.1.–31.12.2019
On Author Charge page on RightsLink click Apply Discounts button and choose your own institution
SCOAP3 SCOAP3 journals HULib agreement covers APC   See more detailed info:  https://scoap3.org/phase2-journals/  

Springer Nature

(see also BioMed Central above)

Springer hybrid titles in the Springer Compact collection HULib agreement covers APC HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
Articel type: Original Paper, Review Paper, Brief Communication or Continuing Education

See below

 

Updated 9.8.2019

Springer Nature - publishing Open Access Article

The researchers of the Helsinki University have the possibility to publish their articles open access in Springer Nature hybridjournals (excel) free of charge.

Criteria
  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article
  • Article is published in Springer Nature hybridjournals (excel)
  • Article is accepted for publishing between 1.10.2018-31.12.2020
  • The article types eligible are: Original Paper, Review Paper, Brief Communication tai Continuing Education
Publishing an article open access in Springer’s hybrid journals – instructions to the corresponding author

Article in Springer’s standard workflow (most journals belong in this category, see journals list)

  1. Once your article has been accepted, you will receive a link to the My Publication system
  2. Choose your affiliation: University of Helsinki.
  3. You will see the note describing the FinELib agreement
  4. Agree to the open access license used by the journal title (CC BY or CC BY-NC depending on journal). Read more about from our License Guide.
    1. CC BY 4.0 - Creative Commons describes the license like this: This license lets others distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation.
    2. CC BY-NC 4.0 - Creative Commons describes the license like this: This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, and although their new works must also acknowledge you and be non-commercial, they don’t have to license their derivative works on the same terms.
  5. Springer will alert library and we will verify your affiliation in the system. The affiliation is checked from TUHAT database.
  6. Springer will publish your article open access.

It is assumed that all corresponding authors will want to publish open access. If this is not the case with you, complete the My Publication process and then contact the library (hulib-apc@helsinki.fi). We will reject verifying your affiliation in the system. You will then receive a new link to My Publication and your article will be published behind a paywall.

Article in Springer’s non-standard workflow (a minority of journals belong in this category, see journals list)

  1. The process varies by journal title.
  2. Use the name of Helsinki University and your institutional email address in all communications with the journal.
  3. Agree to the open access license used by the journal title. Read more about from our License Guide.
    1. CC BY 4.0 -  Creative Commons describes the license like this: This license lets others distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation.
    2. CC BY-NC 4.0 -  Creative Commons describes the license like this: This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, and although their new works must also acknowledge you and be non-commercial, they don’t have to license their derivative works on the same terms.
  4. Springer will alert the library and we will verify your affiliation in the system. The affiliation is checked from TUHAT database.
  5. Springer will publish your article open access.

It is assumed that all corresponding authors will want to publish open access. If this is not the case with you, complete process and then contact the library (hulib-apc@helsinki.fi). We will reject verifying your affiliation in the system. Your article will be published behind a paywall.

ACS - American Chemical Society discount for UH researchers

The researchers at the Univerisity of Helsinki have an opportunity to publish their articles under an Open Access CC BY license for free using granted credits. The credits can be used during the agreement term 1.1.2018 - 31.12.2020. The credits can be used for publishing in all of ACS Publications journals and ACS’s fully open access titles (ACS Central Science, ACS Omega). The credits can be used for the all article types excluding eBooks.

There is a limited amount of free credits annually. For each OA-article one credit will be considered used.

Criteria

  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article
  • Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address. ACS will recognize the authors eligibility for the credit from the institutional email domain
  • Article is accepted for publishing between 1.1.2018-31.12.2020

Publishing an article open access in ACS journals – instructions to the corresponding author

Immediately update your Affiliation and Email Extension!

When you submit your manuscript in ACS’s Paragon Plus system, you must review and edit your profile to select the correct institution naming convention from the drop down box as well as begin to use your official institutional email address if not currently the email address of communication. ACS will recognize your eligibility for free credits from both your institutional affiliation and your email domain. To reiterate, if you have previously used another email address in the system, please edit it accordingly.

When the article for which you are the corresponding author has been accepted for publication

  • Once your article has been accepted, you will receive an acceptance letter via email from ACS Publications including a link to Copyright Clearance Center's RightsLink platform
  • Sign in RightsLink and choose your affiliation to be University of Helsinki. Please note that you must indicate affiliation to an institution as identified in the table above in order to get open acces credit.
  • Choose Seek Funding From FinELib
  • Order color figures or other services if you like. Note that you will personally be charged for them, FinELib funding only covers the article processing charge (APC).
  • Send the order
  • Your will receive an email confirming that your funding request to FinElib has been submitted
  • You will receive an email confirming that your request has been accepted or denied
  • If your funding request has been accepted, ACS will publish your article under the CC BY-license. Read more about CC BY-license from our License Guide.

