Digital Resources: Digitized Newspapers & Archival Resources

Primary source documents

Ebook collections

EEBO - Early English Books online - logo

Welcome to Digital Resources Guide

17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection

This guide is designed to Helsinki University students and researchers to help you find databases and resources that support digital scholarship, especially in the fields of the humanities and social sciences. The resources presented in this guide are available in the network of University of Helsinki or via remote access. Remote access requires University user ID and password.

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions to improve the guide, please let us know : e-library@helsinki.fi

British Library Newspapers, part I-V, v. 1600-1950

The most comprehensive range of national, regional and local newspapers published in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries ever made available in a digital collection, British Library Newspapers I-V, offers over 100 publications from across the United Kingdom and Ireland to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the times.

British Library Newspapers, Part 1: 1800-1900

British Library Newspapers, Part 2: 1800-1900

British Library Newspapers, Part 3: 1741-1950

British Library Newspapers, Part 4: 1732-1950

British Library Newspapers, Part 5: 1746-1950

The Old Newspaper Reading Room in the British Museum. Sell's Dictionary of the World's Press 1893. Copyright © The British Library Board

17th and 18th Century Burney and Nichols Collection

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period. More on Burney Collection.

17th and 18th Century Nichols Collection - John Nichols’s (1745-1826) Collection will add to the Burney Collection. The collection includes London newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and monographs from the years 1672-1737. More on Nichols Collection.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

This full-text archive, combined database allows you to search across the five ProQuest historical newspapers  the Helsinki University Library subscribes to (note the years of coverage):

  • New York Times (1851-2013) Note: The newspaper was titled the New York Daily Times from 1851 to 1857. In 1857, its name was changed to the New York Times.
  • The Guardian (1821-2003)
  • The Observer (1791-2003)
  • Wall Street Journal - (1889-1999)
  • Washington Post - (1877-1999)

About Proquest Historical Newspapers

19th Century U.S. Newspapers

19th Century U.S. Newspapers – a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database – provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers.

Find a Database

Times Digital Archive and the Economist Historical Archive

Scientific journal archives

The following scientific journal collections -  both the back issues and current holdings - from the following publishers:

 

Indigenous peoples: North America

Indigenous Peoples: North America is a comprehensive collection on the experience of the indigenous peoples of North America. The database enables exploration of the political, social, and cultural history of native peoples from the sixteenth century well into the twentieth century.

Indigenous Peoples: North America is sourced from both American and Canadian institutions, as well as direct-from-source from newspapers from various tribes and Indian-related organizations. The collection also features indigenous-language materials, including dictionaries, bibles, and primers.

 

More resources? Do you have a suggestion for a database or primary source collection?

For more digitized and digital newspapers and archival resources, please see subject-specific Helsinki University Library ResearchGuides.

Request a database trial or submit your purchase suggestion via the acquisition proposal form.