Article/Book Processing Charge: Article Processing Charges and discounts

Information about OA publishing fees and discounts for researchers at the University of Helsinki

Table of publishers/publications

Publisher or Publication Journals Included Author receives % discount on APC Discount Based On Notes N.B.
American Chemical Society (ACS) ACS journals HULib agreement covers APC HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address

See below

New set of free credits will be available for articles with acceptance date in 2020.

BioMed Central & Springer Open BioMed Centralin and SpringerOpen journals 15%  

Submission must be made through UH network. Outside the university it is possible to use remote connection.

 
Bioscientifica Bioscientifica hybrid journals 50 % HULib agreement

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address

   
BMJ Certain BMJ journals -> see journal lista below this table 25% BMJ Open Access Membership Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address Agreement is valid until 31.12.2020
Cogitatio Press Cogitatio journals HULib agreement covers APC Institutional Membership Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
Agreement is valid until 31.12.2020

Copernicus Publications

Copernicus journals HULib agreement covers APC HULib agreement Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
 
De Gruyter De Gruyter journals 10 % HULib agreement Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
Discount is valid 9.12.2019-31.12.2021
Elsevier

Journal list

incl. iScience

UH funding covers APC HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address if possible
Article is accepted for publishing 1.1.2018-31.12.2020

See below

Regarding new journals added to the list: to be eligible for the discount it is required that the article was submitted after the journal was added to the list.
Emerald Emerald Premier Journals and International Journal of Climate Change Strategies and Management (HULib agreement covers APC) HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address if possible
Article is accepted for publishing 1.1.2018-31.12.2020

See below

 

Equinox Publishing Equinox journals 7,5% HULib agreement Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
 
Frontiers Frontiers journals HULib funding covers APC HULib agreement Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address

HULib will cover the discounted APC

IEEE IEEE open journals

(100%)

No more free Open Access vouchers for year 2020

HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address if possible
Article is accepted for publishing 20.1.2020-31.12.2020

No more free Open Access vouchers for year 2020

LWW - Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Wolters Kluwer hybrid and full OA journals in medicin HULib agreement covers APC HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium See below

Contract validity period: 1.1.2018-31.12.2022

MDPI - Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute MDPI journals HULib funding covers APC MDPI Membership Programme

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address

Articles submitted 1.10.2018- 31.10.2020

HULib will cover the discounted APC

Microbiology Society

Microbiology,
Journal of General Virology,
International Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Microbiology

15%  

The OpenMicrobiology option should be selected when you submit your article (both originally and for any revised versions) on Editorial Manager. More information at publishers webpage

 
PeerJ   HULib agreement covers APC HULib agreement Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address 1.7.2020 onwards the Library no longer supports PeerJ APC-payments
Pensoft Publishers Pensoft journals 15% HULib agreement Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address  
PNAS - Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America   23,33...% HULib agreement

Corresponding Author

Article is published under a CC BY-NC-ND license

 
Royal Society See below 25% HULib agreement Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
 
Discount is valid 1.12.2017-30.11.2020
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) RSC hybrid journals 100% HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
Article has been accepted during 1.1.–31.12.2020

See below

 
SAGE Premier Sage hybrid journals (Sage Choice Titles)

100%

NB. 20% discount of Sage Gold Open Access journals

HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium See below

HULib will cover the discounted APC for Sage hybrid journals.

See below

Science Advances (AAAS) AAAS Science Advances Journal 15% UH Science Collection -subscription Corresponding Author
Article has been accepted during 13.12.2019-04.12.2020

On Author Charge page on RightsLink click Apply Discounts button and choose your own institution

N.B. Ask for additional discount code (1 available) from the library

SCOAP3 SCOAP3 journals HULib agreement covers APC   See more detailed info:  https://scoap3.org/phase2-journals/  

Springer Nature

(see also BioMed Central above)

Springer hybrid titles in the Springer Compact collection

N.B. Nature Journals are not included

HULib agreement covers APC HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
Articel type: Original Paper, Review Paper, Brief Communication or Continuing Education

See below

The agreement is valid for articles published in the period of 1.10.2018-31.12.2020.

