Area and Cultural Studies: Area and Cultural Studies Subject Guide

Area and Cultural Studies: Latin American and North American Studies.Resources available via the Helsinki University Library: articles, journals, e-books, books, databases and other digital collections.

SELF-ARCHIVING SERVICE FOR RESEARCHERS

Search Library Resources (Helka)

Search books, journals or databases from HELKA

It takes only HUPS and library material is on a researcher's desk!

Click the logo to make an order

Find out more about the service.

Remote Access

Electronic resources are available in the network of University of Helsinki or through remote access. Remote access requires University user ID and password.

Information Literacy Training offered by the Helsinki Univ. Library

-  Information seeking and management workshop every Monday 3pm – 5pm during the spring term 2019,  Kaisa Library, 5th floor, computer lab 5057

- Information seeking and management for thesis writers (MOOC)

Area and Cultural Studies Subject Guide

http://collections.rmg.co.uk/collections/objects/263071

Europeana.Terrestrial pocket globe - National Maritime Museum, London.  (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0)

Welcome to the Area and Cultural Studies Subject Guide

This guide helps you to find the most relevant resources for Area and Cultural Studies at the University of Helsinki, including Latin American and North American Studies. European Studies sub-page will be published later on.

Sub-pages on area tabs include for instance:

Articles and journals: Article search, new articles from top journals, lists of quality journals

Books: Book search highlighting new printed and e-books in the library

Databases: Links to various databases and other resources

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions to improve the guide, please let us know (contact information on this page).

Library News from the Helsinki University Library

Loading ...

Browse Helsinki University Library’s E-Journal Collections

Browse Helsinki University Library’s E-Journal Collections

 

Browzine - Browse and read scholarly e-journals available at HULIB

You can now browse through and read the scholarly  e-journals acquired by Helsinki University Library on  the BrowZine platform. With Browzine you can also create your own personal bookshelf with your favourite journals and articles.

 

 

Large E-book Collections in the Library

ORCID Author Identifier

ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher. Include your ORCID identifier in any research workflow to ensure you get credit for your work. In the future, using ORCID will reduce the need to enter data into a variety of different systems.

The University hopes that every researcher registers for an ORCID ID for publications, datasets, and other research outputs.

Create an ORCID id or add an existing ORCID id in your TUHAT profile, see instructions here.

ORCID and other IDs

Subject Librarian (European Studies)

Juha Laulainen's picture
Juha Laulainen
Contact:
Main Library (Kaisa House), 5th floor, room 5062
Fabianinkatu 30, FIN-00014 UNIVERSITY OF HELSINKI
+358-50-3185385

Subject Librarian (Latin American Studies)

Pirja Kara's picture
Pirja Kara
Contact:
Main Library (Kaisa House)
Fabianinkatu 30 (P.O. Box 53)
FIN-00014 University of Helsinki
tel. +358-294123909, 050-3185594

Subject Librarian (North American Studies)

Heli Heinämäki's picture
Heli Heinämäki
Contact:
Helsinki University Main Library (Kaisa House)
5th floor, room 5074
P.O.Box 53 (Fabianinkatu 30)
FIN-00014 UNIVERSITY OF HELSINKI

Main Library (Kaisa House)

Fabianinkatu 30 (P.O. Box 53)
FIN-00014 University of Helsinki

Opening hours

tel. +358-2941 23920
library@helsinki.fi