Applied Multivariate Analysis in the Behavioral Sciences Second Edition by
Multivariate Analysis for the Behavioral Sciences, Second Editionis designed to show how a variety of statistical methods can be used to analyse data collected by psychologists and other behavioral scientists. Assuming some familiarity with introductory statistics, the book begins by briefly describing a variety of study designs used in the behavioral sciences, and the concept of models for data analysis. The contentious issues of p-values and confidence intervals are also discussed in the introductory chapter. After describing graphical methods, the book covers regression methods, including simple linear regression, multiple regression, locally weighted regression, generalized linear models, logistic regression, and survival analysis. There are further chapters covering longitudinal data and missing values, before the last seven chapters deal with multivariate analysis, including principal components analysis, factor analysis, multidimensional scaling, correspondence analysis, and cluster analysis. Features: Presents an accessible introduction to multivariate analysis for behavioral scientists Contains a large number of real data sets, including cognitive behavioral therapy, crime rates, and drug usage Includes nearly 100 exercises for course use or self-study Supplemented by a GitHub repositorywith all datasets and R code for the examples and exercises Theoretical details are separated from the main body of the text Suitable for anyone working in the behavioral sciences with a basic grasp of statistics
Art in Social Work Practice by
This is the first book ever to be published on arts use in social work. Bringing together theoretical connections between arts and social work, and with practice examples of arts in micro and macro social work practice from around the world, the book aims to inspire the reader with new ideas. It provides specific skills, defines what is social rather than fine or projective art use, and explains the theoretical connection between art and social work. It has chapters from all over the world, showing how arts are adjusted to different cultural contexts. Section I explores the theoretical connections between art and social work, including theories of resilience, empowerment, inclusion and creativity as they relate to art use in social work. Section II describes specific interventions with different populations. Each chapter also summarizes the skills and hands-on knowledge needed for social workers to use the practical elements of using arts for social workers not trained in these fields. The third section does the same for arts use in community work and as social change and policy. Using Art in Social Work Practice provides theoretical but also hands-on knowledge about using arts in social work. It extends the fields of both social work and arts therapy and serves as a key resource for students, academics and practitioners interested in gaining the theoretical understanding and specific skills for using social arts in social work, and for arts therapists interested in using social theories.
Dwelling in Political Landscapes by
Dwelling in Political Landscapes contributes to the anthropology of landscape and the field of political ecology. Environments change at speeds never before experienced. Massive species loss is just one transformation affecting life forms and their interactions, climate change another, and there are many more rapid and sometimes profound material and social changes that anthropologists working around the world attend to and document. By exploring how the material and conceptual are entangled in and as landscapes, this book takes up the invitation posed by such emerging novel situations to explore the potentialities of anthropology and related fields, to understand life when 'things are not what they used to be'. The complex entanglements of seemingly disconnected processes and the recent sense of crisis concerning environment, movements of people, climate change and other planetary transformations, raise the question over the role of anthropology and proper methodologies for studying these developments.
Intergenerational Family Relations : An Evolutionary Social Science Approach by
This book offers a synthesis of social science and evolutionary approaches to the study of intergenerational relations, using biological, psychological and sociological factors to develop a single framework for understanding why kin help one another across generations. With attention to both biological family relations as well as in-law and step-relations, it provides an overview of existing studies centred on intergenerational relations – particularly grandparenting – that incorporate social science and evolutionary family theories. This evolutionary social science approach to intergenerational family relations goes well beyond the traditional nature versus nurture distinction. As such, it will appeal to scholars across a range of disciplines with interests in relations of kinship, the lifecourse and the sociology of the family.
To Exist Is to Resist by
This book brings together activists, artists and scholars of colour to show how Black feminism and Afrofeminism are being practiced in Europe today, exploring their differing social positions in various countries, and how they organise and mobilise to imagine a Black feminist Europe.Deeply aware that they are constructed as 'Others' living in a racialised and hierarchical continent, the contibutors explore gender, class, sexuality and legal status to show that they are both invisible - presumed to be absent from and irrelevant to European societies - and hyper-visible - assumed to be passive and sexualised, angry and irrational.Through imagining a future outside the neocolonial frames and practices of contemporary Europe, this book explores a variety of critical spaces including motherhood and the home, friendships and intimate relationships, activism and community, and literature, dance and film.
Introducing the Sociology of Food and Eating by
This textbook equips students with the ability to analyze and think critically about contemporary food topics. A thorough introduction to the sociology of food and eating, the book also acts as a primer to the discipline of sociology more generally. Chapters start with a 'common sense' assumption about food which students frequently encounter in their own lives or in the mass media. Topics include family meals, ethnic cuisines, cooking skills and convenience foods, eating out, food waste, and 'overpackaging'. Anne Murcott shows how systematic academic research approaches can allow students to move beyond 'conventional wisdoms' to examine sociological perspectives on food and eating. Key sociological concerns such as class, gender, age, ethnicity, power and identity are also introduced, accompanied by a wide range of examples from around the globe. By the end, readers will be able to think more critically and to apply sociological approaches to questions about food and society. Introducing the Sociology of Food and Eating is an essential introductory textbook for students in sociology and food studies. It provides readers with a solid basis for success in their studies - and with a new understanding of their own attitudes to food and eating.
Organization Outside Organizations by
The book explores how various social settings are partially organized even when they do not form part of a formal organization. It also shows how even formal organizations may be only partially organized. Professors Göran Ahrne and Nils Brunsson first established the concept of partial organization in 2011 and in doing so opened up a ground-breaking new field of organizational analysis. An academic community has since developed around the concept, and Ahrne and Brunsson have edited this collection to reflect the current state of inquiry in this burgeoning subject and to set an agenda for future research. Its chapters explain how organization is a salient feature in many social settings, including markets, interfirm networks, social movements, criminal gangs, internet communication and family life. Organization theory is much more relevant for the understanding of social processes than previously assumed. This book provides a new understanding of many social phenomena and opens up new fields for organizational analysis.
The Palgrave Handbook of Global Slavery throughout History by 
The Routledge International Handbook of Valuation and Society by 
Gender and welfare service work in biocapitalism : lean in action by The Book Citation Index in Web of Science Core Collection is a bibliographic database that includes the published scholarly literature of book chapters and books.