Taylor & Francis Open select standard rate journals and
Annals of Medicine
HULib agreement covers APC HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address
Article has been accepted during 3.6.2020-31.12.2022

See below

 
Wiley Wiley Full OA and Hybrid Journals See below HULib agreement as part of FinELib consortium

Corresponding Author
Article has been accepted 17.2.2020-31.12.2022
Article is primary research article or review article

See below

In 2020, approximately 53% of articles can be published open access without additional charge

Funds for OA publishing under the Wiley agreement are exhausted 14.7.2020. The funding resets at the beginning of 2021.

Updated 3.8.2020

Springer Nature - publishing Open Access Article

The researchers of the Helsinki University have the possibility to publish their articles open access in Springer Nature hybridjournals (excel) free of charge. N.B. Nature Journals are not included.

Criteria
  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article
  • Article is published in Springer Nature hybridjournals (excel)
  • Article is accepted for publishing between 1.10.2018-31.12.2020
  • The article types eligible are: Original Paper, Review Paper, Brief Communication tai Continuing Education
Publishing an article open access in Springer’s hybrid journals – instructions to the corresponding author

Article in Springer’s standard workflow (most journals belong in this category, see journals list)

  1. Once your article has been accepted, you will receive a link to the My Publication system
  2. Choose your affiliation: University of Helsinki.
  3. You will see the note describing the FinELib agreement
  4. Agree to the open access license used by the journal title (CC BY or CC BY-NC depending on journal). Read more about from our License Guide.
    1. CC BY 4.0 - Creative Commons describes the license like this: This license lets others distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation.
    2. CC BY-NC 4.0 - Creative Commons describes the license like this: This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, and although their new works must also acknowledge you and be non-commercial, they don’t have to license their derivative works on the same terms.
  5. Springer will alert library and we will verify your affiliation in the system. The affiliation is checked from TUHAT database.
  6. Springer will publish your article open access.

It is assumed that all corresponding authors will want to publish open access. If this is not the case with you, complete the My Publication process and then contact the library (hulib-apc@helsinki.fi). We will reject verifying your affiliation in the system. You will then receive a new link to My Publication and your article will be published behind a paywall.

Article in Springer’s non-standard workflow (a minority of journals belong in this category, see journals list)

  1. The process varies by journal title.
  2. Use the name of Helsinki University and your institutional email address in all communications with the journal.
  3. Agree to the open access license used by the journal title. Read more about from our License Guide.
    1. CC BY 4.0 -  Creative Commons describes the license like this: This license lets others distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation.
    2. CC BY-NC 4.0 -  Creative Commons describes the license like this: This license lets others remix, tweak, and build upon your work non-commercially, and although their new works must also acknowledge you and be non-commercial, they don’t have to license their derivative works on the same terms.
  4. Springer will alert the library and we will verify your affiliation in the system. The affiliation is checked from TUHAT database.
  5. Springer will publish your article open access.

It is assumed that all corresponding authors will want to publish open access. If this is not the case with you, complete process and then contact the library (hulib-apc@helsinki.fi). We will reject verifying your affiliation in the system. Your article will be published behind a paywall.

Wiley - discount for UH researchers

The researchers of the Helsinki University have the possibility to publish their articles open access in Wiley’s Full OA and hybrid journals during the agreement term 2020–2022.

In 2020, approximately 53% of articles can be published open access without additional charge (Article Processing Charge, APC) first come, first served principle. In years 2021–2022, approximately 100% of articles can be published open access without additional cost.

N.B. Funds for OA publishing under the Wiley agreement are exhausted 14.7.2020. Researchers wanting to publish Open Access in Wiley journals in 2020 will have to handle payment themselves. The funding resets at the beginning of 2021.

Criteria:

  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article
  • Article is published in Wiley’s Full OA or hybrid journals
  • Article has been accepted during 17.2.2020–31.12.2022

  • The type of article is primary research article or review article


Instructions for the corresponding author

Open Access Publishing in Wiley's Full OA Journals
  • During submission, follow the instructions to find and enter your institution’s account code.
  • In the Open Access stage of the process, check your eligibility from the dropdown menus to find your affiliated institution.
  • When selecting University of Helsinki you will see the correct Wiley Open Access Code. Click on the button to copy the code and enter it in the submission system when asked.
  • Helsinki University Library is notified of your request to publish your article open access and asked to approve.
  • If your request is approved (and your article will be accepted by the journal), you will receive a confirmation email. Your accepted article is then published open access under a Creative Commons license on Wiley Online Library.

