E-books - guide: Compare

Comparing the providers

Provider Readers/Book

Downloading of software required

Saving Printing limits Mobile use(iPad,Windows, Android) Registration Other issues Video guide
ACLS Humanities E-Book Unlimited No / Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Few pages / Book Yes - With Adobe Reader No Whole service is open to Helsinki University  
Brepols Periodica & Miscellanea Online Unlimited Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Unlimited Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required Service also includes material that aren't licenced to Helsinki University Brepols Video Guide - Helsinki University Library
Brill Books and Journal Online Unlimited Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Unlimited Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required - With registration you can save your searches Service also includes material that aren't licenced to Helsinki University  
Cabi Unlimited No / Adobe Digital Editions Yes Few percents/book Yes - With Aldiko Not required - With registration you can make annotations Online-version includes "Read Aloud"-Option Cabi Video Guide - Helsinki University Library
Cambridge Books Online Unlimited / Some coursebooks 6 users  /Book Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Single copies of chapters Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required - With registration for example: Alerts      
Cambridge Histories Online Unlimited Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Single copies of chapters or 5 % / Book Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required - With registration you can save your searches   Cambridge Histories Online Video Guide - Helsinki University Library  
CEFAEL: Collections de l'Ecole francaise d'Athenes en ligne Unlimited No Yes - Picture files/2 pages at the time You can print picture files after saving them onto your computer Yes - Picture files/2 pages at the time No    
CRCnetBASE Unlimited Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Unlimited Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required - With registration: for example, virtual bookshelf      
Dawsonera Unlimited Adobe Reader Yes 5-20 % / Book Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required - registration enables printing Loan period 1-3 days Dawsonera Video Guide - Helsinki University Library  
De Gruyter Unlimited Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Single copies of chapters Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required -  With registration: for example, virtual bookshelf      
Directory of Open Access Books - DOAB Unlimited No / Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Unlimited Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required  

DOAB Video Guide - Helsinki University Library

 

Duodecim Oppiportti Unlimited No Partly - Only copy/paste Single copies of chapters Online only No Whole service is open to Helsinki University - service has its own how to-video    
Ebrary Unlimited - Few items has 1 user limit Adobe Digital Editions Yes 60 pages / User / Day Yes - With Aldiko Not required - When downloading a book - required Loan period 14 days Ebrary Video Guide - Helsinki University Library  
Ebsco 1-3 Simultaneous users Adobe Digital Editions Yes Max. 60 pages Yes - With Aldiko Not required - When downloading a book - required Loan period 1 day - possibility to make a reservation    
Ecco - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Gale) Unlimited No/Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Unlimited Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required   ECCO GALE Video Guide - Helsinki University Library  
Ecco - Eighteenth Century Collection Online (TCP) Unlimited No Yes - copy/paste only Unlimited Online only Not required   ECCO TCP Video Guide - Helsinki University Library
Edilex Unlimited No / Adobe Reader Yes - Adobe Reader - copy/paste Unlimited Yes - With Adobe Reader No Service also includes material that aren't licenced to Helsinki University  
Ellibs Varies by items Adobe Digital Editions Yes Not allowed Yes - With Aldiko Required - With library card number Loan period 1 or 7 days    
Elsevier Unlimited Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Unlimited Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required - With registration for example: Alerts   Elsevier Video Guide - Helsinki University Library  
Elsevier Textbooks Unlimited Adobe Reader, iPublishCentral Reader for PC / Desktop Yes Few pages / Book Yes - With iPublishCentral Reader Not required      
HeinOnline Unlimited Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Unlimited Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required Service has its own how to-video HeinOnline Video Guide - Helsinki University Library
Knovel Unlimited No / Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Unlimited Yes - With Adobe reader Not required - With registration for example: Alerts and virtual bookshelf   Knovel Video Guide - Helsinki University Library  
MitCogNet Unlimited Adobe Reader Online only Not allowed Online only - With Adobe Reader Not required   MitCogNet Video Guide - Helsinki University Library  
Open Books Publishers Unlimited No Free online - Small fee for PDF Unlimited Online only Not required    
OvidSP Unlimited No Yes - text and html Unlimited Online only Not required - With registration: Virtual bookshelf, alerts and saving searches Includes multimedia section.  
Oxford Unlimited Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Few Pages / Book Yes Not required - With registration for example: Virtual bookshelf Includes various services Oxford Handbooks Online Video Guide - Helsinki University Library  
Sage Unlimited No / Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Single copies of chapters Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required - With registration for example: Method list and saving searhes   Sage Video Guide - Helsinki University Library  
Springer Unlimited Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Unlimited Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required Includes various services, for example Humanities and Medicine    
Suomen Laki Unlimited No / Adobe Reader Yes Unlimited Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required    
Talentum Fokus Unlimited No Partly - Only copy/paste Unlimited Online only No    
Taylor & Francis Unlimited No / Adobe Reader Yes Unlimited Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required - With registration for example: oikopolkujen Alerts and bookmarks      
Wiley Online Library Unlimited Adobe Reader Yes - PDF Single copies of chapters Yes - With Adobe Reader Not required -  With registration: Virtual bookshelf