The books on Classical Studies are situated in Kaisa House, on the 6th floor and on the floor K3.
Shelf classification:
Anecdotes artistiques chez Pline l'Ancien : la constitution d'un discours romain sur l'art (print)
by
Dans l’Antiquité, les anecdotes constituent, avec le discours technique, l’une des manières principales de parler de l’art. Cette perspective sera reprise à la Renaissance avec Giorgio Vasari, auteur des Vies d’artistes, et prédominera dans l’histoire de l’art jusqu’au XVIIIe siècle. Ainsi, les anecdotes fameuses, « Apelle et le cordonnier », « L’Hélène de Zeuxis », « La jeune fille de Corinthe », etc., inspireront les artistes comme les théoriciens de l’art.
Die Berner Rätsel / Aenigmata Bernensia (print)
by
The Latin Bern Aenigmata (Riddles) are believed to be written in Northern Italy around 700 AD. The collection consists of 64 short poems about objects from everyday life, plants and animals, and cosmological topics - ranging from an earthenware cooking pot to the movements of the heavenly bodies - that are transformed into enigmatic miniatures. The bilingual edition is supplemented by a detailed commentary and introduction that discusses the probable date and origin of this fascinating collection as well as its unique position within the late antique and early medieval riddle tradition.
Die Grabinschrift des Aberkios: ein Kommentar (print)
by
Die Grabinschrift des Aberkios, im 2. Jh. in Phrygien entstanden und 1883 in der Nahe des antiken Hieropolis wiederentdeckt, zeigt in eindrucksvoller Weise den Umgang eines fruhen Christen mit seinen Identitaten als Burger seiner Heimatstadt, Einwohner des romischen Reiches und Christ. Ihr Verfasser unternimmt einen der ersten noch heute bekannten Versuche, in der traditionellen Form phrygischer Grabepigramme zentrale Aspekte neuer, christlicher Identitat zum Ausdruck zu bringen, wie z. B. die gemeinsame Eucharistiefeier, die er uberall bei Begegnungen auf seinen weiten Reisen nach Rom und in den Osten uber die Grenzen des romischen Reiches hinaus bis zur Stadt Nisibis erlebt. Dabei verwendet er eine reiche Bildsprache, die bis heute nicht vollstandig zu erklaren und zu deuten ist.
Magic and Religion in the Ancient Mediterranean World: studies in honor of Christopher A. Faraone (print)
by
This volume explores aspects of ancient magic and religion in the ancient Mediterranean, specifically ways in which religious and mythical ideas, including the knowledge and practice of magic, were transmitted and adapted through time and across Greco-Roman, Near Eastern, and Egyptian cultures. Offering an original and innovative combination of case studies on the material aspects and cross-cultural transfers of magic and religion, this book brings together a range of contributions that cross and connect sub-fields with a pan-Mediterranean, comparative scope.
Minima Epigraphica et Papyrologica, Anno XXVI 2023, fascicolo 28 (print)
Laboratorio di epigrafia e papirologia giuridica rivista di diritto romano e di diritti dell'antichità
The Oxford Handbook of Roman Philosophy (e-book)
by
Several decades of scholarship have demonstrated that Roman thinkers developed in new and stimulating directions the systems of thought they inherited from the Greeks, and that, taken together, they offer many perspectives that are of philosophical interest in their own right. The Oxford Handbook of Roman Philosophy explores a range of such Roman philosophical perspectives through thirty-four newly commissioned essays. Where Roman philosophy has long been considered a mere extension of Hellenistic systems of thought, this volume moves beyond the search for sources and parallels and situates Roman philosophy in its distinctive cultural context.The Oxford Handbook of Roman Philosophy emphasizes four features of Roman philosophy: aspects of translation, social context, philosophical import, and literary style. The authors adopt an inclusive approach, treating not just systematic thinkers such as Cicero and Augustine, but also poets and historians. Topics covered include ethnicity, cultural identity, literary originality, the environment, Roman philosophical figures, epistemology, and ethics.
The Position of Roman Slaves: Social Realities and Legal Differences (e-book)
by
Slaves were property of their dominus, objects rather than persons, without rights: These are some components of our basic knowledge about Roman slavery. But Roman slavery was more diverse than we might assume from the standard wording about servile legal status. Numerous inscriptions as well as literary and legal sources reveal clear differences in the social structure of Roman slavery. There were numerous groups and professions who shared the status of being unfree while inhabiting very different worlds. The papers in this volume pose the question of whether and how legal texts reflected such social differences within the Roman servile community.
Les protectores Augusti (IIIe-VIe s. p.C.). Volume 1 (print)
by
Cet ouvrage, appuyé sur un catalogue prosopographique de 260 individus, retrace l’histoire des protectores Augusti du IIIe au VIe siècle. En plaçant au centre de l’analyse la relation privilégiée entre ces soldats et les empereurs, il offre un regard renouvelé sur un maillon central de l’armée romaine tardive. Menée selon une approche à la fois chronologique et thématique, l’étude analyse les modalités d’apparition et d’évolution des protectores, offre une synthèse à jour sur les perspectives de carrière, les mécanismes de promotion, et la diversité des expériences de ces soldats, et ouvre une fenêtre privilégiée sur l’histoire sociale et culturelle de l'armée romaine.
Reading Homer's Iliad (e-book)
by
We still read Homer's epic the Iliad two-and-one-half millennia since its emergence for the questions it poses and the answers it provides for our age, as viable today as they were in Homer's own times. What is worth dying for? What is the meaning of honor and fame? What are the consequences of intense emotion and violence? What does recognition of one's mortality teach? We also turn to Homer's Iliad in the twenty-first century for the poet's preoccupation with the essence of human life. His emphasis on human understanding of mortality, his celebration of the human mind, and his focus on human striving after consciousness and identity has led audiences to this epic generation after generation. This study is a book-by-book commentary on the epic's 24 parts, meant to inform students new to the work. Endnotes clarify and elaborate on myths that Homer leaves unfinished, explain terms and phrases, and provide background information. The volume concludes with a general bibliography of work on the Iliad, in addition to bibliographies accompanying each book's commentary.
Peer reviewed books from quality publishers