Wiley’s instructions: Publishing your article in fully open access journals (pdf)

Open Access Publishing in Wiley's Hybrid Journals
  • Once your article is accepted, register or log-in to Wiley Author Services at www.wileyauthors.com. On your Author Dashboard in Author Services, click Select OnlineOpen.
  • You may be asked to enter your affiliation(s) from the drop down list or confirm the affiliation(s) you entered during submission. You may also tick I have no affiliations. If you have already done this step as part of signing your Creative Commons license, skip to Step Select OnlineOpen.
  • You may be asked to enter your funding information or confirm the funder(s) you entered during submission. Select your funder from the adjacent dropdown list or start typing to search. You may also tick I have not received any funding.
  • Select OnlineOpen. When prompted, click Yes, I would like to make my article OnlineOpen and then Confirm. Library will be notified of your request to publish your article open access and asked to approve.
  • If your request is approved, you will receive a confirmation email. Your accepted article is then published open access under a Creative Commons license on Wiley Online Library.

Wiley’s instructions: Make your article open access with OnlineOpen (pdf)

ACS - American Chemical Society discount for UH researchers

The researchers at the Univerisity of Helsinki have an opportunity to publish their articles under an Open Access CC BY license for free using granted credits. The credits can be used during the agreement term 1.1.2018 - 31.12.2020. The credits can be used for publishing in all of ACS Publications journals and ACS’s fully open access titles (ACS Central Science, ACS Omega). The credits can be used for the all article types excluding eBooks.

There is a limited amount of free credits annually. For each OA-article one credit will be considered used.
N.B. All free credits for year 2019 are used. New set of free credits will be available for articles with acceptance date in 2020.

Criteria

  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article
  • Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address. ACS will recognize the authors eligibility for the credit from the institutional email domain
  • Article is accepted for publishing between 1.1.2018-31.12.2020

Publishing an article open access in ACS journals – instructions to the corresponding author

Immediately update your Affiliation and Email Extension!

When you submit your manuscript in ACS’s Paragon Plus system, you must review and edit your profile to select the correct institution naming convention from the drop down box as well as begin to use your official institutional email address if not currently the email address of communication. ACS will recognize your eligibility for free credits from both your institutional affiliation and your email domain. To reiterate, if you have previously used another email address in the system, please edit it accordingly.

When the article for which you are the corresponding author has been accepted for publication

  • Once your article has been accepted, you will receive an acceptance letter via email from ACS Publications including a link to Copyright Clearance Center's RightsLink platform
  • Sign in RightsLink and choose your affiliation to be University of Helsinki. Please note that you must indicate affiliation to an institution as identified in the table above in order to get open acces credit.
  • Choose Seek Funding From FinELib
  • Order color figures or other services if you like. Note that you will personally be charged for them, FinELib funding only covers the article processing charge (APC).
  • Send the order
  • Your will receive an email confirming that your funding request to FinElib has been submitted
  • You will receive an email confirming that your request has been accepted or denied
  • If your funding request has been accepted, ACS will publish your article under the CC BY-license. Read more about CC BY-license from our License Guide.

ACS will email corresponding authors with a link to the final published article that can be access in a variety of formats (HTML or PDF).  ACS will also deposit the final version of record under a CC-BY license into the US Pub Med Central repository, which will automatically be reflected in the Europe Pub Med Central repository.

If your funding request has not been accepted or all free credits have been used by the time your article is accepted, you will have the right to publish your article Open Access yourself through the Open Access option on your original acceptance email (see http://pubs.acs.org/page/policy/authorchoice/index.html). You also have the option to direct the ACS to publish the article via ACS's subscription model.

Need to know more? We will help you at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi or ACS support journalhelp@acs.org

Emerald - discount for UH researchers

The researchers at the University of Helsinki have an opportunity to publish their articles voucher under the CC BY-license with a free open access. The vouchers can be used for publishing in all titles in the Emerald Premier-collection (excel) as well as in Emerald’s only fully open access titles ”International Journal of Climate Change Strategies and Management”.

Criteria:
  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article.
  • Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address. Emerald will recognize the authors eligibility for the voucher from the institutional email domain.
  • The article is accepted to one of the journals on journal list
  • The article types eligible are research paper, viewpoint, technical paper, conceptual paper, case study, literature review and general review
Instructions to the Corresponding Author:

When you submit your manuscript in Emerald’s ScholarOne system

  1. Use your institutional email address. Emerald will recognize your eligibility for a free voucher from your email domain. If you have previously used another email address in the system, please edit it accordingly. See screen shot.
  2. Declare you interest to use a free voucher to publish open access. Do this in Step 4: Details and Comments. Tic the box  ”Yes, I want to publish my article as Open Access and my institution is eligible for a prepaid APC-voucher”.  See screen shot.

When the article for which you are the corresponding author has been accepted for publication

  1. You will receive an acceptance letter via ScholarOne. See screen shot.
  2. In addition you will receive within 30 days from the acceptance letter a link to a CC BY-license. Complete the document, sign it and return it to the editor via email.  Creative Commons describes the license like this: This license lets others distribute, remix, tweak, and build upon your work, even commercially, as long as they credit you for the original creation. See attachment.
  3. Emerald will publish your article under the CC BY-license.

Need to know more? We will help you at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi

Sage - discount for UH researchers

 

 



The researchers at the University of Helsinki can publish their articles open access with CC BY license

The most common acceptable article types are: Original Research Papers, Review Papers, Brief Communications, Short Reports, Case Reports.

Am I entitled to publish my article open access free of charge or with the discounted APC?

Yes, you are, if:

  • Your article has been accepted to be published after Jan 1, 2020 in one of the SAGE journals listed above
  • You are affiliated with University of Helsinki
  • You are the corresponding author of the article

How can I publish my article open access free of charge in a hybrid journal?

Open access publishing in SAGE's hybrid journals

SAGE contacts directly the researchers of the subscribing organizations whose articles have been accepted to be published in SAGE hybrid journals between Jan 1 and May 10, 2020. The articles published behind paywall during this period can be published open access retrospectively.

Instructions for articles published after May 10, 2020
  • SAGE identifies your right to publish Open Access free of charge based on the institutional affiliation and the e-mail address you give when you submit your manuscript.

  • When your article is accepted for publication, please complete the steps to sign SAGE’s Journal Contributor’s Publishing Agreement as normal. SAGE still requires this agreement for your article to proceed to production at SAGE.

  • When your article is received at SAGE, SAGE will send you and any other authors of the article an e-mail where SAGE informs you of your right to publish Open Access at no cost to you. The e-mail contains a link to the SAGE's Open Access Portal. Anyone of the authors of the article can follow the link to proceed to the next step.

  • You will have 14 days to enter the portal to accept Open Access publication of your article. If Open Access is not accepted during this period, SAGE will publish the article behind paywall and you will lose the benefit of the free Open Access publishing. You will get a reminder email from SAGE after 7 days from the first email.

Sage's Open Access Portal
  • In the SAGE Open Access Portal, you can see the information on your article.

  • To publish your article Open Access select Yes, make my article open access.

  • Log in to the portal with your user ID and password or register if needed.

  • Accept the license for Open Access publishing (CC BY) and fill in the additional information on the copyright.

  • You will then receive the information that your article will be published Open Access and you can log out.

How do I get the 20% discount of the Open Access -journals’ APC?

  1. Once your article has been accepted for publishing, SAGE directs you to sign the licensing agreement and sends you a link by email to the APC payment system. By clicking the link, you will get to your author charges estimate page, containing information on your article’s APC.

  2. In order to get the discount, click APPLY DISCOUNTS and a new window opens.

    Kuvankaappaus lomakkeelta: Sage Apply Discounts

  3. On this page you should write the code FINELIB2020 in the box Promotion campaign discount / Promo code and click APPLY DISCOUNTS, then close the window.

    Kuvankaappaus lomakkeelta: Sage Promo Code

  4. After this you will see the discounted APC. When you click the button Payment Options, you are prompted to sign in or to create an account to Copyright Clearance Center (CCC). After this you can choose your preferred payment method: credit card or invoice. The invoice will be sent to you by e-mail within 24 hours. When the order is complete, you will receive an email with your transaction summary.

