Zenodo is an open dependable home for the long-tail of science, enabling researchers to share and preserve any research outputs in any size, any format and from any science.
DataCiteDataCite is a not-for-profit organisation formed in London on 1 December 2009. It's aim is to establish easier access to research data on the Internet, increase acceptance of research data as legitimate, citable contributions to the scholarly record and support data archiving that will permit results to be verified and re-purposed for future study.
GEOSS PortalThe GEOSS Portal is your main entry point to Earth Observation data from all over the world.
Ilmatieteen laitos - Avoin data (In finnish)Palvelusta saatavilla mm. sää-, meri- ja ilmastohavaintoja, säätutkakuvia ja salamahavaintoja, kansallisen sääennuste- ja merimallien tietoja. Ilmastohavainnot vuodesta 1959 (asemakohtaisia päivä- ja kuukausiarvoja), meriveden korkeushavainnot vuodesta 1971, aaltohavainnot vuodesta 2005. Ilmastonmuutosskenaariot 30-vuotisjaksoille 2010 - 2039, 2040 -2069 ja 2070-2099 (keskimääräiset lämpötilan ja sateen muutosarvot).
PangaeaThe information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. The system guarantees long-term availability of its content through a commitment of the operating institutions.
Most of the data are freely available and can be used under the terms of the license mentioned on the data set description. A few password protected data sets are under moratorium from ongoing projects. The description of each data set is always visible and includes the principle investigator (PI) who may be asked for access.
Each dataset can be identified, shared, published and cited by using a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). Data are archived as supplements to publications or as citable data collections. Citations are available through the portal of the German National Library of Science and Technology (GetInfo).
Core Databases
Web of ScienceWeb of Science provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.
ScopusScopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature.
Subject areas covered
* Life Sciences
* Health Sciences (including 100% coverage of Medline titles)
* Physical Sciences
* Social Sciences
GeoRefProvides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and US Canadian theses in the geosciences.
Academic Search CompleteMulti-disciplinary database. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 12 500 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for over 8500 of these journals. --- In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a total of more than 13 200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1400 journals. Provided by EBSCO.
Science DirectA rich electronic environment for research journals, bibliographic databases, reference works and eBooks. Only part of this literature has been subscribed.
American Mineralogist Crystal Structure DatabaseThe site is an interface to a crystal structure database that includes every structure published in the American Mineralogist, The Canadian Mineralogist, European Journal of Mineralogy and Physics and Chemistry of Minerals, as well as selected datasets from other journals. The database is maintained under the care of the Mineralogical Society of America and the Mineralogical Association of Canada, and financed by the National Science Foundation.
Crystallography Open DatabaseOpen-access collection of crystal structures of organic, inorganic, metal-organic compounds and minerals, excluding biopolymers.
Geologia.fi (in Finnish)Sivuille on kerätty yleistä tietoa geologiasta ja kotimaisesta maankamarasta, oppiaineistoja sekä mittava määrä linkkejä ja sanastoja. Tutustu, opi ja innostu!
International Union of Crystallography teaching pamphletsThe Teaching Pamphlets sponsored by the Commission on Crystallographic Teaching are now in their Third Series, and provide tutorials introducing different aspects of symmetry, diffraction techniques, structural science and crystallography. First published as print pamphlets in 1981 in association with University College Cardiff Press, they are now freely available on the Web for the use of instructors and individuals.
Mineralogy DatabaseEach mineral has a page linked to tables devoted to crystallography, crystal structures, X-Ray powder diffraction, chemical composition, physical and optical properties, Dana's New classification, Strunz classification, mineral specimen images, and alphabetical listings of mineral species. There also are extensive links to other external sources of mineral data and information.
NOW (New and Old Worlds)The NOW fossil mammal database contains information mainly about Eurasian Miocene to Pleistocene land mammal taxa and localities.
Data Repositories
British Geological Survey: OpenGeoscienceBGS has a wide range of datasets and wants to increase access to these by publishing as many as possible under OpenGeoscience. OpenGeoscience is a free service where you can view maps, download data, scans, photos and other information.
EtsinEtsin – Research Data Finder contains metadata of research data. From Etsin anyone can browse existing data. You can search and find research data for your needs (and the information on how to get the data for your own use). You can also add your own data for others to reuse. Using Etsin is free of charge for end-users.
Ilmatieteen laitos - Avoin data (In finnish)Ilmatieteen laitos on avannut verkkopalvelun, jonka kautta voi hakea, katsella ja ladata laitoksen tuottamia tietoaineistoja koneluettavassa muodossa maksutta.
Verkkopalvelun tekninen toteutus noudattaa Inspire-direktiivin vaatimusmäärittelyjä. Sisällön osalta toteutus on Inspire-direktiivissä määriteltyä laajempi. Avointa dataa jaetaan hakupalvelussa Open Geospatial Consortium –standardien mukaisesti.
NOAA's National Climatic Data Center (NCDC): Paleoclimatology DatasetsThe Service provides access to descriptive information and explanatory notes, maps, searches, visualizations, and more. The data cover the globe, and while most span the last few millennia, some datasets extend back in time 100 million years. Most of the data are time series of geophysical or biological measurements and some include reconstructed climate variables such as temperature and precipitation.
PangaeaThe information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. The system guarantees long-term availability of its content through a commitment of the operating institutions.
Most of the data are freely available and can be used under the terms of the license mentioned on the data set description. A few password protected data sets are under moratorium from ongoing projects. The description of each data set is always visible and includes the principle investigator (PI) who may be asked for access.
Each dataset can be identified, shared, published and cited by using a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). Data are archived as supplements to publications or as citable data collections. Citations are available through the portal of the German National Library of Science and Technology (GetInfo).
Finnish Social Science Data ArchiveThe Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD) provides a single point of access to a wide range of digital research data for learning, teaching and research purposes. The archive is a national resource centre funded by the Ministry of Education and Culture. All services are free of charge.