ACS will email corresponding authors with a link to the final published article that can be access in a variety of formats (HTML or PDF).  ACS will also deposit the final version of record under a CC-BY license into the US Pub Med Central repository, which will automatically be reflected in the Europe Pub Med Central repository.

If your funding request has not been accepted or all free credits have been used by the time your article is accepted, you will have the right to publish your article Open Access yourself through the Open Access option on your original acceptance email (see http://pubs.acs.org/page/policy/authorchoice/index.html). You also have the option to direct the ACS to publish the article via ACS's subscription model.

Need to know more? We will help you at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi or ACS support journalhelp@acs.org

Emerald - discount for UH researchers

The researchers at the University of Helsinki have an opportunity to publish their articles voucher under the CC BY-license with a free open access. The vouchers can be used for publishing in all titles in the Emerald Premier-collection (excel) as well as in Emerald’s only fully open access titles ”International Journal of Climate Change Strategies and Management”.

Criteria:
  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article.
  • Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address. Emerald will recognize the authors eligibility for the voucher from the institutional email domain.
  • The article is accepted to one of the journals on journal list
  • The article types eligible are research paper, viewpoint, technical paper, conceptual paper, case study, literature review and general review
Instructions to the Corresponding Author:

When you submit your manuscript in Emerald’s ScholarOne system

  1. Use your institutional email address. Emerald will recognize your eligibility for a free voucher from your email domain. If you have previously used another email address in the system, please edit it accordingly. See screen shot.
  2. Declare you interest to use a free voucher to publish open access. Do this in Step 4: Details and Comments. Tic the box  ”Yes, I want to publish my article as Open Access and my institution is eligible for a prepaid APC-voucher”.  See screen shot.

When the article for which you are the corresponding author has been accepted for publication

  1. You will receive an acceptance letter via ScholarOne. See screen shot.
  2. In addition you will receive within 30 days from the acceptance letter a link to a CC BY-license. Complete the document, sign it and return it to the editor via email.  Creative Commons describes the license like this: This license lets others distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation. See attachment.
  3. Emerald will publish your article under the CC BY-license.

Need to know more? We will help you at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi

Sage - discount for UH researchers

 

 

SAGE Premier

The researchers at the University of Helsinki get a discount from the APC payment when publishing their article open in the hybrid journals (Sage Choice Titles) as a corresponding author. The discount includes following journals: Sage´s journals with the discount

Instructions for open access publishing in SAGE´s journals:

1) SAGE sends to a corresponding author the acceptance of the article and informs author about the possibility to publish the article Open Access.

2) The writer fills in the SAGE's Open Access form and uses the Promo Code: "FinELib 2017".

3) SAGE bills the 200 GBP APC payment from the corresponding writer.

When the article has been accepted, the writer him/herself has to add to the information code: FinELib2017, which entitles to the discount.

Researchers themselves also have to make sure that the billing is performed correctly with the discount APC payment (200 GBP). It is important that the writer of the article takes care of getting the discount, because the publisher is not responsible for the matter afterwards.

4) Send the invoice of the discounted APC to the library (hulib-apc@helsinki.fi)

SAGE Choice - FAQs

Need to know more? We will help you at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi

Elsevier - publishing Open Access article / Researchers at the UH

The researchers of the Helsinki University have the possibility to publish their articles open access in over 1600 Elsevier journals, iScience included, free of charge.

Criteria:

  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article.
  • Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address if possible
  • The article is accepted to one of the journals listed here
  • Article is accepted for publishing between 1.1.2018-31.12.2020
    • Regarding new journals added to the list: to be eligible for the discount it is required that the article was submitted after the journal was added to the list. The start date is marked on the journal list.
  • The article types eligible are journal articles with scientific (peer reviewed) content: full length journal articles (including review articles), short communications, case reports, short surveys, software articles, data articles.

Instructions to the Corresponding Author:

1) When the article, in which you are the corresponding author, is accepted, Elsevier sends you an e-mail and asks you to fill in the Rights and access form.