    Kuvankaappaus lomakkeelta: Sage Payment Options

If for some reason you are entitled to a larger discount, it will supersede the discount of this agreement.

NB. If you forget to give the discount code, you can ask for a corrected invoice, provided that you haven’t yet paid the invoice. Once the payment has been made, it isn’t possible to get a refund anymore.

Need to know more? We will help you at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi

Elsevier - publishing Open Access article / Researchers at the UH

The researchers of the Helsinki University have the possibility to publish their articles open access in over 1600 Elsevier journals, iScience included, free of charge.

Criteria:

  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article.
  • Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address if possible
  • The article is accepted to one of the journals listed here
  • Article is accepted for publishing between 1.1.2018-31.12.2020
    • Regarding new journals added to the list: to be eligible for the discount it is required that the article was submitted after the journal was added to the list. The start date is marked on the journal list.
  • The article types eligible are journal articles with scientific (peer reviewed) content: full length journal articles (including review articles), short communications, case reports, short surveys, software articles, data articles.

Instructions to the Corresponding Author:

1) When the article, in which you are the corresponding author, is accepted, Elsevier sends you an e-mail and asks you to fill in the Rights and access form.

2) When filling in the  Elsevier Rights and access form, please choose:

  • Corresponding Author's organization: Start typing Helsinki university and select the correct one from the list offered by the system
  • Open Access - Publishing options: choose Gold open access (this is not relevant if the journal in question is a full OA journal)
  • Licenses: You have the choice between two different CC-licenses. In both options your own reuse rights regarding the article are defined by the CC-license terms. The options are:
    • CC BY 4.0 (Attribution)
    • CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 (Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs)
      Please note that if you choose this, more restrictive CC BY-NC-ND license, the rights to commercial use and modifications (derivatives) stay with Elsevier.

3) Complete the form. Please note that for technical reasons this form shows you the list price of the APC payment.

4) Helsinki University Library will be  informed  that you have chosen open access publishing for your article and will confirm your affiliation to Elsevier. The affiliation is checked from TUHAT database.

5) Library pays the APC and Elsevier publishes the article open access

Need to know more? We will help at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi

Royal Society - discount for UH researchers

The Royal Society

The researchers at the University of Helsinki get a discount from the APC payment when publishing their article open in the following Royal Society journals:

  • Biology Letters
  • Interface Focus
  • Journal of the Royal Society Interface
  • Notes and Records of the Royal Society
  • Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society A: Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences
  • Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences
  • Proceedings of the Royal Society A: Mathematical, Physical and Engineering Sciences
  • Proceedings of the Royal Society B: Biological Sciences
  • Open Biology
  • Royal Society Open Science

Criteria:

  • The researchers / article authors = corresponding author
  • Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address. The library will check the affiliation of the author.

Please, choose Open Access box on the form when submitting. The library sends a confirmation to Royal Society about the discounted APC. CC-BY license will automatically appear as default

Need to know more? We will help you at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi

Taylor & Francis - publishing Open Access -arcticle / Researchers at the UH

Kuvahaun tulos haulle taylor & francis logo

 

The researchers of the Helsinki University have the possibility to publish their articles open access free of charge in Taylor & Francis Open select standard rate journals and in Annals of Medicine.

Criteria

  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article
  • Article is published in Taylor & Francis Open select standard rate journals or in Annals of Medicine.
  • Article is accepted for publishing between 3.6.2020-31.12.2022


Instructions to the Corresponding Author

  • Send your manuscript in Taylor & Francis Online according to the standard practice
  • At the acceptance stage you are identified belonging to a University of Helsinki on the basis of the name of the organization. When sending the article you should carefully select University of Helsinki from the drop down menu and use your helsinki.fi email address to make your organization known to T&F. In case your affiliation changes after leaving your manuscript don’t forget to tell your production editor about your new affiliation.
  • If your article is accepted, T&F will send you and Helsinki University Library an email about the acceptance and at the same time they will inform you about your organization’s Open Access agreement with T&F. After this (usually within 24-48 hours) you will get another email which contains a link to the publishing agreement.

