ResearchGuides: Literary Studies: Databases

Find a Database (Helka)

RefWorks - Reference management software

The RefWorks subscription of the University of Helsinki will end by 31 December 2021. See further information about reference management tools.

RefWorks -- an online research management, writing and collaboration tool -- is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.

Transfer your references from RefWorks to another reference management tool or to a file. See instructions in the new Reference management guide.

Core Databases

Kansainvälisiä tietokantoja

Gale Primary Sources

The Gale Primary Sources available via the Helsinki University Library:

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection (Gale)
17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.
17th and 18th Century Nichols Collection (Gale)
This database has been released in the spring of 2017. John Nichols’s (1745-1826) Collection will add to the Burney Collection. The collection includes London newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and monographs from the years 1672-1737.
British Library newspapers, Part I-V (Gale)
The most comprehensive range of national, regional and local newspapers published in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries ever made available in a digital collection, British Library Newspapers I-V, offers over 100 publications from across the United Kingdom and Ireland to reflect the social, political, and cultural events of the times.
The Times Digital Archive 1785-2013 (Gale)
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785.The Database is updated yearly.
The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2014 (Gale)
For over 170 years, the Economist has reported on the world’s political, business, scientific, technological, and cultural developments and the connections between them, appealing to the world’s elite for its economic and political analysis. The Economist Historical Archive offers an invaluable perspective on the great events of the nineteenth and twentieth centuries and is an essential accompaniment to The Times Digital Archive. Database is updated yearly.
19th century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)
Nineteenth century U.S. Newspapers is a full-text searchable, facsimile-image database – which provides an as-it-happened window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online
provides facts and insights into the political, economic, and social conditions of the United States and other countries. The resource offers unique insights into the inner workings of the US government and world events in the 20th and 21st centuries.The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.
(Gale Primary Sources)
more...less...
NEW Resource Acquired Nov. 2019->

Indigenous Peoples: North America
Indigenous Peoples: North America provides users with a robust, diverse, informative source that will enhance research and increase understanding of the historical experiences, cultural traditions and innovations, and political status of Indigenous Peoples in the United States and Canada. Researchers will explore the impact of invasion and colonization on Indigenous Peoples in North America, and the intersection of Indigenous and European histories and systems of knowledge through the use of manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more.

The University of Helsinki has access to these two NCCO modules by Gale:

1. Religion, Spirituality, Reform, and Society

Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform examines the influence of both faith and skepticism on the shaping of many aspects of society—-politics, law, economics, and social and radical reform movements. In the 19th century, the intellectual work of Comte, Marx, Weber, Darwin, Freud, and others unleashed secularizing impulses that gave rise to both new humanist religious projects and new faith-based social reform movements. The heightened interest in the perfection of man, the power of science, and the confidence in social progress also had an impact. The archive provides essential documentary materials that explore religious and philosophical movements in reaction to dramatic changes in culture and society wrought by the industrial revolution and modernity. Topics covered include positivism and anti-positivism, freethinking, the cooperative movement, alternative Christianities, and the application of the social principles of Christianity to everyday life by a variety of denominations.

2. Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925

Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780-1925 features more than 3.5 million pages of journals, books, reports, and personal documents that explore the rapid acceleration of scientific, technical, and medical knowledge during the nineteenth century. Source libraries include the Huntington Library, the Burndy Library, the Library of Congress, and the Academy of Natural Sciences of Drexel University.

Find a Database

Finnish databases

Finna

voit hakea kotimaisia tieteellisten lehtien, ammattilehtien, aikakauslehtien sekä kokoomateosten artikkeleita
kun olet kirjoittanut hakusanat perushakuun/tarkennettuun hakuun rajaa hakutuloksesta (vasemmalta) aineistotyypiksi artikkelit

Kotimaiset artikkeliviitteet (ent. Arto-tietokanta):

Kotimaiset artikkeliviitteet löytyvät Kansalliskirjaston hakupalvelusta (erillinen välilehti)
Arto-aineisto Finna.fi:ssä

MELINDA-kirjastojen yhteistietokanta

Additional Resources

WorldCat WorldCat connects you to the collections and services of more than 10,000 libraries worldwide
Library of Congress Online Catalog Contains 18 million catalog records for books, serials, manuscripts, maps, music, recordings, images, and electronic resources in the Library of Congress collections
Internet Archive A non-profit digital library offering free universal access to books, multimedia and archived web pages.
Project Gutenberg Project Gutenberg offers over 45,000 free ebooks: choose among free epub books, free kindle books, download them or read them online.
OpenDOAR OpenDOAR is the quality-assured global directory of academic open access repositories and their policies.
European Library- Europeana European Library offers access to the combined resources of the 48 national libraries of Europe.
ZVDD Zvdd is the central access point to printed works from the 15th century up to today, digitized in Germany.
itranslate4 A common translation portal for online translators in Europe.
DART-Europe E-thesis Portal A discovery service for full text, open access research theses awarded by European Universities.
Linguistics Portal (Wikipedia)
Finnish General Upper Ontology - YSO/ALLSO General Finnish Upper Ontology YSO is a trilingual ontology consisting mainly of general concepts. YSO has been founded on the basis of concepts in Finnish cultural sphere.
Kielitieteen asiasanasto Linguistics thesaurus (Finnish, English, Estonian, German).
Helda Digital repository of the university of Helsinki.
E-thesis Doctoral dissertations and theses from the University of Helsinki.
MOT dictionaries
MOT features high-quality tools for everyday communication: dictionaries, proofreading software and translation software for Windows, Internet and mobile platforms.
Varastokirjasto - Vaari-Finna
Finnish National Repository Library.