2) When filling in the  Elsevier Rights and access form, please choose:

  • Corresponding Author's organization: Start typing Helsinki university and select the correct one from the list offered by the system
  • Open Access - Publishing options: choose Gold open access (this is not relevant if the journal in question is a full OA journal)
  • Licenses: You have the choice between two different CC-licenses. In both options your own reuse rights regarding the article are defined by the CC-license terms. The options are:
    • CC BY 4.0 (Attribution)
    • CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 (Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs)
      Please note that if you choose this, more restrictive CC BY-NC-ND license, the rights to commercial use and modifications (derivatives) stay with Elsevier.

3) Complete the form. Please note that for technical reasons this form shows you the list price of the APC payment.

4) Helsinki University Library will be  informed  that you have chosen open access publishing for your article and will confirm your affiliation to Elsevier. The affiliation is checked from TUHAT database.

5) Library pays the APC and Elsevier publishes the article open access

Need to know more? We will help at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi

Royal Society - discount for UH researchers

The Royal Society

The researchers at the University of Helsinki get a discount from the APC payment when publishing their article open in the following Royal Society journals:

  • Biology Letters
  • Interface Focus
  • Journal of the Royal Society Interface
  • Notes and Records of the Royal Society
  • Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society A: Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences
  • Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences
  • Proceedings of the Royal Society A: Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences
  • Proceedings of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences
  • Open Biology
  • Royal Society Open Science

Criteria:

  • The researchers / article authors = corresponding author
  • Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address. The library will check the affiliation of the author.

Please, choose Open Access box on the form when submitting. The library sends a confirmation to Royal Society about the discounted APC. CC-BY license will automatically appear as default

Need to know more? We will help you at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi

LWW - Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott discount for UH researchers

The researchers at the University of Helsinki have an opportunity to publish their articles under the CC BY or CC BY-NC-ND license with a free open access. This means that there is no article processing charge for the author. The free vouchers can be used during the agreement term 1.1.2018-31.12.2022.. The vouchers can be used for publishing in Wolters Kluwer hybrid and full OA titles in Medicin  (all article types). The waiver code is FinHelsinki19.

Criteria

  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article
  • The article is accepted to one of the journals on journal list
  • Article is accepted for publishing between 1.1.2018-31.12.2022

Publishing an article open access in Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott journals – instructions to the corresponding author

  1. Go to the payment site: http://wolterskluwer.qconnect.com and sign in.
  2. Select the journal from the drop-down list.
  3. Provide manuscript details (manuscript number, article title, acceptance date, corresponding authors name)

    • Please also indicate funding sources (select FinELib)

  4. Click ‘Discounts’, select ‘Number of Discounts 1’ and enter the OA waiver code FinHelsinki19 in the ‘Discount 1’ field. Then click “Update Price” and the code will be applied (it becomes a green tick when the code is valid).  Click “Add to Cart” and then “Checkout”. 

    • FinHelsinki19 code can be used for articles that are accepted for publication in 2019. If an invalid code is entered there is a red cross next to the code and the order summary will show a price and no discount. If this happens you should check you have entered the code correctly and contact library to check the status of the code. If all free vouchers have been used by the time your article is accepted, you have the right to publish your article as a paywalled article (or alternatively pay the article processing charge).

  5. Ensure the required fields in the billing section are completed and click “Continue” and “Complete Order”

  6. You will then receive the e-mail confirmation of the order.

  7.  Ovid will publish your article under the CC BY or CC BY-NC-ND-license based on the corresponding authors’ choice of the license.

If you need further information or help, please contact hulib-apc@helsinki.fi or Ovid Customer Support, support@ovid.com.

Royal Society of Chemistry open access for UH researchers

The researchers of the Helsinki University have the possibility to publish their articles open access in Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) hybrid journals without additional payment. Open access publishing is free for the researcher, since the costs have been covered as a part of FinELib consortium’s agreement. The agreement includes RSC hybrid journals.

Criteria:

  • The UH researchers / article authors = corresponding author
  • Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address. RSC identifies eligible authors based on their email address
  • Article has been accepted during 1.1.–31.12.2019

Instructions for the corresponding author

  • On acceptance of manuscript, you will receive an email from RSC with a link to their licensing system
  • The link takes you to a page with the details of your manuscript provided at submission
  • Click Start now
  • Choose Gold Open Access Publication. Make sure that the system has identified you correctly, ie. that this option reads FREE - No payment required. You are identified based on your email address.
  • Choose license CC BY (preferred by UH) or CC BY-NC
  • Agree to the license terms

Need to know more? We will help you at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi