European Law: Databases and other resources

Find European Law articles, journals, books, databases and library's services. / Löydä eurooppaoikeuden artikkelit, lehdet, kirjat, tietokannat ja kirjaston palvelut

Find a Database (Helka)

Database showcase

European Law research guides from other Universities

Free databases

EurLex EUR-Lex provides free access, in the 24 official EU languages, to: the Official Journal of the European Union EU law (EU treaties, directives, regulations, decisions, consolidated legislation, etc.) preparatory acts (legislative proposals, reports, green and white papers, etc.) EU case-law (judgements, orders, etc.) international agreements EFTA documents other public documents.It also allows you to follow legislative procedures.
Europa Portal Europa is the portal site of the European Union. It provides up-to-date coverage of European Union affairs and essential information on European integration. Users can also consult all legislation currently in force or under discussion, access the websites of each of the EU institutions and find out about the policies administered by the European Union under the powers devolved to it by the Treaties.
European Sources Online (ESO) European Sources Online (ESO) is an online database and information service which provides access to information on the institutions and activities of the European Union, the countries, regions and other international organisations of Europe, and on issues of importance to European researchers, citizens and stakeholders.
ECLAS Commission's central Library catalogue. Inter Library Loan possible free of charge though the European Documentation Centre.
European e-justice The European e-Justice Portal is conceived as a future electronic one-stop-shop in the area of justice.
EUROSTAT Statistical office of the European Union. Provides the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions.
HUDOC The HUDOC database contains case-law of the Court. (Grand Chamber, Chamber and Committee judgments, decisions, communicated cases, advisory opinions and legal summaries from the Case-Law Information Note), the European Commission of Human Rights (decisions and reports) and the Committee of Ministers (resolutions). The database also includes press releases from Registry (English, French) since January 1999, which contain summaries of judgments and decisions and information about cases pending and about the Court’s activities in general.
Council of Europe Continent's leading human rights organisation comprised of 47 member states, 28 of which are members of the European Union. All Council of Europe member states have signed up to the European Convention on Human Rights, a treaty designed to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law.
Archive of European Integration An electronic repository and archive for research materials on the topic of European integration and unification. The AEI collects two types of materials: certain types of independently-produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents.
OEIL - The Legislative Observatory Database is an administrative, forecasting, information and research tool for EU legislative and non-legislative procedures involving the European Parliament. The database contains all procedures still ongoing, irrespective of when they began, and all procedures concluded since the beginning of the fourth legislative term in July 1994 including the European Parliament's resolutions. It covers legislative, budgetary, non-legislative and internal parliamentary procedures. It contains all documents (full text) forwarded for information from the Commission to the European Parliament during the last nine months, starting from the date they were received.
Legislative procedures (PreLex) Follow the life cycle of a legislative proposal from the moment it is launched until the final law is adopted. A timeline gives a visual representation of the procedure. All interventions by the institutions & bodies involved in the decision‑making process are represented. From the timeline, you can access detailed information about each institution's decisions & how they were taken; the services & departments involved; the legal basis of the act, etc.
N-Lex - a common gateway to national law An interface between you and databases on national legislation. Enables you to search other EU countries legislation in your own language. Search results coming directly from national databases.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Offers a large selection of mainly American working papers and abstracts from different fields of social sciences. The abstract database contains abstracts of nearly 400 000 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and the Electronic paper collection has over 300 000 downloadable full text documents. Some of the papers are available in fulltext in the NELLI portal (Find e-Journal) or in some other database.
TED - tenders electronic daily Updated five times a week with approximately 1500 public procurement notices from the European Union, the European Economic Area and beyond. Information about every procurement document is published in the 24 official EU languages. All notices from the European Union's institutions are published in full in these languages.
EU databases by subject - Europa portal Allows you to browse subject list and choose the relevant database.
IPEX - the platform for EU interparliamentary exchange A platform for the mutual exchange of information between the national Parliaments and the European Parliament concerning issues related to the European Union, especially in light of the provisions of the Treaty of Lisbon. The establishment of IPEX derives from a recommendation given by the Conference of Speakers of the Parliaments of the European Union in the year 2000.
EU institutions and other bodies
Library of Finnish Parliament: EU Library of Parliament's pages on EU.
Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Finland: EU Foreign ministry's pages on EU affairs.
Euroopan komission Suomen edustusto
Euroopan parlamentin Suomen tiedotustoimisto
Europe Direct Network A network of information centres, documentation centres and speakers
Finland's permanent representation to the European Union
EURES - European Job Mobility Portal

Subscribed databases

Westlaw UK Database gives an access to different databases of case law, legislation, news, journals, commentary and Current Awareness alerts. The material is mainly from United Kingdom. Westlaw UK has also a collection of EU legal materials.
Westlaw International Extensive database which contains selected case law, legislation, law reviews, treaties and news material from several different countries. There is legal material mainly from USA, Canada, Australia, Hong Kong and countries in the European Union.
Heinonline Database offers mainly American archive material: publications are stored from the first issue/volume. It contains for example legal, mainly American and international law journals, case law, legislation, constitutions and legal classics. HeinOnline is image-based database, which also offers full text searching. Documents can be printed in pdf-format.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) Multi-disciplinary database. Provides indexing and abstracts for over 12 500 scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for over 8500 of these journals. In addition, this database offers indexing and abstracts for a total of more than 11,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1400 journals.
Edilex Edilex includes the current Finnish legislation, government bills, treaties, judicial practice, Finnish law journals and juridical news service in Finnish and partially in Swedish. Journals: Defensor Legis: 2000- JFT(Tidskrift utgiven av Juridiska Föreningen i Finland): 2000- Lakimies: 1996- Oikeus: 3/2000- Oikeustieto: 1/1995- Ympäristöjuridiikka 1/2004-
Proquest Databases Provides tens of reference databases, some fulltext databases. Its possible to make searches in all of them or in each of them or in selected databases.
Talentum Bookshelf E-bookshelf service contains professional books: at the moment, there are four professional fields: financial management, team leading and supervising, public law and private law. E-textbooks are also included. E-bookshelf's titles are accessible to Helsinki University staff and students.
Fokus (Almatalent) Database contains updated books about Finnish legislation and other legal information in Finnish. Branches of law covered include basic rights, insolvency law, procedural law, criminal law, property law, labour law, environmental law and company law. Database contains also document guide and book about legal information retrieval.

More databases can be found from the Library's homepage.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Finding Research Data

Multimedia

Latest modification: Sep 5, 2023 2:15 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.helsinki.fi/europeanlaw
Print Page

Subjects: Law

Saavutettavuusseloste