ResearchGuides: Forestry: Databases

Find a Database (Helka)

Journal Databases for Forestry

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 12 500 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for over 8500 of these journals. --- In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a total of more than 13 200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1400 journals.
American Chemical Society Publications A comprehensive collection of information products and services in the chemical and related sciences. ACS Web Editions and ACS Journal Archives provide searchable access to 3 million pages of original chemistry dating back to 1879.
Annual Reviews: Biomedical/Life Sciences Critical reviews on the primary research literature. --- The mission of Annual Reviews is to provide the worldwide scientific community with a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature for a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews publications are among the most highly cited in scientific literature as indexed by the Thomson Reuters Journal Citation Reports® (JCR). --- Inludes Annual Review of Analytical Chemistry; Animal and Veterinary Biosciences (abstracts only); Biochemistry; Biomedical Engineering; Biophysics; Cell and Developmental Biology; Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Clinical Psychology; Ecology, Evolution, and Systematics; Entomology; Food Science and Technology; Genetics; Genomics and Human Genetics; Immunology; Marine Science; Medicine; Microbiology; Neuroscience; Nutrition; Pathology: Mechanisms of Disease; Pharmacology and Toxicology; Physiology; Phytopathology; Plant Biology; Psychology; Public Health
ASABE Technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers including journals, standards, meeting and conference papers, textbooks and monographs. The online collection includes all journal articles since 1966 and other publication categories from 2001 to date.
BioOne Provide access to critical, peer-reviewed research in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Elektronische Zeitschriftenbibliothek This is an extensive database of scholarly journals on the internet. It offers over 50 000 OA journals in many languages. --- You can perfom searches in English or in German.
OECDiLibrary Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It comprises Book collections by theme, periodicals and the OECD statistical databases.
Proquest Databases Provides tens of reference databases, some fulltext databases. It's possible to make searches in all of them or in each of them or in selected databases.
ScienceDirect (Elsevier) A rich electronic environment for research journals, bibliographic databases, reference works and eBooks. Only part of this literature has been subscribed.
Springer Link Online information service for scientific, technical, and medical journals and books. --- SpringerLink offers electronic and printed literature from Springer-Verlag publisher. It also offers the work of other publishers, including Urban and Vogel, Steinkopff, and Birkhäuser.
Wiley Online Library (Wiley) Extensive database of electronic journals and books of natural sciences and medicine, also economics and social science and humanities is included.

Databases for Forestry

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 12 500 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for over 8500 of these journals. --- In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a total of more than 13 200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1400 journals.
AGRIS International information system for the agricultural sciences and technology. --- AGRIS was created by the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) in 1974, to facilitate information exchange and to bring together world literature dealing with all aspects of agriculture. AGRIS is a cooperative system in which participating countries input references to the literature produced within their boundaries and, in return, draw on the information provided by the other participants. To date, 240 national, international and intergovernmental centres participate.
CAB Abstracts A database covering international issues in agriculture, forestry, and allied disciplines in the life sciences. --- The database contains over 3.5 million records from over 11,000 journals. books, conferences, reports, and other kinds of literature published internationally. Subjects covered include animal and crop husbandry, animal and plant breeding, plant protection, genetics, forestry engineering, economics, veterinary medicine, human nutrition, and rural development. Coverage is from 1973 to the present, with abstracts in English prepared from papers originally published in over 75 different languages. VetCD and BeastCD included.
ForestBioFacts ForestBioFacts was constructed as a continuation of the Papermaking Science and Technology bookseries. Over 150 top professionals from academia and industry have contributed to the ForestBioFacts digital learning environment. ForestBioFacts is suitable whether you are a student or new-comer in the forest-based industries or an experienced R&D professional in the field. The free introduction theme gives you an overview from the sustainable forestry to the versatile fibre-based products in the circular bioeconomy. You can also have a glimpse of all the other 15 themes. When you want to go deeper, you can easily select the themes and the subscription time that you want.
Global Plants Global Plants is the world's largest database of digitized plant specimens and a locus for international scientific research and collaboration.
GreenFILE (EBSCO) GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 1,000,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 15,000 records.
more...less...
Select GreenFILE from EBSCOhost database list. There is also open access search via https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/greenfile
JoVE Journal of Visualized Experiments University of Helsinki has access to the following videosections: Biology, Neuroscience, Medicine, JoVE Science Education: Clinical Skills I and II
Medic The Finnish medical bibliographic database. --- Medic provides references to articles from about 80 medical journals as well as monographs, reports of universities and research institutions, meeting proceedings and academic dissertations. Medic is produced by Meilahti Campus Library Terkko. --- Contains references to medical and health sciences litterature, published in Finland and not included in international databases. Some links to fulltext publications are also included.
MEDLINE (R) (Ovid) A premier international biomedical bibliographic database. --- Covering fields including biomedicine, clinical medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and in addition biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
Proquest Databases Provides tens of reference databases, some fulltext databases. It's possible to make searches in all of them or in each of them or in selected databases.
PubMed A premier international biomedical bibliographic database. Citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. --- Includes citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. A free resource. --- MEDLINE is a premier international biomedical bibliographic database. Covering fields including biomedicine, clinical medicine, dentistry, nursing, veterinary medicine, allied health, and in addition biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Coverage is worldwide, but most records are from English-language sources or have English abstracts.
SciFinder-n SciFinder-n is a research discovery application that provides integrated access to the world's most comprehensive and authoritative source of references, substances and reactions in chemistry and related sciences.
more...less...
How to register http://libraryguides.helsinki.fi/chemistry/databases
Scopus (Elsevier) Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature. --- Subject areas covered --- * Life Sciences -- Health Sciences (including 100% coverage of Medline titles) -- Physical Sciences -- Social Sciences --- Worldwide coverage; more than half of Scopus content originates from Europe, Latin America and the Asia Pacific region. --- References go back to 1996, abstracts go back further.
Web of Science - Core Collection (ISI) WoS provides access to the following reference databases: Science Citation Expanded (SCI) 1945-, Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) 1956-, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) 1975-, Book Citation Index 2005-; Conference Proceedings Citation Index 1990-. --- Web of Science also provides a unique search method, cited reference searching. With it, users can navigate forward, backward, and through the literature, searching all disciplines and time spans to uncover all the information relevant to their research.

...and more:

Comparison: Scopus vs. Web of Science vs. Google Scholar (Iowa State University Library Guide)
Databases for Biosciences and Biotechnology @ Helka
Databases for Environment @ Helka
Google Scholar

Forestry: Databases

Find a Database (Helka)

Journal Databases for Forestry

Databases for Forestry

Patents

Subject Gateways