English Studies: Books

English Studies Subject Guide, Helsinki University Library: articles, journals, e-books, printed books, databases, and library services - Englantilaisen filologian, englannin kielen ja kirjallisuuden aineisto-opas - artikkelit, lehdet, e-kirjat, kirjat,

Search Library Resources (Helka)

Search for books, journals, journal articles or databases from Helka  

Directory of Open Access Books

     

New E-books at the Library (Selection)

New Books at the Library (Printed)

English Literature:

English Language and Linguistics:

E-books on English Language and Linguistics

The E-books on the English Language and Linguistics found at the Helsinki University Library are catalogued in the Helka database, but you can also browse and search them via BookNavigator.

Have a look at our new e-books:

Loading ...

English Language - Old, Middle, Early Modern

Have a look at our new e-books:

via BookNavigator.

Loading ...

English Literature and Literary Studies - E-Books

The E-books offered by Helsinki University Library can be browsed and accessed either via the Helka database or via the BookNavigator.

       -  Shakespeare Studies

The Past Masters Database Includes:

Electronic Dictionaries

Reference Works

Reference Works:

Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO):

Oxford Handbooks Online is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks areas across many different subject areas. One of the most prestigious and successful strands of Oxford’s scholarly publishing, the Handbook series contains in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.

Oxford Reference Online (ORO):

Oxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias.

Literature Online (LION):

OA eBooks - Open Access Books

OpenBook publishers:

Open Book Publishers, founded in 2008, is already the biggest independent open access academic publisher of monographs in the UK and amongst the leaders in the English-speaking world. We are a not-for-profit Social Enterprise run by academics who are committed to making high-quality and prize-winning research available to all, and we are now the hub of choice for a rapidly increasing international network of scholars who believe that it is time for academic publishing to become fairer, faster and more accessible.

(VARIENG) at the University of Helsinki:

Knowledge  Unlatched (KU):

Through Knowledge Unlatched Project you can access the following e-books:
 

Helda Open Books (HOB):

HOB Collection presents a high quality selection of open monographs and edited books by researchers at the University of Helsinki. Books in this collections receive a DOI identifier increasing their international visibility. In addition, they are published under a Creative Commons license.

Others:

Freely available e-Book Collections

Request material

Interlibrary Loans

If you need a book or an article not found at the University of Helsinki, you can ask Helsinki University Library to order it for you as an interlibrary loan.

Acquisition proposal

Alternatively, as a member of University of Helsinki community you can suggest new books  for the library's collections and make an acquisition  proposal.

  • Acquisition proposal make a purchase suggestion (works only with the University of  Helsinki  credentials).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

E-book help & terms of use

Book Citation Index

The Book Citation Index in Web of Science Core Collection is a bibliographic database that includes the published scholarly literature of  book chapters and books.

Digital Master's Theses of the University of Helsinki

Digital E-theses of English Philology submitted after 2015 (Englantilainen filologia - English Philology)

Master's theses of the University of Helsinki (Printed copies)

English Philology

  • English Language Studies theses (from the years 1934 until 2015) i.e. Do call number search "Hc K4 Suljettu kokoelma Opinnäytteet HUM B-Dla" in the Helka database.
     
  • English Literary Research theses (from the years 1935 until 2015) i.e. Do call number search "Hc K4 Suljettu kokoelma Opinnäytteet HUM B-Lla" in the Helka database.

Translation Studies

Online Theses and Dissertations

Ethos EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.

Google Books

Google Book Search

Collections in print

  • Kaisa House's Call Numbers/ Classification Scheme.
  • Printed books on the English Language and Linguistics; English Literary Research and History can be found at the Helsinki University Library's (Kaisa House's)   floor 5 and floor K3
  • English Fiction can be found on floor K3 under the ground level (access only by elevator). On the Helka database, the Call Numbers for these  are:

  •  Hc K3 Kaunokirjallisuus 12 D 1 (British and Irish fiction)

  • Hc K3 Kaunokirjallisuus 12 D 2 (North American Fiction)

  • Hc K3 Kaunokirjallisuus 12 D 3 (Fiction written in English in other countries i. e. in Australia, Africa, Asia)

 

Saavutettavuusseloste