Option 1. Library accepts the open access publishing of your article free of charge in the T&F system before you have signed the publication agreement

  1. T&F sends you e-mail which contains a link to the system where you can select the Creative Commons license. The recommended license is CC BY. Read more about licences from our License Guide.
  2. Sign the agreement either electronically or print the agreement, and sign and upload it into the system.
  3. Your article is published open access by using the CC-license you selected.

Option 2. You sign the publishing agreement before library has approved the publishing of your article open access free of charge

  1. T&F sends you email containing a link to the system, where you can choose to publish your article open access.
  2. Select the open access publishing option in the T&F system.
  3. Complete the details and select the University of Helsinki from the drop down menu at the foot of the page.
  4. The system will recognize that the institution is part of the agreement and will direct you to this page, informing that you may be eligible for APC funding.
  5. You need to accept the quote. If approved for funding, the cost to you will be 0 €.
  6. Select the Creative Commons license. The recommended license is CC BY. Read more about licences from our License Guide.
  7. Sign the agreement either electronically or print the agreement, and sign and upload it into the system.
  8. T&F sends you e-mail to let you know that your request to publish open access has been sent to the library.
  9. After this library confirms in the T&F system that you are entitled to publish open access free of charge.
  10. Your article is published open access with the CC license you selected.

Need to know more? We will help you at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi

LWW - Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott discount for UH researchers

The researchers at the University of Helsinki have an opportunity to publish their articles under the CC BY or CC BY-NC-ND license with a free open access. This means that there is no article processing charge for the author. The free vouchers can be used during the agreement term 1.1.2018-31.12.2022.. The vouchers (20 vouchers in total) can be used for publishing in Wolters Kluwer hybrid and full OA titles in Medicin  (all article types). The waiver code is FinHelsinki20.

Criteria

  • The researcher/article author of the Helsinki University is the Corresponding author of the article
  • The article is accepted to one of the journals on journal list
  • Article is accepted for publishing between 1.1.2018-31.12.2022

Publishing an article open access in Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott journals – instructions to the corresponding author

  1. Go to the payment site: http://wolterskluwer.qconnect.com and sign in.
  2. Select the journal from the drop-down list.
  3. Provide manuscript details (manuscript number, article title, acceptance date, corresponding authors name)

    • Please also indicate funding sources (select FinELib)

  4. Click ‘Discounts’, select ‘Number of Discounts 1’ and enter the OA waiver code FinHelsinki20 in the ‘Discount 1’ field. Then click “Update Price” and the code will be applied (it becomes a green tick when the code is valid).  Click “Add to Cart” and then “Checkout”. 

    • FinHelsinki19 code can be used for articles that are accepted for publication in 2019. If an invalid code is entered there is a red cross next to the code and the order summary will show a price and no discount. If this happens you should check you have entered the code correctly and contact library to check the status of the code. If all free vouchers have been used by the time your article is accepted, you have the right to publish your article as a paywalled article (or alternatively pay the article processing charge).

  5. Ensure the required fields in the billing section are completed and click “Continue” and “Complete Order”

  6. You will then receive the e-mail confirmation of the order.

  7.  Ovid will publish your article under the CC BY or CC BY-NC-ND-license based on the corresponding authors’ choice of the license.

If you need further information or help, please contact hulib-apc@helsinki.fi or Ovid Customer Support, support@ovid.com.

Royal Society of Chemistry open access for UH researchers

The researchers of the Helsinki University have the possibility to publish their articles open access in Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) hybrid journals without additional payment. Open access publishing is free for the researcher, since the costs have been covered as a part of FinELib consortium’s agreement. The agreement includes RSC hybrid journals.

Criteria:

  • The UH researchers / article authors = corresponding author
  • Correspondence with the publisher from helsinki.fi -email address. RSC identifies eligible authors based on their email address
  • Article has been accepted during 1.1.–31.12.2020

Instructions for the corresponding author

  • On acceptance of manuscript, you will receive an email from RSC with a link to their licensing system
  • The link takes you to a page with the details of your manuscript provided at submission
  • Click Start now
  • Choose Gold Open Access Publication. Make sure that the system has identified you correctly, ie. that this option reads FREE - No payment required. You are identified based on your email address.
  • Choose license CC BY (preferred by UH) or CC BY-NC
  • Agree to the license terms

Need to know more? We will help you at hulib-apc@helsinki.fi