AfricaLit Plus
Database of the Nordic Africa Institute library. The NAI library is a large special library focused on contemporary Africa, within social sciences and some humanities subjects. While aimed at students and researchers in the Nordic countries, the library is open for all.
JSTOR World Heritage Sites: Africa
This JSTOR collection brings together more than 30,000 digital objects of visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites and rock art sites. The materials include photographs, 3D models, GIS data sets, site plans, aerial and satellite photography, excavation reports, travelogues, and other scholarly research that will be of use to students and scholars in anthropology, archaeology, cultural studies, heritage preservation, and architectural studies. Documented heritage sites include Lalibela, Ethiopia; Timbuktu, Mali; and Elmina, Ghana. In addition, rock art sites cover over thirty countries across the continent.
WWW Virtual Library: Africa
English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of African affairs.
Swahili Language - Linguistics & Learning Material
Bantu Lexical Reconstructions 3
Bantu Lexical Reconstructions 3 (BLR 3) is a database with ca. 10,000 entries that have been proposed as Proto-Bantu reconstructions.
BLR 3 is meant to be a working tool for Bantuists and other linguists. BLR 3 is not a finished product, it is continuously being updated by its present editors (Yvonne Bastin, Thilo C. Schadeberg).
Swahili Resources
Swahili language links compiled at St. Lawrence University (Canton, NY).
General Linguistics - Databases
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive web site cataloging all of the world’s known living languages.
Glottolog
Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages.
Tieteen termipankki - Kielitiede [in Finnish]
Tieteen kansallinen termipankki (TTP) rakentaa kaikkien Suomessa harjoitettavien tieteenalojen yhteisen, avoimen ja jatkuvasti päivitettävän termitietokannan tiedeyhteisön ja kansalaisten käyttöön. Hanke toteutetaan talkooperiaatteella yhteistyössä koko maan tutkijoiden kanssa.
Academic Search Complete (Ebsco)
Multi-disciplinary database. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 12 500 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for over 8500 of these journals.
ATLA with ATLASerials (EBSCO)
This index with 1,4 million records is a tool for the study of religion and theology, indexing journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion.
JSTOR
A fulltext database containing earlier volumes of mainline journals mostly in the fields of social sciences, arts and business.
Includes a subject list of Asian studies journals.
MLA Intl Bibliography (EBSCO)
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore and includes coverage from 1926 to the present.
ProQuest
Provides tens of reference databases, some fulltext databases. Its possible to make searches in all of them or in each of them or in selected databases.
Includes e.g. Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Taylor & Francis Online
Online information service for T&F journals. University of Helsinki has access to over 2000 T&F journals.
