Electronic resources are available in the network of University of Helsinki or through remote access. Accessing the electronic resources from outside the library locations via a remote connection requires a University user account.
This guide is designed to Helsinki University researchers by Helsinki University librarians and subject specialists to help you to find the most relevant information in art history.
If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions to improve the guide, please let us know!
Articles, Journals includes a selective list (and easy access) to the most important art history journals, feeds from some of them (though forthcoming only later this year), plus links to some other selected journals and collections of digitalized newspapers.
Books includes links to some e-book collections, core art history reference books, and source text collections, plus information about collections in print.
Images includes links to collections of digitalized art works in various museums, plus links some art history chronologies and maps as well as general digital video services.
Bibliographic and Multi-Content Databases includes links to the most important bibliographic databases and to a selection of much-varied art history sources, both full-text and bibliographic.
Other Sources includes selected link lists, links to art libraries, archives, documentation centres, auction houses, and to the most important art history organisations, plus links to current art history conferences, plus research and writing advice.
Until recently the Kaplan painting had been considered to have been completed between 1670-72. That dating has now been revised, with Wheelock stating it as 1670-75. Vermeer died on 15 December 1675 and Young Woman seated at a Virginal is most likely his final picture. – The Art Newspaper
The Prado hopes that actually knowing exactly how many people are in these crowded scenes will help us better understand these paintings, and how the artists were using large quantities and repetition in their work. – Artnet
“According to the indictment, (Leslie) Roberts, the owner of Miami Fine Art Gallery in Coconut Grove, fraudulently represented art as original pieces created by renowned artist Andy Warhol. … (Carlos Miguel) Rodriguez Melendez falsely claimed to work for a New York-based auction company to fraudulently authenticate the artwork.” – AP
Fabianinkatu 30 (P.O. Box 53)
FIN-00014 University of Helsinki
tel. +358-2941 23920
library@helsinki.fi
