Identifying Security Logics in the EU Policy Discourse
This book investigates the complexity and the modalities of securitization of migration and border control at the EU level. It discusses and compares how different EU institutions and agencies have been deploying different logics of security, e.g. humanitarianism or management of risk, while framing increased migratory flows and so called migration crisis as a security problem.
EU constitutional law : an introduction
by
The third edition of this acclaimed book continues the story of the EU's constitutional journey. The EU's constitution, composed of myriad legal texts, case law and practice, is no less of a moving target than before and the pace of change has, if anything, increased since the publication of the second edition. In a constantly challenging geopolitical context, the EU faces unprecedented political, economic and cultural trials, all of which impact upon the evolution of its constitution. In particular, the migration crisis has given rise to the need for substantial revision of the chapter dealing with the area of freedom, security and justice, and the institutional reforms embarked upon in the quest to restore financial order have taken a more structured form following the inception of a European banking union.
State Aid Law of the European Union
by
Rules controlling State aid and subsidies on the EU and the WTO level can have a decisive influence on both regulatory and distributive decision-making. This field of law has grown exponentially in importance and complexity over the past decades. Rules on State aid and subsidies control are one of the key instruments to ensure that public spending and regulatory measures do not lead to discriminatory distortions of competition. As a consequence, hardly any part of national law is free from review under criteria of State aid and subsidy regulation. In turn, State aid and subsidies law is linked to economic, constitutional, administrative law of the EU and the Member States as well as to public international law. This book brings together leading experts from academia, the judiciary, civil servants from the European Commission, and practicing lawyers to provide expert opinion and commentary on the diverse dimensions of the complex and vital area of law. Critically analysing and explaining developments and current approaches in State aid law and subsidies, the chapters take into account not only the legal dimensions but also the economic and political implications. They address the EU law applicable to State aid in the aftermath of the recent State Modernization reform, and coverage includes: an in-depth analysis of the notion of State aid as interpreted by the Court's cases-law and the Commission's practice; the rules on compatibility of State aid with the internal market; the rules governing the procedure before the Commission; the litigation before the Court of Justice of the European Union; and analysis of the other trade defense instruments, including WTO subsidy law and EU anti-subsidy law.
Combating tax avoidance in the EU : harmonization and cooperation in direct taxation
by
Following each Member State's need to rebuild a strong and stable economy after the 2007 financial crisis, the European Union (EU) has developed a robust new transparency framework with binding anti-abuse measures and stronger instruments to challenge external threats of base erosion. This book makes clear that taxation has come to the centre of the EU political debate, and that the importance given to tax harmonization and the speed at which it is taking place will put EU Tax rules at the very core of all tax systems. This is the first and only book to provide a complete detailed analysis of the Anti-Tax Avoidance Package jointly with other recent and ongoing European actions taken in direct taxation.
Collective Redress in Europe - Why and How?
by
The European Commission's Recommendation on Collective Redress (2013/396/EU) establishes a framework to ensure a coherent horizontal approach to collective litigation in the EU context without harmonizing national systems. The Commission clearly aims at distinguishing collective redress in Europe from the North American class action approach. This book explores the need for mass litigation mechanisms in Europe from a series of interdisciplinary perspectives (law and economics, behavioral sciences, and sociological/judicial perspectives). It also analyzes the current collective redress landscape in Europe in light of the Commission Recommendation. This includes: an assessment of national collective redress mechanisms * views from oversees on the present and future of collective litigation in Europe * commentary on various specific areas of collective redress (competition law, product liability, and consumer protection) * the options for and relevance of collective ADR mechanisms. The book is a useful tool for practitioners and academics with an interest in collective redress in Europe and overseas. [Subject: European Law, Consumer Law, Law and Economics, Collective Redress, Class Action, Competition Law, Alternative Dispute Resolution]
The European Court of Justice and International Courts
by
The Court of Justice of the European Union has exclusive jurisdiction over European Union law and holds a broad interpretation of these powers. This, however, may come into conflict with the jurisdiction of other international courts and tribunals, especially in the context of so-called mixed agreements. While the CJEU considers these 'integral parts' of EU law, other international courts will also have jurisdiction in such cases. This book explores the conundrum of shared jurisdiction, analysing the international legal framework for the resolution of such conflicts, and provides a critical and comprehensive analysis of the CJEU's far-reaching jurisdiction, suggesting solutions to this dilemma. The book also addresses the special relationship between the CJEU and the European Court of Human Rights. The unique interaction between these two bodies raises fundamental substantive concerns about overlaps of jurisdiction and interpretation in the courts. Conflicts of interpretation manage largely to be avoided by frequent cross-referencing, which also allows for much cross-fertilization in the development of European human rights law. The link between these two courts is the subject of the final section of the book.
EU Procedural Law
by
The European Union is unique amongst international organisations in that it has a highly developed and coherent system of judicial protection. The rights derived from Union law can be enforced in court, as opposed to other international organisations whereby enforceability is often far lesscertain. At the heart of the system of judicial protection in the European Union is the core principle of upholding the rule of law. As such, the stakes are high in the sense that the system of the judicial protection in the European Union must live up to its promise in which individuals, MemberStates and Union institutions are all guaranteed a route by which to enforce Union law rights. This book provides a rigorously structured analysis of the EU system of judicial protection and procedure before the Union courts. It examines the role and the competences of the Union courts and the types of actions that may be brought before them, such as the actions for infringement, annulment,and failure to act, as well as special forms of procedure, for example interim relief, appeals, and staff cases. In doing so, special attention is given to the fields of EU competition law and State aid. In addition it evaluates the relationship between the Court of Justice and the national courtsthrough the preliminary ruling procedure and the interplay between EU law and the national procedural frameworks generally. Throughout, it takes account of significant institutional developments, including the relevant changes brought by the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty and the amendmentsto the Statute of the Court of Justice of the European Union and the Rules of Procedure of the Court of Justice and the General Court.
Europe at the Edge of Pluralism
by
This volume tackles contemporary problems of legal accommodation of diversity in Europe and recent developments in the area in diverse European legal regimes. Despite professing the motto 'Unity in Diversity,' Europe appears to be struggling with discord rather than unity. Legal discussions reflect a crisis when it comes to matters of migration, accommodation of minorities, and dealing with the growing heterogeneity of European societies. The book illustrates that the current legal conundrums stem from European oscillation between, on the one hand, acknowledging the need of accommodation, and, on the other, the tendencies to preserve existing legal traditions. It claims that these opposite tendencies have led Europe to the edge of pluralism. This 'edge' - just as with the linguistic interpretation of the word 'edge' - carries multiple meanings, conveying a plethora of problems encountered by law when dealing with diversity. The book explores and illustrates these multiple 'edges of pluralism,' tracing back their origins and examining the contemporary legal conundrums they have led to. Europe at the Edge of Pluralism encourages readers to explore whether there are fundamental problems with approaches to diversity. And, if so, can they be rescued from their current precarious position? It asks whether Europe at the edge is truly capable of uniting in diversity and developing a constructive approach to its growing pluralism. (Series: Ius Commune: European and Comparative Law - Vol. 134) [Subject: Socio-Legal Studies, European Law, Human Rights Law]
Peer reviewed books from quality publishers
Publications
The EU Publications Office is responsible for publishing the publications of EU institutions, specialized agencies and other bodies. The EU publications published by or through the Publications Office are listed, indexed and archived via the EU Bookshop service. The EU Bookshop Digital Library contains all the publications published by the Publications Office since 1952. They are available as PDF files free of charge.
The Book Citation Index in Web of Science Core Collection is a bibliographic database that includes the published scholarly literature of book chapters and books.
