ResearchGuides: Geography: Databases

Find a Database (Helka)

Google Scholar

Zenodo: Share Data, Presentations etc.

Zenodo is an open dependable home for the long-tail of science, enabling researchers to share and preserve any research outputs in any size, any format and from any science.

Core Databases

Web of Science Web of Science provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.
Scopus Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature. Subject areas covered * Life Sciences * Health Sciences (including 100% coverage of Medline titles) * Physical Sciences * Social Sciences
GeoRef Provides access to the most comprehensive geoscience literature of the world. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and US Canadian theses in the geosciences.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 12 500 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for over 8500 of these journals.
ProQuest Provides tens of reference databases, some fulltext databases. It is possible to make searches in all of them or in each of them or in selected databases.
Science Direct A rich electronic environment for research journals, bibliographic databases, reference works and eBooks. Only part of this literature has been subscribed.
Google Scholar An easy-to-use online service that scours more than a billion web pages for pertinent information.
ERIC (Material on education research) U.S. Department of Education Educational Resources Information Center

Author Identifiers

ORCID Author ID
Open Author Identifier
ResearcherID
The Web of Knowledge based Author ID

Data Repositories (Physical Geography)

DataCite DataCite is a not-for-profit organisation formed in London on 1 December 2009. It's aim is to establish easier access to research data on the Internet, increase acceptance of research data as legitimate, citable contributions to the scholarly record and support data archiving that will permit results to be verified and re-purposed for future study.
GEOSS Portal The GEOSS Portal is your main entry point to Earth Observation data from all over the world.
Ilmatieteen laitos - Avoin data (In finnish) Palvelusta saatavilla mm. sää-, meri- ja ilmastohavaintoja, säätutkakuvia ja salamahavaintoja, kansallisen sääennuste- ja merimallien tietoja. Ilmastohavainnot vuodesta 1959 (asemakohtaisia päivä- ja kuukausiarvoja), meriveden korkeushavainnot vuodesta 1971, aaltohavainnot vuodesta 2005. Ilmastonmuutosskenaariot 30-vuotisjaksoille 2010 - 2039, 2040 -2069 ja 2070-2099 (keskimääräiset lämpötilan ja sateen muutosarvot).
Pangaea The information system PANGAEA is operated as an Open Access library aimed at archiving, publishing and distributing georeferenced data from earth system research. The system guarantees long-term availability of its content through a commitment of the operating institutions. Most of the data are freely available and can be used under the terms of the license mentioned on the data set description. A few password protected data sets are under moratorium from ongoing projects. The description of each data set is always visible and includes the principle investigator (PI) who may be asked for access. Each dataset can be identified, shared, published and cited by using a Digital Object Identifier (DOI). Data are archived as supplements to publications or as citable data collections. Citations are available through the portal of the German National Library of Science and Technology (GetInfo).

Data Repositories (Human Geography)

Finnish Social Science Data Archive The Finnish Social Science Data Archive (FSD) provides a single point of access to a wide range of digital research data for learning, teaching and research purposes. The archive is a national resource centre funded by the Ministry of Education and Culture. All services are free of charge.
Fairdata

Remote Access

Electronic resources are available in the network of University of Helsinki or through remote access. Accessing the electronic resources from outside the library locations via a remote connection requires a University user account.